We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Orange Wings Krems
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Steigenberger Hotel and Spa(Krems an der Donau)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Unter den Linden(Krems an der Donau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Zum Goldenen Engel(Krems an der Donau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arte Hotel Krems(Krems an der Donau)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kolping Campus Krems(Krems an der Donau)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Parkhotel Krems(Krems an der Donau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Alte Post(Krems an der Donau)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Hotel Zierlinger(Senftenberg)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveler rating
2
9
21
18
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2
9
21
18
11
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 61 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2011

I can think of three reasons why you might want to stay in a place like this:
1. you've just been released from after a 20-year sentence in prison and you miss the cold comfort of your jail cell
2. you want to dump your girlfriend so you offer to takj her on a romantic trip to Austria and you take her to this hotel (she'll never speak to you again: guaranteed)
3.. you're felling vaguely suicidal but need something to push you over the edge (the Danube river is conveniently located nearby).
Otherwise .. don't even think about it.
The hotel is a stack of shipping containers converted into windowless rooms. There's no reception. It's frighteningly cold and gloomy.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wanderingnigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

I had looked at Orange Wings website and it looked good, and the hotell in Krems looked ok, but when we got there we were shocked. The outside of the hotel looks like a prison, which is more or less probably what the inside of prison cells look like:
- Bad lighting
- Slightly cold (without knowing why)
- Bad television (only German channels, none of them with music)
- No real sunlight coming in
- Tiny room

We really did not like this place. We were dependent on getting back and forth to Krems, however, the local bus stopped going 18.30 on weekdays (12.30 in the day Sat.) something the receptionist failed to tell us about.

The location is really bad, and you are not in any area that even looks remotely like the old part of Krems, you are right next to a big industrial area, which is exactly what I think Orange Wings want you to feel.

EVen if the room was cold, you can always turn on the heater, but ours was so noisy it was impossible to sleep with it on. The walls are also like paper and we had someone two rooms away (!!) complaining about us making noise. Two doors away, that means there practically are no walls. Or wait, maybe its just the rooms being terrible in general and Orange Wings in Krems being a really nasty place to stay for a few days.

The only company around the place are really old ladies and extremely sleazy locals or other guests (which, if you are a girl isnt that much fun).

Room Tip: Dont trust blindly in the websites.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank idha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Hotel is ok but I would rather stay at a small pension in Krems, since the hotel is far away and expensive compared to other small B&Bs in Krems.
positive:
Very convenient to check in at any time at a machine.

negative:
Internet is available but only through a cable, no WiFi!!!
The room is small and has NO WINDOW! There is only a small skylight!
Cleaning was not very exact. My linen was not changed, even though it was visibly dirty from my shoes!
It is very noisy when people are coming at night, since the skylight is on the side of the aisle!
The hotel did a clearing out at 7.30am!!!!! Which was noisy as well

After all, if you have the chance to stay at a small, cosy pension, I would prefer that over the Orange Wings Krems. It is nothing more but an overpriced student hostel!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emoticon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2008

If ultra modern is your thing perhaps Orange Wings is the place for you. Be warned however that though the rooms are reasonably priced, and clean, that the hotel itself is not ideally situated. Nor does it offer even the most basic service (like a working phone on the property or a staffed desk) which is especially problematic when you need to call a cab to the Krems. They stated that they have an "Orange Line" which can be called from the pay phone outside of the hotel lobby, but the phone was out of order for all calls, to the "Orange Line" or other. All in all I would venture to say that for a few euro more you can probably find a pension or simple guest house in Krems or Stein that is conveniently located and also offers the comforts of personal service that a "hotelomat" check in machine just can't compete with.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LMFTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2007

This is not your typical budget hotel. It's design is unlike anything I've seen before. It is somewhat shocking - but not in the negative way.

Rooms are clean, functional, efficient. I can't say anything bad about rooms
I did not have breakfast at the place, so can't tell you.
Parking is available, free.
Internet via TV is available in the rooms, but mine did not work, so I'm not sure if it's free or not.

Here is what's shocking about it: lack of walls for the building itself. Instead there is a chainlink fence on each floor. Access to the hotel is blocked at night so you need to user your card to get in.

There is a special machine outside the entrance to get the room and pay for it on the spot.

There is a functional reception during the normal day hours.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank aleksandrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews