We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gartenhotel & Weingut Pfeffel Durnstein
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Durnstein
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The reception desk was very welcoming and helpful. The room was spacious and well furnished and the dining was very good.
The top floor, where clothes are not required, has saunas and an outdoor swimming pool.
We can recommend this hotel but it is somewhat expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veduta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gartenhotel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gartenhotel & Weingut Pfeffel Durnstein, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to write those friendly words.
We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us.

2010 was a year of building work in the Gartenhotel & Weingut Pfeffel Dürnstein. The ancient part of the hotel got completely renovated and the new main building got constructed.

The highlight is the large panoramic spa area on the top floor, with 5 saunas, a heated outdoor pool, a big sun terrace, and a stunning view over the danube valley.

Mostly all rooms of the Gartenhotel Pfeffel offer balconies and river view.
In our restaurant “Himmelsstiege” we are serving Austrian cuisine with international influences. Also many homegrown or produced foods, like herbs, honey, goat milk and eggs are handled in our dishes.

Wine from the own vineyard, which can also be tasted in the wine bar, is served as well.

We really hope we could welcome you some day again in our hotel and remain
With the best regards from the springlike Wachau valley
Yours Family Pfeffel and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 152 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed there for one night and everything is excellent. I would say this is like 5 stars hotel and i love it. Everything was excellent from staff over room to services and breakfast. I just warn backpackers, expect pay price for such excellency, thats only pity that is not overpriced but on high prices.Every room has view for Donau river.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Filip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gartenhotel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gartenhotel & Weingut Pfeffel Durnstein, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to write those friendly words.
We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us.

2010 was a year of building work in the Gartenhotel & Weingut Pfeffel Dürnstein. The ancient part of the hotel got completely renovated and the new main building got constructed.

The highlight is the large panoramic spa area on the top floor, with 5 saunas, a heated outdoor pool, a big sun terrace, and a stunning view over the danube valley.

Mostly all rooms of the Gartenhotel Pfeffel offer balconies and river view.
In our restaurant “Himmelsstiege” we are serving Austrian cuisine with international influences. Also many homegrown or produced foods, like herbs, honey, goat milk and eggs are handled in our dishes.

Wine from the own vineyard, which can also be tasted in the wine bar, is served as well.

We really hope we could welcome you some day again in our hotel and remain
With the best regards from the springlike Wachau valley
Yours Family Pfeffel and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

If you don't pay up extra but choose the somewhat cheaper rooms (which are still rather expensive) you get dumped in the old tract where rooms are darkish, smelly and a bit scabby---don't know about the other ones ("Genießerzimmer").
Most of the place looks onto the heavy-traffic Wachau road though some trees fence you off a little.
I rented an e-bike and had an serious accident (no information had been given about extremely powerful brakes by the hotel staff!) that put me into emergency, and their main reaction to my family who stayed on for another night was to [--] about the scratched bicycle. Two months later Ms. Pfeffel sent me bill for a "service visit" by their repair shop (€171) without much comment.
Well, they certainly won't see us again...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WernR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gartenhotel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gartenhotel & Weingut Pfeffel Durnstein, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2015

Dear Mr. WernR,

our rooms in the category „Federspiel“ are – like shown on our homepage – in the older part of our hotel. For this reason the price is lower than in the rooms of the new part of our house. The use of our 1200 qm Penthouse SPA is surely included as well as free parking place and breakfast from the buffet.

All rooms of our Gartenhotel Pfeffel are overlooking the Danube river and offers a fantastic view. In front of our house on the border of den Danube is the Wachau road situated – the street, where you could reach the Wachau valley, the villages and houses. It isn’t a busy street and not noisy at night, because it is mostly used by (day) tourists or locals.

If you rent our bicycles or e-bike you need to fill out a form and sign those, as a confirmation that you are able to ride a bike. So our bikes are only lend to people who already know how to ride a bike. The function of the brakes are, of course, flawless. After your accident, we picked up the bike and ordered the service to repair it and tested it to its functionality. This occasions costs money, which has to be paid by the perpetrator respectively his insurance.

We wish you all the best.

With the best regards
Family Pfeffel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

First time stay of two lovely nights and we will be back. Great, huge room in the Smargard class with panoramic view of the river and castle. Awesome rooftop spa with saunas, pool, relaxation room nice and warm for naps. Very good ala carte menu. Breakfast buffet terrific.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequent_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gartenhotel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gartenhotel & Weingut Pfeffel Durnstein, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to write those friendly words.
We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us.

2010 was a year of building work in the Gartenhotel & Weingut Pfeffel Dürnstein. The ancient part of the hotel got completely renovated and the new main building got constructed.

The highlight is the large panoramic spa area on the top floor, with 5 saunas, a heated outdoor pool, a big sun terrace, and a stunning view over the danube valley.

Mostly all rooms of the Gartenhotel Pfeffel offer balconies and river view.
In our restaurant “Himmelsstiege” we are serving Austrian cuisine with international influences. Also many homegrown or produced foods, like herbs, honey, goat milk and eggs are handled in our dishes.

Wine from the own vineyard, which can also be tasted in the wine bar, is served as well.

We really hope we could welcome you some day again in our hotel and remain
With the best regards from the springlike Wachau valley
Yours Family Pfeffel and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Fabulous place in the fantastic location! I would definitely rate this hotel as a four-star one. The rooms are spotless and very bright. We booked an upgraded room and the first room we were shown in was a three-level one. It was very modern and comfy, but the stairs are too specific a feature to fit all guests. The second room was a bit more in the classic style, but much more spacious. The view over the river was beautiful! There is a large parking space on the ground level and a terrific spa-center with four kinds of saunas and an outside swimming pool. The pool is heated, so you can swim all year round. However, it is a bit of an extreme experience to get out of the warm water when it is zero outside. The restaurant is really nice and worth going for dinner. Although the hotel is family-run the service is professional and very attentive to details. The only dissapointment were breakfasts.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elena076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gartenhotel, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gartenhotel & Weingut Pfeffel Durnstein, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to write those friendly words.
We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us.

2010 was a year of building work in the Gartenhotel & Weingut Pfeffel Dürnstein. The ancient part of the hotel got completely renovated and the new main building got constructed.

The highlight is the large panoramic spa area on the top floor, with 5 saunas, a heated outdoor pool, a big sun terrace, and a stunning view over the danube valley.

Mostly all rooms of the Gartenhotel Pfeffel offer balconies and river view.
In our restaurant “Himmelsstiege” we are serving Austrian cuisine with international influences. Also many homegrown or produced foods, like herbs, honey, goat milk and eggs are handled in our dishes.

Wine from the own vineyard, which can also be tasted in the wine bar, is served as well.

We really hope we could welcome you some day again in our hotel and remain
With the best regards from the springlike Wachau valley
Yours Family Pfeffel and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

This is in a beautiful area, only 5 minutes walk outside Durnstein, so perfect for seeing the very pretty village after the majority of tourists have gone.

Quite a big hotel, so it was a bit of a walk to our room on the edge. Lots of recommendations for things to do, wine tasting, walking tours, pre-breakfast tai chi on the terrace etc

Excellent breakfast with just about everything you could imagine available on the buffet. The restaurant, though, was overpriced, so we only ate there one night, preferring the local heuriger just down the road.some waiters are trained that way!

Staff were mostly very nice and polite, with the odd slightly snooty man. Maybe

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrKemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gartenhotel, Marketing & Sales at Gartenhotel & Weingut Pfeffel Durnstein, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

Dear MrKemp,

thank you for your assessment. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We are endeavors to give every guest the right recommondation for activities in his holidays.
Our breakfast buffet with self-produced products is very popular with our guests.

We are looking forward to welcome you again.
Yours sincerely,
Fam. Pfeffel
& the Gartenhotel-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Very beautiful hotel, friendly staff, spacious rooms with beautiful views. The place was a little quite and children did not seem very welcome...though the staff was very helpful and sweet towards them. The best part was fruit laden trees in their gardens which the kids really enjoyed. We did not get a chance to experience their spa, but it seemed to be very nice. Would love to go back there without kids.

Room Tip: Rooms have open bathrooms, so not very convinient if you are sharing a room with your children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbuffMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gartenhotel, Marketing & Sales at Gartenhotel & Weingut Pfeffel Durnstein, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2011

Dear travelbuffMumbai,

Thank you for your rating. The entire garden hotel team was happy about your kind words. We are sorry if the impression should be released, that children are not welcome. Our hotel offers up a more extensive recreational program for adults. We look forward to your visit. Next time, hopefully you can spend an extended stay in our spa area.

Best regards,
Fam Pfeffel
& The Garden hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durnstein
0.8 mi away
Hotel Schloss Duernstein
Hotel Schloss Duernstein
#3 of 4 in Durnstein
305 reviews
3.3 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel and Spa
Steigenberger Hotel and Spa
#1 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
1,305 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Richard Loewenherz
Hotel Richard Loewenherz
#1 of 4 in Durnstein
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Loisium Wine & Spa Resort Langenlois
3.8 mi away
Hotel Unter den Linden
Hotel Unter den Linden
#4 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
107 reviews
3.4 mi away
Arte Hotel Krems
Arte Hotel Krems
#3 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gartenhotel & Weingut Pfeffel Durnstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gartenhotel & Weingut Pfeffel Durnstein

Address: Zur Himmelsstiege 122 | 3601 Durnstein, Durnstein 3601, Austria
Location: Austria > Lower Austria > Durnstein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Durnstein
Price Range: $172 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gartenhotel & Weingut Pfeffel Durnstein 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gartenhotel & Winery Pfeffel in Durnstein. Your hotel between vineyards and the Danube in the very heart of the Wachau valley! The steep mountain terraces at which in the autumn the golden Riesling gleams, the picturesque beautiful Danube, on which the ships find their way through the Wachau valley and the hidden small villages with its numerous "Heurigen" invite you to spend more time in this fantastic landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, seekda GmbH, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Gartenhotel & Weingut Pfeffel Durnstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing