We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Fit for an Abbott”

Stiftsrestaurant Melk
Ranked #8 of 32 Restaurants in Melk
Cuisines: Austrian, Diner
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Food Fit for an Abbott”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

If the monks of Melk eat this way everyday then they should be in no rush for heaven. In fact, they may have already achieved that elevated state; they sure will have achieved a rotund state of being. Superb cuisine, reasonably priced. And, the wine!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DonMarinelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    50
    21
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Meal!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I know this review might be difficult for individuals or smaller groups because we were traveling with a very large group (almost 200), and took over the entire top level of the restaurant, but the food was very good! The service was a bit slow, but given the fact that we were so many, I really don't count that as a strike against them. The main reason for my writing on this is because the food was very good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RoaminCatholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
161 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had some of our best food in Austria at the abbey restaurant. I ordered the sausage and french fries. This was excellent. My mom ordered the Weiner Schnitzel. She said it one of the best that she had ever eaten. The prices were reasonable and the staff was friendly.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ChinaShrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lunch Stop”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We were on our way to Salzburg with our tour operator when we made a lunch stop at Stiftsrestaurant Melk. Nice food, though a little on the steep side. Very beautiful setting, especially on a hill top next to Nelk Abbey.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Binggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
393 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Very nice meal in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Our group of 5 ate here on a quick stop on our way from Salzburg to Vienna. This restaurant is on the grounds of the grand and gorgeous Benedictine monastery in Melk. It offers a nice selection of Austrian specialties, healthy options for those who want them, and great desserts. The food is excellent, and the service very friendly and professional. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ECrowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stiftsrestaurant Melk also viewed

Melk, Lower Austria
 
Melk, Lower Austria
 

Been to Stiftsrestaurant Melk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing