We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Richard Loewenherz
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Durnstein
Certificate of Excellence
Geneseo
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This hotel has the most wonderful view of the Danube. It's quiet and peaceful with very good service. We chose a deluxe room overlooking the river with a wonderful view of the vineyards on the other bank. The rooms were quite expensive, but we all thought it was value for money.

The only criticism is the wifi. The speed is slow and it didn't even work in our room On the other hand they provided an ethernet cable with a direct connection that was blazingly fast.

The breakfast has everything you could possibly wish for.

We shall return.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Danube
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geneseeperks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardLowenherz, Inhaber at Hotel Richard Loewenherz, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Geneseeperks ,

We thank you very much for your comment on our hotel Richard Löwenherz. With great pleasure we have read, that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially the Danube and the Wachau valley! We are very sorry, that our wireless internet connection was that slow, because we have spent a lot of time this year in spring to optimise it - but we will check it again - so we can get it faster. We would be glad to welcoming you here in the sunny Wachau valley again in the future and wish you all the best! Franziska Thiey & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    41
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
20
85
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

this is a 700 year old convent. The rooms are beautiful with a view of the Danube. It has an incredible pool outside with a view of Durnstein Castle. the hotel is excellent and I would recommend it to anyone. Great location for walking and shopping. The staff speak English and are very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veronika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardLowenherz, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Richard Loewenherz, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear Veronika,

Many thanks for taking you time to comment our hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your vacancy with us and that you relaxed in our rose garden with the heated swimming pool. Many thanks for your recommendation and we would be glad to welcoming you another time here at the historic town of Dürnstein! With sunny greetings from the Wachau valley, Franziska Thiery & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The hotel is in a beautiful setting on the banks of the Donau in Austrian wine country. It has all of the amenities of a five star (its listed as a four star), but it has the romantic comfort of a boutique. The garden was in full bloom (June) and the swimming pool was clean and crisp. A totally wonderful experience that we will make again. The only drawback is no airconditioning in the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank General_Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Richard Loewenherz, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear "General-Ron",

Many thanks for taking you time to give a comment on our hotel! We are very lucky, that you enjoyed your stay at our historic house and our rose garden with the heated pool. We are sorry that you missed an air-conditioning, but in the Wachau only a few days during the whole year the weather is so hot for an air-conditioning. Alternate we have fans to offer at the reception.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again here at the cultural world heritage Wachau and send you in the meantime our best wishes! Franziska Thiery & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

I actually stayed here quite a few years ago, but was researching wine tours and one came up under Trip Advisor for the Wachau Valley. Nostalgia with such great emotion hit me, I had to write a review. We were on one of our whirlwind vacations and found ourselves in Budapest completely exhausted. We did not have the energy to keep up out rigorous pace, cancelled all of our plans and booked a couple of nights at this hotel. We ended up staying a week! The Wachau Valley is beautiful, it is majestic! The Richard Lowenherz is the perfect lodging to compliment it's perfection. We did our own wine tour, but would have loved to have done the bicylcle tour had it not been for my 9month old hitchhiker. We hiked the ruins, took lots of time exploring the sites along the river while not forgetting to take plenty of time to relax by the pool at the hotel. The Richard Lowenherz had a great breakfast and the valley itself only has the best to offer in any other dining choices. Definitely a place I will return with the rest of my kids someday.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKScottTalent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

the hotel looks nicer than the amenities suggest. The internet did not work in anyone's room, the TV is a ridiculous 13" one. Breakfast was good. Free easy parking. A bit overpriced for what you get I think. but a charming little town. Restaurant not worth it. Overpriced for the quality of the food.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We spent three nights in this historic hotel. Our room faced the Danube, which was its highlight. That apart, all else was average - tired furnishings, tiny (and I mean tiny) bathroom - couldn't get a cat in to swing it (!!), grumpy service and less than exciting menus. The hotel was clearly in cashflow mode - saving for an upgrade or sale. Pool was great after a day touring.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timothy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Wifi was not working but was allowed to use their laptop. Waiter at restaurant appeared a little cold towards us. An outside vendor tried to sell flowers to the diners and the waiters left them alone. Dinner was nice, a little expensive as portions were small There were bathrobes in the room. The ventilation in the room toilet was poor.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Usagiae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durnstein
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schloss Duernstein
Hotel Schloss Duernstein
#2 of 4 in Durnstein
291 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gartenhotel & Weingut Pfeffel Durnstein
3.1 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel and Spa
Steigenberger Hotel and Spa
#1 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Loisium Wine & Spa Resort Langenlois
14.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant zur Post
4.4 mi away
Hotel Zum Goldenen Engel
Hotel Zum Goldenen Engel
#2 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Richard Loewenherz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Richard Loewenherz

Property: Hotel Richard Loewenherz
Address: Duernstein 8, Durnstein 3601, Austria
Location: Austria > Lower Austria > Durnstein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Durnstein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Richard Loewenherz 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Medieval convent walls of a former convent surround the property, art works of the region, fill it, and the incomparable site does the rest to lend this spot its inimitable character. Serenity and repose are everywhere you look, be it at the open fireplace, in the romantic terraced restaurant overlooking the Danube or the spacious, dreamlike convent gardens, which now play host to an idyllic heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HRS, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Richard Loewenherz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Richard Lowenherz dürnstein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing