We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smart restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stiftsrestaurant Melk

Stiftsrestaurant Melk
Ranked #7 of 32 Restaurants in Melk
Cuisines: Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Smart restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

This restaurant is efficient and f.ast on orders as they cater to milling tourist who want their orders services in a jiffy. The best part was that I ordered a veg dish, and was hoping to get something insipid but was pleasantly surprised when I took the first bite. Oh! It was delicious, I had never expected in so far a place from India. My dish was potato bag with cheese and mushroom. It was delicious, and I think it was a bit better than what my wife may have prepared, and mind you my wife is an excellent cook, apart from being a accomplished house maker.

If you take a Danube Blue Tour you must try this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lalji V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    45
    19
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
there and back everywhere
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surprising”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We expect the sky high price, since the restaurant is a part of the Stift (monastery) compound but we were surprised indeed. Soups very delicious, pork - cabbage - dumplings, nothing to add but great. And sweets... enjoy ;-) all for reasonable prices.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good, but expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This restaurant is conveniently located just outside the abbey, has a wide selection of traditional dishes, and a big terrace. We enjoyed our meal on a very hot day after visiting the abbey

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RonaldSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton, Australia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Only place to eat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were very happy to visit here as it had everything you needed. Coffee, Soup and knuckle and we had it all. One of the best things was it was also warm inside and had WC's which was a bonus after a bus and boat trip here. Worth a visit if you are in Melk.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keza_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Tasty, but somehow ordinary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

The staff is very fast, as a lot tourists come to the restaurant directly from the abbey. They serve different local dishes with plums, as well as their patented cake, which is good to try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kalina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stiftsrestaurant Melk also viewed

Melk, Lower Austria
 
Melk, Lower Austria
 

Been to Stiftsrestaurant Melk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing