We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serviceable rooms, good location”
Review of Parkhotel Krems

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Parkhotel Krems
Reviewed September 9, 2012

As with a previous reviewer, I stayed in this hotel on a bike tour on the Danube. After the previous hotels, Parkhotel was a letdown, as it lacks any character or charm. It's a fine hotel; the beds were comfortable, shower worked etc. It was, however, tired in appearance and nothing special.

Pros: the location is fantastic, very easy to access Stein and Krems for dinner, etc.

Cons: internet works only in the lobby, not in guestrooms; they book tour buses here, and the night I stayed it was a bus full of noisy students. Also, street noise in rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 47 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

Before my arrival, I'd emailed the hotel to explain there was a chance a friend might be meeting me, but would not know until the last minute, so they put me in a double and said they'd just charge for a single if I ended up being alone. I'm not sure if all the rooms were for 2 (my friend cold not make it - which I'd let them know, a few days before my arrival.) The room was nice, and fully equipped. The breakfast buffet was pretty extensive. While I did not use it, there was a bar in the lobby. I think there was a large tour group while I was there, so it was busy (although much older crowd than I wanted to hang out with.) The location is decent. It is about a 10 minute walk to the train/bus station, and there are other bus pick up stops close by. I also had about a 10-15 minute walk to the dock where the Danube boats depart from. It is also interesting because it is about the middle between the two old towns of Krems & Stein and museums and the few sites there are to see. Overall I'd consider it a fairly nice budget option.

While the staff was friendly, some were not at all knowledgeable about the area, or tourist things. They were also super busy when I really needed help getting details on getting to to Melk, so I missed my train, and lost about 2 hours - which I would have used to visit another town, and had to skip. Not a huge deal, but a bit frustrating.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank creativecitychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

What a disappointment. On a bike tour on Danube and was booked into this property after staying at many nice hotels. Has not been updated since the 60's. Beds are singles but are head to head and cannot be moved side to side. Beds were very uncomfortable. No AC or any air exchange except for an open window. Street noise was very loud - did not sleep well. Bathrooms very small. Strangley enough the hallways outside the rooms were very large?? Staff were surly to my wife and children but fine when I was around. Bikes were stored in a very dimly lit and dirty basement. In short please stay at another property.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chickydoo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Parkhotel is perfectly located at a walking distance from Krems' old city. Its roome are large enough and breakfast is quite correct.
Unfortunately, the hotel itself needs to be completely renovated : it is a testimony to 1970's hotel style and furniture, where nothing changed in the meantime.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pa05pou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

I stayed 5 nights. Wifi was a plus. Location is wonderful. 5 minutes to the train. 4 minutes to the city center. The breakfast is out of this world!! Hosts are extremely helpful. Price is right. Sauna and solarium. Clean, Quiet nice.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank troyer44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2007

i didn't give the hotel one star because i can't say it was "terrible," but it wasn't a very nice place, either. my husband and I just took a bike trip down the Danube River, and the bike tour company selected all the towns and hotels. it was supposed to be the "deluxe" package and many of the hotels (9 in all) were quite nice. My husband kept saying the Parkhotel was like a college dorm. the room, although fairly large, was ugly. all of the furnishings were cheap-looking and shoddy. We did have a view - off in the distance was a castle - but the up-close view was of the garbage cans in the back alley below.

the hotel did have an elevator, and the included breakfast was good. the bar/lobby where we had a drink was smoky.

krems wasn't a town i'd have picked to spend the night in. we didn't have much time to explore, but it seemed too big and crowded. we stayed in other, smaller towns in lovely hotels along the way.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gracey8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank didipewal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Krems an der Donau hotels
0.8 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel and Spa
Steigenberger Hotel and Spa
#1 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
1,305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Unter den Linden
Hotel Unter den Linden
#4 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alte Post
Alte Post
#8 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Zum Goldenen Engel
Hotel Zum Goldenen Engel
#2 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Gasthof Klinglhuber
Hotel & Gasthof Klinglhuber
#5 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arte Hotel Krems
Arte Hotel Krems
#3 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhotel Krems? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Krems

Address: Edmund-Hofbauer-Strasse 19, Krems an der Donau 3500, Austria
Location: Austria > Lower Austria > Krems an der Donau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Krems an der Donau
Price Range: $110 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parkhotel Krems 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Parkhotel Krems reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing