We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Wachau
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Landhotel Wachau(Emmersdorf)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Schloss Rothenhof(Emmersdorf)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Donauhof(Emmersdorf)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveler rating
17
33
13
8
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
33
13
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet locationstayed one nightnext morningschnitzelthe ownerbalconywinesviennarestaurantdanube
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 72 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Wachau for three nights to explore the town and surrounding countryside. For that purpose it was adequate: the area is absolutely lovely and the room was fine. Our disappointments with Hotel Wachau include that the staff was consistently unfriendly and unattentive (the front desk didn't even have a map of the town), the dinner menu was so absurdly expensive that we preferred to make a trek to town every night, and the location of the hotel is extremely unattractive. With respect to the last, it was not that big a deal to us that the hotel is outside of central Melk, not within walking distance. We knew that when we booked it. Rather, it was the awful street views of some sort of industrial depot and a police station across the street that had us shuddering.

We would not stay at Hotel Wachau again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJLHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

3 Star , 5/10
The service was good and polite, though they don't speak much English.
The dinning room was very nicely furnished , and the breakfast quite good.
The rooms are quite small and have no Airconditioning.
Bed and pillows were passable , donna and not top sheet (European Standard)
No food or drinks in the room was quite strange. Quite a bit of noise from the kitchen and restraunt till 11:30.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the Restraunt and Kitchen to keep the noise down.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We booked a room here and received an email confirmation which I presented to the desk clerk on arrival only to be told that we had the wrong hotel, that we were at the Hotel Wachauhof in the city center. So we never spent the night at the Hotel Wachau so I can't review it except to say that it looked very nice. W e stayed the night at the other hotel, which did not have our reservation and was not as nice. They eventually explained that our resevation was for the Hotel Wachau, but that it was full so they had moved us to the in town hotel. I was not pleased about this and felt they should have informed me of the change beforehand. However, but the time we got to the Hotel Wachauhof we were too tired to complain.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank packedlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This delightful place is out of town but only a few minutes away as Melk is small. The rooms were big and clean. The breakfast room was delightful. We enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to anyone. Come to Melk it is a gem!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyndy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

We spent only one night here but I would say well worth it. Couldn't find a right hotel and we thought Melk must have a nice one. We were right. Got there quite late but at the reception the gentleman were wery helpfull and he did speak english. Well most of the staff did. So we checked in and went to the restaurant and had a lovely dinner. As everywhere at Austria the prices are high but I 'd say here at this hotel you are going to get something for your money.
The breakfast was plenty and good for all of us. We had a long walk and visited the abbey. I would recomend for anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reuven79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews