We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magical”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hallstatt
Certificate of Excellence
roaming aussie
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“magical”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We had booked only one night in Hallstatt, arriving around lunch time from Venice and leaving the following afternoon to Salzburg. It was summer, sunny and warm and could not have been more beautiful.
The parking outside town was easy to find and the shuttle bus to the hotel also easy.
I wish I could remember the name of the lady on reception as she was so welcoming and friendly, and went above and beyond check in duties. She gave us a map of the area highlighting things we should not miss on our short stay. She also gave us recommendations for Salzburg the following night and then even called a restaurant in Salzburg to make a reservation for us so that we would not miss out!

The hotel was so perfect. The room clean and large with nice amenities including nespresso machine. Beds were comfortable and modern bathroom. A balcony to look over the lake and town. The restaurant downstairs also lovely with nice staff who looked after us and I don't remember it being too expensive. The only thing that was wrong (and was not the fault of the hotel) was the town bell that rings at 0600! My friend and I still laugh about how I jumped out of bed in a panic yelling "what's happening!" when the bells were ringing! haha

I want to go back in the winter and would not even consider staying anywhere else.
This was one of the best experiences I have had. Thank you Heritage Hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roamingaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    173
    81
    32
    31
See reviews for
132
283
39
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southcentral PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

This was my third trip to the "postcard-pretty" town of Hallstatt. The last two times I had been here were just day trips, but this time, my husband and I thought it would be nice to actually stay in Hallstatt for a few days, for a lovely, quiet, relaxing respite between a week in Salzburg and the grand finale of our two-week trip - three nights in Vienna. I was so tickled to find this place on the internet and once we arrived at the hotel, it met all of our expectations. Perhaps the best part was opening our window and balcony door to the incredibly serene view of the black Hallstattersee and the surrounding mountains. Definitely worth the splurge!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rss_luvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

When visiting Hallstatt it would be hard to top Heritage Hotel – it's convenient, perfectly located, and offers a wide range of amenities with a certain unassuming class. We arrived at the Hallstatt train station across the lake and took the ferry that deposited us just a one minute walk from the hotel lobby. Our rooms were in the Klaus House section of the hotel which appears to be either newly constructed or a recent renovation of an older building. Either way, everything from the public areas (lobby, restaurant, etc.) to individual rooms is modern, roomy, meticulously clean, and skillfully decorated with artwork that appeared to be from the local area. Each of our two rooms had its own small balcony with a full-on 180 degree view of the lake, a roomy and stylish bathroom, in-room safe, very comfy beds, Nespresso machine, and loads of other comforts. The in-house restaurant is top notch for dinner and serves an extensive breakfast, including cooked-to-order choices. The only downside was the slow internet service available only in the lobby area – though maybe snail's pace is the best way to experience Hallstatt.

Room Tip: I think all rooms face the lake; if not, ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2SLOTRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel. The location was great, right when you get off the boat you are there, the view from the room was awesome. The breakfast was great and the room was very large (we got the Junior Suite). However, for the price we paid (over 300 Euros per night), we were dissapointed. The bed was terrible. They put two twin beds together, and since they are on hardwood floors they slide when you try to sleep next to your partner. Besides this, the mini fridge was broken and they could not fix it.

The room had a nice coffee maker and safe, and tub for two, but with a crappy bed it kind of kills the romantic mood.

Hallstatt is so gorgeous that you don't want to spend time in the room anyways, but if you do want to snuggle in a bed, you may want to check out another hotel.

Room Tip: Be forewarned the beds slip and slide and they put two twin beds to make a double/king size. Not goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritaright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Hallstatt is picturesque beyond belief, and the Heritage Hotel couldn't be better located, right next to the ferry dock and adjacent to the two iconic structures in town, the Catholic and Presbyterian churches.
The hotel is very nice, modern, with large rooms and great lake views. It's pricey for what it offers, however. Breakfast was extensive and nicely presented, but the restaurant was hit-and-miss for dinner.
The town has much to offer - a great and very modern archaeological museum, the fun salt mine tour and the ice cave excursion. And phenomenal hiking opportunities.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wels, Austria
Level Contributor
282 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Most expensive but also best hotel in hallstadt (145 € incl. breakfast isnt. too much for such a location and quality hotel)
directly located at the famous lake
hotel has 3 houses in this old city - we stayed in a stone house aprox.800 years old, with phantastic lake and mountian view and excellent rooms.

Room Tip: take a 2nd or 3rd floor room in the stocker house (phantastic lake view), the interior is also quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sauraumpfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We had the corner room above reception. The only problem we had with the room was the church bells going off early in the morning next door. They were loud but forgivable at the same time.

We had an amazing view of the lake. One of the most beautiful lakes I've ever seen. The room was quite large and very clean. The bed was comfortable although it was two twin beds put together, typical European style. Nice big bathroom, separate toilet room. Nespresso machine. Buffet breakfast was OK, nothing special.

The staff were fine. Not overly friendly. They spoke pretty good english. Parking was a little of an issue but there is plenty of parking in the public lots which will cost you. The town is so small that any walking you have to do is minimal. You can walk from your car to the hotel easily. The walk is lovely along the lake. The hotel will pick you up from any of the lots and drop you off at the hotel or vice versa, you will just need to call ahead.

We went to eat dinner at a restaurant on the little square. I don't remember the name of it though. It was tucked away in the corner, on the second floor, with vines growing all over the building and inside the restaurant. The restaurant was very busy and you definitely need a reservation. We were sat in the tiny bar as they were full. We had amazing food and beer. I had pumpkin soup and my husband had fish from the lake. The other place we ate dinner was nothing exciting. It was in the walk-out basement of a hotel. No one else was there when we walked in, should have known better then. It did have an outdoor patio which might have improved the atmosphere at least but it was closed as it was cold outside. We also at at a tiny bar/cafe on the lake front. The place is what makes everything special. Even eating a bratwurst and drinking a beer.

On the morning of our departure, we wanted to leave early to get to Vienna, the receptionist was supposed to show up at 8 am but I waited and waited because I wanted a receipt for our stay. She never showed and we left. There were no problems with the bill, in the end, so it worked out fine.

We went and did a salt mine tour in the mountain above the town. It was interesting and fun. There were also beautiful views of the lake from up top. Wish we had more time to go to the town on the other side of the lake. There was a lot more hiking and activities to do over there too. We did take a boat ride around the lake which was fun too. This is an absolutely beautiful area. Pictures do not do it justice.

I would definitely come back here and stay again. The hotel put us in a nice, large room with a beautiful view. Halstatt is a beautiful place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cantwait4mynxttrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hallstatt
0.0 mi away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seewirt Zauner
Seewirt Zauner
#3 of 4 in Hallstatt
152 reviews
1.4 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#2 of 4 in Obertraun
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Obertrauner Hof
Obertrauner Hof
#1 of 4 in Obertraun
111 reviews
3.8 mi away
Gasthof zur Post
Gasthof zur Post
#7 of 8 in Bad Goisern
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hallstatt Hideaway
Hallstatt Hideaway
#3 of 16 in Hallstatt
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Hotel Hallstatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Hotel Hallstatt

Property: Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Address: Landungsplatz 101, Hallstatt 4830, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Hallstatt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hallstatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Hotel Hallstatt 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage.Hotel Hallstatt - downtown Hallstatt Between the mountains and the lake, amid Hallstatt's UNESCO World Heritage, there is just enough room for something special - a hotel where you can experience the unique Hallstatt feeling, a hotel that pampers you with luxury. The Heritage.Hotel melds three historic houses into a special kind of luxury hotel: 12 Heritage.Suites and 42 Heritage.Deluxe double rooms will charm you their unique flair and stylish appointments. In these historic monuments, no two rooms are the same; each enchants with its own unique history. The ****Heritage.Hotel Hallstatt is a member of the association: „Castle Hotels & Mansions“. Enjoy a unique vacation in the Salzkammergut at our lakefront hotel on Lake Hallstatt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Heritage Hotel Hallstatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing