We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GEM in Hallstatt”
Review of Haus Lidy

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hallstatt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Haus Lidy
Ranked #10 of 16 Hallstatt B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 24, 2013

What a gem! It was extremely reasonable. We were pleasantly surprised when we saw our accommodations. Our room was upstairs. It had two bunk-beds and a double bed, a large en-suite bathroom, and a nice private balcony with a lovely view. The room was very clean. There was ample parking on the house ground. Lidy was our host. She was personable, wonderful and very helpful about getting around in Hallstatt. She spoke good English. Her breakfast and coffee was great! It was a nice ten minute walk to the centre of town. The lake is in the centre of town and it is so tranquil and beautiful. The town had nice shops, restaurants, churches. We visited the Bone Chapel and found it very interesting! It was a short drive to the Ice Caves and 5 Finger Lookout and we highly recommend this! The cable car ride to see these attractions is fantastic! We stayed in Hallstatt for two nites but wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eringobragh08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 35 of 41 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2012

My friend and I stayed in this guesthouse earlier this month for 2 nights. Hallstatt is a small village with not much going on at night in the city. though our room was not too big, it was cozy & comfy enough for us to stay in after dinner time.

ROOM: It was clean, neat and well decorated. Our room has a big double bed facing to a sky window on the roof (with curtain) and a big flat TV on the opposite wall. Around the bed, there is a little cute wooden table set on one side and a vanity w/mirror on another. All the furniture was laying out so neatly inside the room without taking up too much spaces for us to move around.

BATHROOM: it was a little bit small with only 20 minutes supply of hot water.

BALCONY: Another set of table and chairs were set on the balcony. The mountain view from the balcony was gorgeous and stunning. We spent a night having our take-out dinner on the balcony. Though it was a bit cold due to the snow it has a day before, we still enjoyed having our dinner on the balcony with such a beautiful mountain view in front of us.

LOCATION: It is not very close to the town center but still within walking distance.

SERVICE: Lidy, the host, was extremely nice and friendly. Lidy serves her guests tasty & homey breakfast every morning in her beautiful dining room. We enjoyed it so much.

OVERALL: It was a great experience of us being Lidy's guests in her beautiful guesthouse. I would definitely recommend friends to stay in this beautiful guesthouse when they go to visit Hallstatt in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PollycToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

This was a lovely guesthouse really calm and quiet. The mountain view from the balcony was wonderful. Only 10 minutes walk from downtown and a good starting point for hicking paths. The room was clean and the welcome was warm. The breakfast could have been more consistent. I will not hesitate to go there again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laikalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We had an amazing stay at Haus Lidy, our room must have been the family room because there was both a bunkbed and a double bed, a large bathroom and an even bigger private balcony with a mountain view. It was situated a couple of minutes from the lake and ten minutes from the centre of the town but this was actually quite nice. It's around the corner from the salt mines so we went the first thing one morning and didn't have to wait in line for tickets. Breakfast was lovely and the coffee was great. Lidy was there if we needed her but respected her guests privacy. The room had extra blankets, a hairdryer and a kettle. No air con, but it wasn't needed even during the hottest days in august since the window in the ceiling caught the cool mountain breeze. All in all, a wonderful stay at a price that is hard to beat in anywhere else in Hallstatt. 

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JohannaAndHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Clean, amazing location and views, nice host, quiet - all in all, a rewarding trip.
The only downside was an incredible tiny bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mariusb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

This was a lovely homely guesthouse with everything youl could ask for....a lovely host, beautiful views from the balcony, large clean room and generous breakfast. We thought this was excellent value for money and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taznben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

Me & my husband stay in Haus Lidy on 22 & 23 March 08 for 2 nights. Hallstatt is really a nice & peaceful heritage lake town. I'm so glad I had choose an excellent choice to stay in Haus Lidy. Eventhough the house does not facing lake view, but the surrounding village & mountain view are really awesome. It is only a short 10 minutes walk to the town centre.
Lidy, the owner is very nice and always give us an helping hand. The room is comfortable and the best is the breakfast prepare by Lidy. She even bake some rabbit shape bun for us because it is Easter Holiday when we are there. Good value of money for 50 Euro per night stay with home make breakfast.
We are very glad she offer to fetch us to the nearby town train station which is 10 minutes away by car in the morning during our departure to the next destination. I will miss Haus Lidy a lot and definate will return to there for a long stay in future. I believe my pictures tells everything. Thanks for the warm hospitality, Lidy!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Twinkle_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hallstatt
0.7 mi away
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
Heritage Hotel Hallstatt
#2 of 4 in Hallstatt
642 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seehotel Gruener Baum
Seehotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 4 in Hallstatt
686 reviews
1.8 mi away
Resort Obertraun
Resort Obertraun
#1 of 4 in Obertraun
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Seewirt Zauner
Seewirt Zauner
#3 of 4 in Hallstatt
173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hallstatt Hideaway
Hallstatt Hideaway
#3 of 16 in Hallstatt
69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gruner Anger
Gruner Anger
#1 of 16 in Hallstatt
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Lidy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Lidy

Address: Kohlstattweg 186, Hallstatt 4830, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Hallstatt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hallstatt
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing