We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Zum Goldenen Engel
Certificate of Excellence
Cymru
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

A perfect stop off if riding the Donnau Cycle Path,
We travelled with Rad&Reisen and as such, the hotel was chosen for us.
Next time, I'd choose the Hotel for myself,
Rooms were perfect for our requirements, spacious modern and clean, we were not expecting g to spend a long time in them, but we could have without any problems.
The elevated garden and pool was an amazing surprise, and apricot trees in full fruit to climb were the icing on the cake.
Town centre was an easy walk, where there were a few restaurents open late and off season.
Breakfast was more than adequate, with Gluten free bread supplied for my son, this was the highlight for us, as such a small thing makes the difference between an average stay, and an amazing one.
Those who in other reviews complain about the friendlyness and service should try travelling with specific health requirements to realise how attentive the staff really are.
I can't wait to return done time

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drhuwjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    45
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
18
45
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

The best hotel I ever see! Big clean rooms, very nice breakfast (with fresh bread, milk and butter). Interesting roof on which you can sit in the evening: with a grill place and wonderful view on the city!
They also have appartments with a door to the roof. And they are incredible!
Free wifi, parking place - what one would ask more?

Room Tip: All rooms are good I guess. Don't worry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ksenia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

The hotel is not located in the middle of town. Provides little service and no bar or restaurant (except breakfast). I had difficulty in recognising the pictures in the publicity. For what it was, the hotel is expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterRjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Well situated on the edge of the old town, easily walkable from the railway station and at a pinch, the Danube boat terminal. We were impressed to be given the choice of 3 different rooms on arrival, and took a family room with views across the Danube to the hilltop abbey, which was quiet, well-appointed (but no A/C) and comfortable. Not much english is spoken, but everyone was very keen to help, and the garden/pool at the back of the hotel was a very nice discovery (it isn't really advertised on the hotel flyer you get on arrival). The breakfast was good too, although the room can get a little crowded with cyclists doing the Danube cycleway.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms facing the front as they seem to have more daylight, but be aware it can get a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank railbuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Pretty close to the center of Krems. Nothing special about the rooms, but clean.
Breakfast is very good. People are friendly (but not so good with English).

Krems is nice little town and very quiet (it's better not to look for people in the evening - streets will probably be almost empty, even in the center). Not many restaurants, but the food is good (if a little on the heavy side). The area around the city is more than wonderful, so explore the Wachau valley and marvel at the views.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrei C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montague, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Great people and very clean, well appointed rooms. Very interesting backyard with wonderful views. Authentic, family-owned, hosptiable and central location. Stayed 6 nights and felt right at home.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Gottweig Monastery
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Albert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

We only stayed here for one night but were amazed at the quality. The host was very kind and welcoming, the rooms were fresh and clean and the location is perfect for the town centre - quiet but a very short walk away. But there were two things that really made it for us. Firstly the breakfast was incredible; cake, fruit, vegetable, bread, cheese, meats and the list goes on. And secondly they have a swimming pool where you can go for a night time dip with incredible views across the Danube valley to a beautiful lit up monastery on the other side. If you are ever in Graz, stay here!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew_Alexa_Millar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Krems an der Donau
1.3 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel and Spa
Steigenberger Hotel and Spa
#1 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Unter den Linden
Hotel Unter den Linden
#4 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Schloss Duernstein
Hotel Schloss Duernstein
#1 of 4 in Durnstein
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Arte Hotel Krems
Arte Hotel Krems
#3 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
4.6 mi away
Gartenhotel & Weingut Pfeffel Durnstein
5.4 mi away
Loisium Wine & Spa Resort Langenlois
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zum Goldenen Engel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zum Goldenen Engel

Property: Hotel Zum Goldenen Engel
Address: Wiener Strasse 41, Krems an der Donau 3500, Austria
Location: Austria > Lower Austria > Krems an der Donau
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Krems an der Donau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zum Goldenen Engel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Zum Goldenen Engel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing