We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint and with a touch of history”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Stadt Melk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Stadt Melk
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Melk
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quaint and with a touch of history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2009

Up the lane, you'll be surprised to find a comfortable and beautifully maintained hotel behind this historic building. On the facade of the building are some ancient paintings which tourists will stop and see. In our room (which probably was the cheapest) with twin beds and a view of the monastry, there was TV, clean towels and even bathrobes. Restaurant serves regular food and breakfast is a sumptuous set of Austrian traditional fare. Town is very small so it is easy to find and access.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    23
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
13
21
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2008

We stayed here for one night. First, let me say the staff was very nice and the restaurant on property had an excellent dinner. The hotel itself is quaint. The furnishings were comfortable enough, but they will need to replace some chairs and such soon. The bathrooms were modern and clean.
The bad: No air conditioning. We opened the windows, but the Abbey bells ring till midnight and start again at 5am. There are cafes and the restaurant right down below your window, so street noise is also a big problem. I think any time of year that you will not need to sleep with the windows open all night, it would be a cute place.

  • Liked — The restaurant for dinner
  • Disliked — Noisy area to sleep
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank movedsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
188 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2008

Read about Tom's Restaurant in a guide book & decided to eat & stay here. Arrived on a Wednesday when the restaurant is closed, but still decided to inquire about accommodations & have a light meal in their cafe.

Proprietress was VERY unaccommodating: would only show pictures of the room & wouldn't let us see them. We decided not to stay & only have a light meal. We got our drinks but then spent the next 20 minutes trying to get their attention (only 4 other patrons in restaurant at 6 pm). Eventually gave up & went to the town of Durnstein (30 minutes away) where we had delightful time at the Gartenhotel Pfeffel.

Perhaps the more formal restaurant Tom's is worth the visit, but everything about our visit was unsatisfactory.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank nyctravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2007

I agree completely with the prior review. There are many beautiful places to stay downriver from Melk, although it's hard to find them on the web (try Weisskirche or Durnstein). If you have a car, see the abbey but stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2007

This is a friendly hotel with very nice staff, but it is looking rather dated (early 70's now). The main problem though is the noise - there is a bar opposite where music plays till 4, and very loud traffic/street noise. Breakfast is meagre which is a surprise as they have a surprisingly fancy restaurant for dinner. The latter was good - though only two set menus.

  • Liked — friendly
  • Disliked — noisy
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank global-wanderer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melk
0.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant zur Post
1.0 mi away
Hotel Wachau
Hotel Wachau
#2 of 6 in Melk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.5 mi away
Junges Hotel Melk
Junges Hotel Melk
#6 of 6 in Melk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wachauerhof
Wachauerhof
#4 of 6 in Melk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.7 mi away
Landhotel Wachau
Landhotel Wachau
#3 of 4 in Emmersdorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hotel Schloss Duernstein
Hotel Schloss Duernstein
#1 of 4 in Durnstein
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stadt Melk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stadt Melk

Property: Hotel Stadt Melk
Address: Hauptplatz 1, Melk 3390, Austria
Location: Austria > Lower Austria > Melk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Melk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stadt Melk 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Stadt Melk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing