We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Romance!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Richard Loewenherz
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Durnstein
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The hotel is in a beautiful setting on the banks of the Donau in Austrian wine country. It has all of the amenities of a five star (its listed as a four star), but it has the romantic comfort of a boutique. The garden was in full bloom (June) and the swimming pool was clean and crisp. A totally wonderful experience that we will make again. The only drawback is no airconditioning in the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank General_Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Dear "General-Ron",

Many thanks for taking you time to give a comment on our hotel! We are very lucky, that you enjoyed your stay at our historic house and our rose garden with the heated pool. We are sorry that you missed an air-conditioning, but in the Wachau only a few days during the whole year the weather is so hot for an air-conditioning. Alternate we have fans to offer at the reception.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again here at the cultural world heritage Wachau and send you in the meantime our best wishes! Franziska Thiery & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 152 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2011

I actually stayed here quite a few years ago, but was researching wine tours and one came up under Trip Advisor for the Wachau Valley. Nostalgia with such great emotion hit me, I had to write a review. We were on one of our whirlwind vacations and found ourselves in Budapest completely exhausted. We did not have the energy to keep up out rigorous pace, cancelled all of our plans and booked a couple of nights at this hotel. We ended up staying a week! The Wachau Valley is beautiful, it is majestic! The Richard Lowenherz is the perfect lodging to compliment it's perfection. We did our own wine tour, but would have loved to have done the bicylcle tour had it not been for my 9month old hitchhiker. We hiked the ruins, took lots of time exploring the sites along the river while not forgetting to take plenty of time to relax by the pool at the hotel. The Richard Lowenherz had a great breakfast and the valley itself only has the best to offer in any other dining choices. Definitely a place I will return with the rest of my kids someday.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKScottTalent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

the hotel looks nicer than the amenities suggest. The internet did not work in anyone's room, the TV is a ridiculous 13" one. Breakfast was good. Free easy parking. A bit overpriced for what you get I think. but a charming little town. Restaurant not worth it. Overpriced for the quality of the food.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We spent three nights in this historic hotel. Our room faced the Danube, which was its highlight. That apart, all else was average - tired furnishings, tiny (and I mean tiny) bathroom - couldn't get a cat in to swing it (!!), grumpy service and less than exciting menus. The hotel was clearly in cashflow mode - saving for an upgrade or sale. Pool was great after a day touring.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timothy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Wifi was not working but was allowed to use their laptop. Waiter at restaurant appeared a little cold towards us. An outside vendor tried to sell flowers to the diners and the waiters left them alone. Dinner was nice, a little expensive as portions were small There were bathrobes in the room. The ventilation in the room toilet was poor.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Usagiae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

I had a memorable 2-night stay at this elegant hotel and will definitely be back. The hotel is built around an old cloister, parts of which originate in the 13th century. The building is large with halls filled with antique armoires, console tables, and interesting religious prints, paintings, and statues. My room was large with a nice furniture set and cabled complimentary Internet (get an ethernet cable and username at the desk). Bathrobes, slippers, pool towels, and complimentary mineral water are provided. The bathroom was sparkling clean with a long European bathtub. My one criticism is that the toiletries were rather sparse – no conditioner or body lotion.

The real draw of the hotel is the location on a bluff overlooking the Danube, and the very private pool and large garden that are within the original high cloister walls. You feel like you are in your own private meditation space with birds, flowers, and many benches to choose from to spend a few hours with a novel or sketchbook. My dinner on the terrace overlooking the Danube was one of the most memorable I’ve had in five years in Austria. The breakfast buffet, served in a delightful indoor dining room with an impressive rustic metal chandelier, was equally elegant. The feel is similar to the paradores of Spain and pousadas in Portugal. Service was great. They let me check in early; I booked the half-board and reserved my dinner table around 1 pm, and (even as a single female traveler) was given an excellent table both nights.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollyberry57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Of course there's the castle Durnstein up on the hill; there's the blue church next door, there's the Danube below -wait is that Andre Rieu floating by??? This is a stunning example of wat is special and beautiful about Austria. You will find everything in the hotel delightful and the surrounds are just gorgeous. Don't let the locals fool you though about how easy the walk is up to the Schloss; it's tough and steep unless you're a Canadian used to hiking. I'm pretty fit but it was a good work out! The whole town is like a movie set for a fairytale. You should also know that the town is famous for Apricots and that Jam in German is Marmelade. All delicious! The Wachau wines are also lovely - try the Rieslings! Absolutely beautiful!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiraBeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durnstein
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schloss Duernstein
Hotel Schloss Duernstein
#3 of 4 in Durnstein
306 reviews
3 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel and Spa
Steigenberger Hotel and Spa
#1 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
1,381 reviews
1 mi away
Gartenhotel & Weingut Pfeffel Durnstein
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Loisium Wine & Spa Resort Langenlois
3.1 mi away
Arte Hotel Krems
Arte Hotel Krems
#4 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
163 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Zum Goldenen Engel
Hotel Zum Goldenen Engel
#2 of 8 in Krems an der Donau
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Richard Loewenherz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Richard Loewenherz

Address: Duernstein 8, Durnstein 3601, Austria
Location: Austria > Lower Austria > Durnstein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Durnstein
Price Range: $188 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Richard Loewenherz 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Medieval convent walls of a former convent surround the property, art works of the region, fill it, and the incomparable site does the rest to lend this spot its inimitable character. Serenity and repose are everywhere you look, be it at the open fireplace, in the romantic terraced restaurant overlooking the Danube or the spacious, dreamlike convent gardens, which now play host to an idyllic heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Richard Loewenherz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Richard Lowenherz dürnstein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing