We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to stay while in the Danube River Valley” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wachauerhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wachauerhof
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Melk
St.Cloud
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay while in the Danube River Valley”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

This hotel in Melk was a perfect place to stay while visiting the Abby and also a great location if you want to rent bikes to bike along the Danube River Valley. (The hotel does not rent bikes however).The rooms were very well kept and clean, the beds were excellent. We requested a quiet room initially in our reservation and it was indeed. The breakfast was very good and you had a choice of eating outside on the patio or inside. The food selections were ample and had both hot and cold choices. The path to the Abby was just a few minutes away and also this hotel is just minutes away from the downtown shopping/eating area.

Room Tip: request quietest room in your reservation if that's what you're looking for
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank St_CloudTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    20
    20
    9
    1
See reviews for
10
26
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

I was concerned after reading the other reviews on this site as to what we would find upon arriving, but it was nothing like the others described. The hotel is about as close to the abby and the old town as possible, as well as the bike paths into the Wachau.

The staff was helpful and friendly- they checked bus and train schedules for us, they printed maps, and I witnessed them calling around to other hotels for at least one person looking for a room (they were fully booked).

The hotel is not glamorous, but it was clean, and for the price, was perfectly fine. The rooms were basic, bed, TV, shower in the bathroom, etc. Breakfast was simple but plentiful, with bread, cold meats and cheeses, pastry, etc.

The hotel offers free bike rentals to guests for exploring the area and discount coupons for the boats that run from Melk to Krems and back. They also provide bag storage free of charge.

While we did not make use of it, the hotel also has a large parking lot for guest parking.

Overall, it was a good place to stay to explore the area.

Room Tip: We used booking.com and were given a triple room for a double price....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daver141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

too high priced hotel with very dated rooms and bathrooms. Breakfast with cheap meat in a very noisy dining room. In our room the shower not working ( and because of my work I could see this was not a problem from last days, so cleaning the bad was also some time ago), this is just a temporary fix, however, take a normal shower was not possible, for this was an almost inaudible excuse made. No internet in the hotel what is a shame for a 3 star hotel with this price and is not of this time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freewayboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melk hotels

Budapest
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2009

This hotel, as far as location and rooms are concerned, could be an excellent place to stay, if it weren't for the greedy management. First, the rooms are WAY overpriced for what one gets: 110 Euros for a family of four, which, as it turns out, UNFORTUNATELY includes breakfast.
The rooms and bath were quite nice, but the ugly surprise at the breakfast in the morning spoilt everything. It was simply inedible. The rolls were obviously at least already 1 day old, even though we stayed during a weekday, when fresh ones could have been obtained. In other words, the management wanted to feed us leftovers. Next, the juices were nothing other than highly watered-down sirups. Real orange juice wouldn't have hurt... The coffee was undrinkable: it tasted old, as if the pots hadn't been properly cleansed before the next brewed batch was made. The meats and cheeses for the rolls were the cheapest, most tasteless types, and dry! We tried to do with müsli, but it tasted old too. Incredible, how greedy managemtn can turn what could have been a very nice place to stay into an UTTER DUMP.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trbrwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melk
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant zur Post
0.9 mi away
Hotel Wachau
Hotel Wachau
#2 of 6 in Melk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stadt Melk
Hotel Stadt Melk
#3 of 6 in Melk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Hotel Zum Goldenen Engel
Hotel Zum Goldenen Engel
#2 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Zum Schwarzen Baren
Hotel Zum Schwarzen Baren
#2 of 4 in Emmersdorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Donauhof
Hotel Donauhof
#1 of 4 in Emmersdorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wachauerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wachauerhof

Property: Wachauerhof
Address: Wiener Strasse 30, Melk 3390, Austria
Location: Austria > Lower Austria > Melk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Melk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wachauerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wachauerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing