We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location in Durnstein”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Richard Loewenherz
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Durnstein
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in June 2013. This hotel is located within the city walls of Durnstein, a tiny town along the Danube. The hotel offers free parking. There really is no other parking within the city walls, so this is a plus if you will be arriving by car. You can walk everywhere from the hotel, so there is no need for a car once you get there. The restaurant at the hotel is very good and has a nice view of the Danube from the outside seating area. Breakfast was wonderful with a full array of meats, cheeses, eggs, sausage, cereals, fruits, breads, pastries, etc. There is a large garden on one side of the hotel, which backs up to an old convent and has a good view of the river. There is also a large outdoor pool at one end of the garden. Our room was very large and quiet, with a modern bathroom and safe. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GailCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardLowenherz, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Richard Loewenherz, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Gail,

Many thanks for this great comment! We appreciate to read such a good report about our hotel and are very proud that you enjoyed to stay with us - that's what we are working for ;))

Many thanks and have a good time & maybe we will be able to weloming you again!

All the best for you!
Franziska Thiery & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 152 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

It was a hote day in June and with no airconditioning, sitting in a cool place was our priority.
The restaurant in the hotel overlooks the Danube river and it was just a pleasure.
The food was excellent, we ordered a lots of different salads and soups and shared them all.
You have to park the car at the bottom of the hill and climb quite a lot of stairs but when you come out of the stairwell they have lovely shops and it wasn't too bad.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardLowenherz, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Richard Loewenherz, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Karen,

Many thanks for that great comment! With great pleasure we read that you enjoyed your stay at our restaurant in the shadow of the chestnut trees and the view over the river!

We are very proud that you appreciated our food and location and are looking forward to welcoming you again some time here at Dürnstein!

Many thanks and kind regards from the cultural world heritage Wachau,

Franziska Thiery & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

great surrounding, stunning garden & view,
old fashioned, but spacious, spotless rooms; no insect screens on windows, no repellents for hot and humid nights, no dimming curtains
bathrooms not up to date
fantastic breakfast, unfortunately indoors only

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Stoisser M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardLowenherz, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Richard Loewenherz, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Mr or Mrs Stoisser,

Many thanks for your time to make a comment on our Hotel.
We are very glad that you enjoyed the wonderful landscape of the Wachau valley and Dürnstein and our quiet rose gardens.
We apologize that you have not been satisfied with your room. Because of the Austrian climate we do not have an air conditioning. It's only a few days during summer when it's really hot. But we offer fans in the rooms instead.
With great pleasure we read that you enjoyed your breakfast very much. Because of the historic building it is not possible to offer breakfast on the terracce.

We hope to welcoming you again some day and remain withour best wishes from the sunny Wachau valley,

Franziska Thiery & tem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a perfect place for someone who needs to be in a beautiful, charming, calm place to relax from a hectic city lifestyle. They have a beautiful garden that one may enjoy while reading or napping, the swimming pool is also nice. The breakfast buffet was also really nice, lots of choices.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardLowenherz, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Richard Loewenherz, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Sir or Madam!

Thank you for your great comment on our hotel! We are very proud that you enjoyed your stay with us that much! That's what we are working for!

We would be lucky to welcoming you here at Dürnstein some time again and remain

with our best wishes from the Wachau valley,

Franziska Thiery & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just spent a wonderful day and night in Durnstein and Hotel Richard Loewenherz. The Hotel itself was top-onotch with comfortable living spaces and an attentive staff. Do not be put-off by comments about narrow streets and crowds; you only have to drive about 200 yards through the town to get to the Hotel and it really was not a problem. We chose to eat at the hotel restaurant and it was a treat. We confess to being "foodies" and always seek out the best dining spots. Hotel Loewenherz ranks among the best. Outstanding, creative cuisine, great presentations and exceptional service made for a wonderful experience. If you have time, hike up to the castle ruins which have very good historical explanations (in English) which enhances the hike. From the castle you get a great view of Durnstein and the Danube River. The Wachau Valley is a beautiful region, filled with quaint towns, historic castles and wonderful vineyards. Take time to visit and when you do check out Hotel Loewenherz, you will enjoy the experience!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank steveblom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardLowenherz, Inhaber at Hotel Richard Loewenherz, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Steveblom,

Many thanks for taking you time for this great comment on our hotel! With pleasure we have read the things you have enjoyed at our host. We are very proud of the historical things you visited and enjoyed in the Wachau valley!

We are looking forward to welcoming you again some time here at Dürnstein
and send you sunny wishes from the Wachau!

Franziska Thiery & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is simply the best hotel you can dream about. The Richard Loewenherz is my favourite hotel.
It has everything: charming location in a spectacular site (Duernstein is a lovely medieval village alongside the Danube, surrounded by wineyards and green hills). The hotel is magic, it has outstanding facilities, it offers very good food and wines (the region is famous for good wines), and excellent quality service.
The hotel is located in the heart of the historic village. It is very peaceful. The rooms are perfect, some with a view over the Danube and the hills, others are directly on the beautiful garden full of flowers. In the garden there is a really nice swimming pool. When you swim you can see on the top of the hill the castle where Richard Lionheart used to be. Whilst the hotel has the charm of an old abbey- which brings something very special and romantic - it is extremely well maintained. One can tell that this is a family property as the owner care for every little detail. If you want to enjoy nice moments just an hour away from Vienna, you should definitely have a stay here. We love it so much that we always come back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NonbidingComment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardLowenherz, Inhaber at Hotel Richard Loewenherz, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dir Sir or Madam!

Many thanks for this fantastic comment on our hotel! What should we say expect THANK YOU!
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us sooooo much and we appriciate to receive such a Review! That's what we are working for!

We would be glad to welcoming you again here at Dürnstein and send you our best wishes from the sunny Wachau valley!

All the best! Franziska Thiery & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Well located in Durnstein - full of character - pleasant large rooms. We relished the pool after a hot morning of cycling. Good bike storage in secure garage. Pleasant and helpfull staff. Be early and book your table at balcony edge in the hotel restaurant - beautiful meal and excellent friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldCardCyclists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardLowenherz, Inhaber at Hotel Richard Loewenherz, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear Gold Card Cyclists,

Thank you very much for taking you time to comment on our hotel! We are very proud, that you enjoyed your stay with us - that's what we are working for!
We are happy that your stay was so relaxing and we are hoping to welcoming you again here at Dürnstein some time again!

With our best wishes from the Wachau valley,

Franziska Thiery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durnstein
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schloss Duernstein
Hotel Schloss Duernstein
#3 of 4 in Durnstein
305 reviews
3 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel and Spa
Steigenberger Hotel and Spa
#1 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
1,374 reviews
1 mi away
Gartenhotel & Weingut Pfeffel Durnstein
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Loisium Wine & Spa Resort Langenlois
3.1 mi away
Arte Hotel Krems
Arte Hotel Krems
#4 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
163 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Zum Goldenen Engel
Hotel Zum Goldenen Engel
#2 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Richard Loewenherz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Richard Loewenherz

Address: Duernstein 8, Durnstein 3601, Austria
Location: Austria > Lower Austria > Durnstein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Durnstein
Price Range: $200 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Richard Loewenherz 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Medieval convent walls of a former convent surround the property, art works of the region, fill it, and the incomparable site does the rest to lend this spot its inimitable character. Serenity and repose are everywhere you look, be it at the open fireplace, in the romantic terraced restaurant overlooking the Danube or the spacious, dreamlike convent gardens, which now play host to an idyllic heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Richard Loewenherz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Richard Lowenherz dürnstein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing