We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveler rating
94
47
17
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
47
17
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews danube river wachau valley beautiful grounds hotel is located expected a bit more former monastery small town large pool fabulous hotel stayed two nights romantic setting pedestrian area apricot dumplings the hotel staff wonderful view outdoor terrace stayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 165 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2018 via mobile

Stately hotel filled with heritage antiques and helpful employees.
Food on the outdoor terrace overlooking the Danube was fabulous.
Would recommend at any time.
Enjoyed the gardens and quiet evenings in Durnstein.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Dawna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardLowenherz, Inhaber at Hotel Richard Loewenherz, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2018

Dear Dawna H,

Thank you very much for taking you time to write a comment on our hotel.

With great pleasure we read that you enjoyed your stay and the dinner on our Danube terrace that much!

Thanks for your recommendation!

Maybe you will return some time!

With kind regards,

Franziska Thiery & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile

Got a room the same day in this old castle hotel with a real castle style! We enjoyed it and would come back. They even opened the breakfast 0700 for us, very good service and a nice breakfast buffet. Nice garden and really good atmosphere

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ørjan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardLowenherz, Inhaber at Hotel Richard Loewenherz, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2017

Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you very much for your nice review about our hotel.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us that much and would be glad to welcoming you another time again here at Dürnstein!

Many thanks and kind regards,

Franziska Thiery & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017

Location was great, and from the website it looked like a fabulous hotel. We called and emailed in advance to find out if we could bring our dog with us. Despite being warmly advised it was no problem at all - we got a different welcome at reception. On entering the reception the lady was quite grumpy with us, and I felt uncomfortable that we had bought the dog with us. If they are not a dog friendly hotel they should have said so, instead of taking our booking. The dog was also not allowed anywhere in the grounds.

The room was nice but not stunning, not spotlessly clean, and could probably do with some small renovations / lick of paint. There was no air con and no fridge - amenities that I am sorry to say I have got used to when staying in a hotel (especially a 4 star hotel). The view out to the Danube was very pretty, and the location was fantastic for walking around the town. Staff were all friendly and both the breakfast and dinner were good.

The bed was extremely old and uncomfortable. Moving just an inch made awful creaking noises, so not exactly what I would call a romantic setting :).

Room Tip: Ask for a view to the Danube
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritinWien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardLowenherz, Inhaber at Hotel Richard Loewenherz, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2017

Dear Britin Wien,

Thank you very much for your time to write a comment on our hotel.
We are very sorry that your stay at our hotel was such a disappointment for you! Dogs are welcome in our hotel but they are not allowed at breakfast (because of the food on the buffet) and in the cloister garden (because of relaxation). We give this information in the confirmation and also on our homepage. We are sorry that you did not realise this before your arrival. Nevertheless the walking path next to the Danube is just 1 staircase away from the hotel entrance...
The hotel offers no air conditioning because the thick walls from the historic part do not allow the installation of one. We are sorry of this fact...

We again apologise for yoru disappointment and send you our best regards from Dürnstein,

Franziska Thiery & team
It is true, that we do not offer a minibar in the room. Although you can order drinks to your room or in the rose garden to the pool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017 via mobile

Wonderful location next to the Danube and in the little town of Durnstein. The room we stayed in was a twin standard room. It was large, even including a couch & 2 chairs. It was very quiet and clean. The shower was good and the bed 'OK' if very low to the floor, not awful just a little awkward.
We ate in the on site Restaurant, the service was attentive and friendly & the food delicious.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
Thank CellophaneSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardLowenherz, Inhaber at Hotel Richard Loewenherz, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2017

Dear CellophaneSister,

Many thanks for your review about our hotel. We appreciate it very much and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in the cultural world heritage Wachau!

Perhaps you will return another time to Dürnstein...
With kind regards,
Franziska Thiery & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017

For that high price I could have expected a bit more.
The hotel is in the middle of the city and if you want to come with the car you have to drive through the narrow street with all the pedestrians and cyclist.
Also the parking place, which they have several , are not meant for the larger cars.
Especially the places inside the court yards
We were nicely greeted , got our room before check in time . The room was quite large for a standard room but the interior in the sleeping room still remains from the 80ties.
The bathroom seems to be quite recently updated which was nice except for their ventilation system which is set to run the whole day. Normally such system is directly connected with the light switch or works according to the humidity. So any rest during the day was noisy.
There is a large pool in the garden, which taunted us to book the hotel but it was a bit too cold to swim
We had our lunch in the restaurant , which was more on the expensive side.
The main courses tasted great but the apricot dumplings , the famous dish in the Wachau, didn't taste up to the standard. The dough was not properly done and not cooked well . We got much better dumplings in the area and not get charged 12 !! Euros per portion.
Also as we didn't order any wine the waiter seemed to lost interest in serving us.
I wanted to give the hotel 3* , my friend 4* so we gave it a total of 4 then.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HuSanNiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardLowenherz, Inhaber at Hotel Richard Loewenherz, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2017

Dear HuSanNiang,

Many thanks for your time to write a review about our hotel. We are sorry that you habe been disappointed about your stay in our hotel.
The parking situation in Dürnstein is difficult - but we are offering parking spaces for our hotel guests in our 2 court yards. The location direct in the inner city of Dürnstein means you have to drive through the small street. Although there is also the possibilty to park the car outside the city and walk the rest of the way (5 minutes walk).
We apologise for the lake of quality of the meal in the restaurant.

We thank you for your reclamation to improve our qualtiy and send you all our best wishes from Dürnstein,

Franziska Thiery & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews