We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for exploring this portion of the Wachau”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Markus Madar - Kaffeehaus Tradition
Ranked #2 of 11 Melk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring this portion of the Wachau”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We selected this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and were glad we did. Easy walk to/from train station, abbey, and boat docks on river. Room was very clean and recently renovated. Simple but good breakfast. Even in a small town like Melk some people stay out in the plaza until late at night, so it was noisy during hot weather with our window above the tables. Pleasant folks running the place. The price was very good.

Room Tip: If you might need to have the window open and would like to sleep in a quiet room ask for a room tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grover42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    26
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
28
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Located right in centre of old town Melk with the steps to Melk Abbey just a few feet away.
We had a very comfortable double room on top floor facing out onto street. Bathroom clean with good shower. However the sliding door between bathroom and bedroom did not fit well.
Good tv with lots of stations to watch. We had arrived on bikes and there was no problem leaving them at back of hotel in secure place. Buffet breakfest which was good. Had meal in restaurant on arrival and it was enjoyable, served by pleasent waitress. Good location for seeing places of interest in Melk

Room Tip: No lift so have to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The main floor is a restaurant (with a decent breakfast included in the price), the rooms are above. Modern enough, considering the town...but no air conditioning. Nothing wrong with the place, definitely a good option for a quick stay. 31 EUR per person included breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TriangleMan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pardubice, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We came by bike late afternoon - no problem with acomodation, nice old building, pleasant stuff, clean and big room. Price 31 EUR per person include breakfest. Room with TV and modern bath, no fridge. Breakfest: cheese, ham, rolls, bread, youghurt, compote, butter, jam, juice. Coffee, tea.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBS141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in melk on our cycle trip and it is certainly worth the stay. The hotel was a good with renovated rooms and good breakfast. You can keep the bycicles in the backyard. The only minus point was, that it was very hot in the rooms - but 33C outside - and fairly noisy from the people on the terrasse.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PhilippMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth
Level Contributor
272 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

I accidentally discovered Melk, while driving down the highway from Budapest to Cesky Krumlov. We saw the abbey from the road and drove in to the city. I never take the first hotel I see. I like to go a little further in to the town and inquire at places. My room was upstairs in a very quiet building. 39 Euros included breakfast. Not bad for a tourist town in Austria! I would definitely stay there again. Breakfast was very substantial. Partially waiter served and partially self served. My good sized room was very clean and bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tomorrowsantiques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melk
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant zur Post
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stadt Melk
Hotel Stadt Melk
#3 of 6 in Melk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Wachau
Hotel Wachau
#2 of 6 in Melk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wachauerhof
Wachauerhof
#5 of 6 in Melk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Junges Hotel Melk
Junges Hotel Melk
#6 of 6 in Melk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
18.1 mi away
Hotel Zum Goldenen Engel
Hotel Zum Goldenen Engel
#2 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Markus Madar - Kaffeehaus Tradition? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Markus Madar - Kaffeehaus Tradition

Property: Markus Madar - Kaffeehaus Tradition
Address: Rathausplatz 3, Melk 3390, Austria (Formerly Cafe Restaurant zum Fursten)
Location: Austria > Lower Austria > Melk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Melk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Markus Madar - Kaffeehaus Tradition 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Markus Madar - Kaffeehaus Tradition reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing