We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience...”
Review of Hotel Stadt Melk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Stadt Melk
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Melk
Fort Worth, TX
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience...”
Reviewed December 11, 2010

On our way from Heidelberg, Germany, to Vienna, Austria, we stopped at Melk, famous for its abbey. With no reservations made, we selected on the spur Hotel Stadt Melk at the Hauptplatz (Main Square). We couldn't have made a better choice. The friendly personnel, the nice accommodation, the excellent cuisine (received two out of four toques, of the gastronomic guide Gault-Millau) and the beautiful location all contributed to a wonderful experience. Location is right on the foot of the hill on which world-famous Melk abbey is located. Originally we wanted to stop at a place farther down in the Wachau section of the Danube valley but we didn't regret at all to make our overnight stay here. There is a plaque mentioning that the Duke and Duchess (Mary Simpson) stayed here in the 1950s. Prices are reasonable, private parking provided. Most highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DFAvJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    24
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
14
25
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Apex, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We loved this hotel. Sure there is a little noise, and the church bells woke us up, but our little balcony overlooking the town more than made up for the noise. The restaurant is wonderful. The rooms are small, but the bed is comfortable. I liked have the offstreet parking just behind the hotel and the location is fantastic. We stayed in Melk and took the train into Vienna - which was expensive, The train runs frequently, and the hotel is a short walk to the station.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Engerland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2010

On business / road trip through Europe and coming back via Austria, we arrived in Stadt Melk about 21.00pm and drove straight into the centre to find a suitable hotel for the night, we parked outside Hotel Stadt Melk and walked into reception, Fraulein Wallner was at reception and after a bit of negotiation we agreed to book 2 rooms, as the kitchen was closed we walked next door and bought pizza, we sat outside at the pavement tables and Fraulein Wallner arranged a simple salad and wine, a really pleasant end to a very good day, we very rarely book accommodation in advance preferring to take our chances as they happen, we are very seldom disappointed and quite frequently surprised by what we find, this was a real little gem, and Fraulein Wallner - 5 stars.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiggermanNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2009

Up the lane, you'll be surprised to find a comfortable and beautifully maintained hotel behind this historic building. On the facade of the building are some ancient paintings which tourists will stop and see. In our room (which probably was the cheapest) with twin beds and a view of the monastry, there was TV, clean towels and even bathrobes. Restaurant serves regular food and breakfast is a sumptuous set of Austrian traditional fare. Town is very small so it is easy to find and access.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2008

We stayed here for one night. First, let me say the staff was very nice and the restaurant on property had an excellent dinner. The hotel itself is quaint. The furnishings were comfortable enough, but they will need to replace some chairs and such soon. The bathrooms were modern and clean.
The bad: No air conditioning. We opened the windows, but the Abbey bells ring till midnight and start again at 5am. There are cafes and the restaurant right down below your window, so street noise is also a big problem. I think any time of year that you will not need to sleep with the windows open all night, it would be a cute place.

  • Liked — The restaurant for dinner
  • Disliked — Noisy area to sleep
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank movedsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2008

Read about Tom's Restaurant in a guide book & decided to eat & stay here. Arrived on a Wednesday when the restaurant is closed, but still decided to inquire about accommodations & have a light meal in their cafe.

Proprietress was VERY unaccommodating: would only show pictures of the room & wouldn't let us see them. We decided not to stay & only have a light meal. We got our drinks but then spent the next 20 minutes trying to get their attention (only 4 other patrons in restaurant at 6 pm). Eventually gave up & went to the town of Durnstein (30 minutes away) where we had delightful time at the Gartenhotel Pfeffel.

Perhaps the more formal restaurant Tom's is worth the visit, but everything about our visit was unsatisfactory.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank nyctravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2007

I agree completely with the prior review. There are many beautiful places to stay downriver from Melk, although it's hard to find them on the web (try Weisskirche or Durnstein). If you have a car, see the abbey but stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melk
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant zur Post
1.0 mi away
Hotel Wachau
Hotel Wachau
#3 of 6 in Melk
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wachauerhof
Wachauerhof
#5 of 6 in Melk
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Zum Schwarzen Baren
Hotel Zum Schwarzen Baren
#2 of 4 in Emmersdorf
65 reviews
17.2 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel and Spa
Steigenberger Hotel and Spa
#1 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
1,213 reviews
15.0 mi away
Gartenhotel & Weingut Pfeffel Durnstein
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stadt Melk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stadt Melk

Property: Hotel Stadt Melk
Address: Hauptplatz 1, Melk 3390, Austria
Location: Austria > Lower Austria > Melk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Melk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stadt Melk 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Stadt Melk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing