We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the location and everything about the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hallstatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We spent two nights at the Heritage Hotel in late August. We had booked into another hotel in the town for two nights and because of the low standard of accommodation decided to stay only one night and to look for something better. When we enquired at the Heritage they were extremely helpful and offered us a room with a balcony overlooking the lake. The room was beautiful and the view over the lake fantastic! We ended up staying an extra night and ate at the restaurant both nights. We found the food and service excellent and the staff very friendly and engaging. Thank you for making our stay at Hallstatt so enjoyable. We'll be back again in the future!! Linette and John Penhall, Ballarat, Australia

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWP7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

382 - 388 of 659 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights, and what an amazing view. Just spectacular. Our room fronted the lake - just magnificent. It gets 5 stars for the view.

What puzzled us was that from the moment we arrived, the staff all seemed to be completely uninterested in whether we existed or not. We saw not one smile, and lots of occasions when they stood around talking to each other. If we asked a question it was like we were intruding. Whoever owns this place needs to change that culture, which might be acceptable in a backwater but this is one of the most beautiful places on earth. Maybe they are just happy and fat with the constant stream of Chinese tour groups who visit Hallstatt.

By contrast, we were delighted at the service provided at dinner at the Seehotel up the road.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mellowdigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

HOTEL REVIEW # 221 Heritage Hotel

MY TRAVEL STYLE: If possible, I try to stay away from business hotels and strongly prefer resorts that resemble the Four Seasons, Aman, and Oberoi but try to find similar properties at lower cost. I seek out the “wow” experiences.

LOCATION: Views of the water but with a parking lot in front… would have been nicer to have been directly on the water like some of the other hotels. Next to all the restaurants and things to see in town.

BEST WAY TO GET THERE: About 2.5 hours from Innsbruck by car.

TYPE OF ROOM: Standard

BED/SHEETS/PILLOW: Bed was good but not luxurious. Linens could have been of better quality… a bit rough / Pillow was thin.

LIGHTING: Adequate lighting in both bedroom and bathroom.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: Bathroom is the nicest part of the room. Very modern. Shower nozzle in an awkward position to make for a less than enjoyable shower as you have to stand in the very corner. Good water pressure with some inconsistent water temperature.

TOILETRIES: Seem to be of high quality (non-name branded)

CLEANLINESS: Hotel is very clean but doesn’t feel very new.

A/C: No AC in room… probably heat only. We were too hot at night when trying to sleep (typical of most of the best hotels in smaller towns in Germany/Austria).

STYLE OF ROOM: Modern and nice but not picture taking worthy. Great balcony for a view of the water even though there is a parking lot in front.

COMMON AREA: Not much of a place to hang out besides the restaurant.

QUIET/MORNING LIGHT: Hotel was very quiet and the morning sun could mostly be blocked.

FOOD: Only had breakfast here which was not enjoyable. Items were not impressive, fresh or displayed in an appetizing way.

TV/INTERNET: TV is a bit small for the room (didn’t use it). Internet is wired in the room or wireless in common areas. Our room was able to pickup a weak wireless signal.

SERVICE: Staff were very friendly at check in and answering questions about the area.

SUMMARY: Hotel See AM definitely has a better location with no parking lot in front but with all the complaints about that hotel, I am glad we stayed here. I will choose more comfort over a better view. No hotels in Halstadt will impress but this is probably the best of them all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel through Booking.com, requesting a ground floor since we were travelling with elderly parents. When we arrived around 8:30 pm we had a few unpleasant surprises. First of all the hotel does not have parking (as well as other hotels and businesses in Hallstatt), you need to park outside town and walk to the hotel 10-15 minutes. Then we were told that because we came late our rooms will be in a different building on the 3rd level, which is located well above ground, requiring steep ascend and descend. Additionally the man who came out of the hotel (probably the owner) was very unpleasant and rude to the receptionist and to us. We decided to leave immediately and had to look for another place which was difficult considering late time and busy holiday period. Fortunately we were lucky and found accommodation in the nearby town.

Stayed: August 2012
2  Thank lalo1216Shizuoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

A wonderful location, view a lakeview from the room. If we stayed again, we would book a room with a balcony to greater enjoy the beautiful setting. The lovely restaurant also had a lakeview. An excellent dinner, we enjoyed a very well cooked steak and pork medallions, although service was very slow. The friendly and helpful receptionist gave excellent advice on things to enjoy during our short stay. A great place from which to explore a wonderful part of the world.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony to enjoy the lakeview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I had been looking forward to visiting Hallstatt for at least 10 years and so I was delighted to note that a new hotel had recently opened up. It has a great location opposite the ferry landing stage. The receptionist was incredibly efficient and friendly at answering my emails and questions on booking. I arrived early (10am) and they offered me breakfast/coffee to make up for the fact the room was not yet ready. Wifi was free around the hotel and just about reached my room on the 3rd floor although you had to be near the window/balcony to get reception. Unlike a lot of hotels in that area this one did have a lift which was handy. The room was a bit empty and, as others have commented, & seemed to have rather plain Ikea like furniture. But the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was brand new & had a separate loo. The room had a safe and nice flat screen TV but only German channels which seemed odd as most of their customers were English speaking. The room had a nespresso machine with three capsules included free of charge which was a nice treat. Breakfast included the usual fare including cafe latte or cappuchinos which was a nice touch but they didn't have a toaster which was a surprise! They did produce freshly fried eggs on request. As commented on earlier the receptionist was extremely helpful and gave me detailed advice on the ice caves & which sightseeing routes to take around the village. I ended up hiring a little electric boat from a lady (if you turn left from the hotel but while facing the lake). It was only 9 euros for 1/2 hour and it was a real highlight being out on the peace of the lake. It is possible that the older hotel, the Seehotel Gruner Baum which has a position right on the lake shore (instead of behind the ferry landing stage & car park) might have a nicer spot to relax on by the shore of the lake but I was very happy with the Heritage Hotel. The Parking spot worked efficiently (though it was not cheap!) and was well explained by the hotel on booking.

Room Tip: I think higher and lake facing is probably the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thumbelina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

A friend tipped us that on our trip through Austria we had to see Hallstatt - and what a good idea that was. Without much information we booked one night at the Heritage, and now wish we had stayed at least another day. The village hugging the lake is such a striking location with interesting winding walkways and beautiful views. We had reserved a Deluxe Double Room, but were clearly assigned an upgrade to a Junior Suite - I think it was the same room #305 as in the "Wonderful Views" review by Scooter17OR. The room was HUGE, modern and sleek in light wood with wood floor. The bathroom was also amazing with a full-size floor-level walk-in shower. But as the other reviewer said, the best aspect was the lake view from inside the large windows and from the large balcony. It was a little rainy the day we arrived, but the next morning was incredibly bright and sunny - took the tour of the Salt Mine, a must-do in Hallstatt. The history of salt mining in this area is extremely interesting. Back to the hotel though. We found the restaurant to be quite satisfying, dining outdoors for dinner and breakfast. The hotel staff and restaurant wait staff were all very helpful and attentive. The location is right at the boat dock for lake tours and shuttles to the train station on the other side of the lake. We couldn't have found a better place to stay in that beautiful little village on the lake.

Room Tip: Get the junior suite, #305! You will probably only be here once!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hallstatt
0 mi away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
698 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seewirt Zauner
Seewirt Zauner
#3 of 4 in Hallstatt
177 reviews
1.5 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#1 of 4 in Obertraun
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hotel Lindwurm
Hotel Lindwurm
#5 of 9 in Bad Goisern
59 reviews
1.9 mi away
Obertrauner Hof
Obertrauner Hof
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
124 reviews
7 mi away
SPA Hotel Erzherzog Johann
SPA Hotel Erzherzog Johann
#2 of 4 in Bad Aussee
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hotel Hallstatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hotel Hallstatt

Address: Landungsplatz 101, Hallstatt 4830, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Hallstatt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hallstatt
Price Range: $159 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Hotel Hallstatt 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage.Hotel Hallstatt - downtown Hallstatt Between the mountains and the lake, amid Hallstatt's UNESCO World Heritage, there is just enough room for something special - a hotel where you can experience the unique Hallstatt feeling, a hotel that pampers you with luxury. The Heritage.Hotel melds three historic houses into a special kind of luxury hotel: 12 Heritage.Suites and 42 Heritage.Deluxe double rooms will charm you their unique flair and stylish appointments. In these historic monuments, no two rooms are the same; each enchants with its own unique history. The ****Heritage.Hotel Hallstatt is a member of the association: „Castle Hotels & Mansions“. Enjoy a unique vacation in the Salzkammergut at our lakefront hotel on Lake Hallstatt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heritage Hotel Hallstatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing