We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Major improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I am very happy I had to return to Krems to work and had a room booked for me at the Steigenberger. Since my last visit, it seems the service has largely improved. This time, I also could enjoy the gym, and most of all, the pools and saunas. What a pleasure to sweat in the Finnish sauna and then to cool down in the outdoor jacuzzi! The Steigenberger is truly a great place to relax after work. Now, a few things could still improve, notably the absence of wifi in the rooms and the choice of international television channels (only CNN in English...). Apart from that, I was truly happy to enjoy this hotel especially after my last trip which was very disappointing. Keep up the good work (and get me a few more American channels!).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WanderingProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed for one night in their Junior Suite room. This hotel has an old part and a new part. The room we stayed in is in the new part of the hotel and has a bath tub directly at a large window front in the bath room which makes it romantic and perfect for a couple. The standard room is in the old part of the hotel and is way over priced. We asked to look at a number of rooms which was not well received by the lady at the reception. Some of the Junior Suits look towards the main road and it is not very comfortable to use the nice bath tub with the large windows as other can see you from the street level. We ended up staying in a room that faces towards the back of the hotel that doesnt offer a nice view but more privacy.

The wellness area is open from 3pm to 9pm but the complimantary tea service is just offered until 6pm, which is kind of strange. Also when we arrived at 5pm there where no beds available even though the hotel was just partly booked. Also there where tea cups all over the wellness area and no staff was visible that could have cleaned up the dirty cups.

All in all a very nice hotel but it is not living up to its prices for the rooms. There hotel does for sure not offer 4 star service. Dont book rooms in the old part of the hotel if you are looking for modern design. I will not return as there are much better, lower priced hotels available in the area that offer better service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RainZi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Set on a hillside outside the village this place though expensive is superb. Wonderful rooms [they upgraded us to a suite] excellent breakfast and good dining. Friendly helpful staff. Parking in garage is supposed to be charged but was not

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davyb1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We staid one night at this (large) hotel during a bike trip along the Danube. Professional reception desk and a very nice ground floor room with a terrace.
The real surpise was the wellness centre: a completely new aisle obviously built with a huge budget: most recent techniques and first class materials (e.g. 20 m indoor pool 100 in stainless steel; very nice outdoor swimming pool and whirlpool with view on surroundings, extra large sauna, etc.).
The hotel is located uphill and thus out of the centre.

Room Tip: Certain roomms hav an open view (front), others not but yet calm (back). Our romm was located on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luc J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

4* Hotel which really deserves this Rating! Nice location on the hill.
Lobby and bar very inviting.
Restaurant with conservative and very modern style areas. Excellent food, good local white wine.
Spa area is a wow! Yet not do large, but very attractive.

Many reasons to return to this place!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StuttgartWilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We spent a weekend in this hotel and suffered only one night from lack of air conditioning. Our room was on the 3rd floor under the roof, it became really hot so we could sleep a minute... The pool is nice although during wedding season it's crowded with guests but in the inside pool area had always free places to take a rest. Sauna has a beautiful view to the valley!
Food is typical Austrian kitchen, personal speaks an unundestanble German but provides an English menu.
I would come back only in winter months...

Room Tip: Not on the 3rd floor during hot summer time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Agathe73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Lot has been written about this hotel. I can understand the given 5* if you end up in the new wing and it doesnt happen to be 35 degrees outside 10 days in a row. Our case was exactly the opposite. Old room with 'austrian' double bed - meaning two beds pushed together (what is it with Austria?) and 30 degrees in the room. The fact that our room was overviewing car park didnt help. Thus our wedding anniversary weekend was a big dissapoitment and we didnt get much sleep because of the heat.

What we liked though is the impressive spa area, indoor and outdoor pool (can get very busy) and the nice brekfast. You can rent scooter at the hotel for 35 eur per day which is a great way to get around. The staff was also very pleasant.

Overall, depends on the room and weather. We paid 150 eur per night incl brealfast and i wouldnt have paid a penny more.

Still cant believe that a four star hotel doesnt have a/c.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dafne07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Krems an der Donau
6.4 mi away
Loisium Wine & Spa Resort Langenlois
3.3 mi away
Gartenhotel & Weingut Pfeffel Durnstein
0.2 mi away
Arte Hotel Krems
Arte Hotel Krems
#3 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Zum Goldenen Engel
Hotel Zum Goldenen Engel
#2 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
119 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Schloss Duernstein
Hotel Schloss Duernstein
#3 of 4 in Durnstein
306 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Unter den Linden
Hotel Unter den Linden
#4 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel and Spa

Address: Am Goldberg 2 | 4 Sterne Superior Hotel, Krems an der Donau 3500, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Lower Austria > Krems an der Donau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Krems an der Donau
Price Range: $181 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Steigenberger Hotel and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on top of a hill overlooking Krems, Steigenberger Hotal and Spa is set in one of Austria's most beautiful regions. With its sun-kissed vineyards, gentle rolling landscapes, and relaxed, laid back culture, there could be no better location to switch off, relax and generally indulge. This country house hotel is a bit of a show off really. With a breath-taking location, four dining venues, an indoor and an outdoor pool, a sauna, a steam room and a beauty centre, it really does have it all. Guests can try a tipple or two on a wine-tasting excursion, walk in the beautiful countryside or simply take in the spectacular view from the hotel's panoramic terrace. The usage of Wifi is free of charge (up to 512 KB/s). High Speed Internet access up to 5MB/s available (fee). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing