We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't have time to Hike”

Burgruine Duernstein
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.08*
and up
Wachau Valley Winery Small-Group Bike Tour from Vienna
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Durnstein
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Castle Kuernriger (Schloß Kürnriger) is the main attraction of Durnstein (Dürnstein). It is the ruins of the castle in which Richard Leoncoeur, King of England was held prisoner for a year while returning from a Crusade. The ransom was used by the Duke of Babenberg to build the city walls of Vienna. This is a popular historical attraction especially for British people.
Liverpool, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
630 reviews
262 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Didn't have time to Hike”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We were late arriving in Durnstein due to the locks we did enjoy the view of the castle as we traveled down the Danube, then as night fell it was cool to see the castle lit at night.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SheriBobLove2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    81
    19
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Fun to wander and climb around”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is a pretty col place to visit. The climb up is no big deal if you have a reasonable level of fitness and the views are well worth it. We went up the steeper way and came back down the more gentle way. The ruins are extensive and great fun to climb over, giving all sorts of interesting photo opportunities. We had lots of fun up there and came down as the light was fading to enjoy a stroll through the very pretty, and very apricot themed village. It was a great stop off on our way to Vienna.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank EmeraldDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossett
Level 6 Contributor
912 reviews
392 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“So glad our river cruise stopped here”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

How unbelievable a view from the Danube is this castle! While we did not take the hike to the top, we so enjoyed watching this historic castle as it moved in and out of the clouds! What a treat to walk where Richard the Lionheart had strolled as we was held captive here for months following his capture during the crusades. This quaint village is steeped in history, culture and tradition. Don't miss the apricot liquer.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gran7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
449 reviews
263 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
“Just as memorable viewing it from Dürnstein”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

You can see the castle from the city or the river. You don't have to hike up to it to enjoy the view of the surrounding area, although I'd love to do it one day. We couldn't because my mother is in her 80's, and is unable to make that kind of climb. The castle is the most popular attraction, but it's not the only attraction in Dürnstein. There are many options for those who can't make the climb.

We opted to stay in the city to sample the baked goods, wines, and apricot liquors that they are famous for. If you love wine, you may want to stop at the Vinothek shop to sample or purchase some of the well-known wines of the Domäne Wachau. Honestly, the village should be it's own attraction. It was worth the stop along the Danube just to walk through this beautiful village, and to soak in the culture.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KarenV87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, PEI
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
195 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“A bit of effort but worth the effort”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Visited Durnstein for a very short stop on a Danube river cruise with Gate1. The "Richard the Lionheart" castle was an uphill climb but worth it for the views. The town itself is surrounded by vineyards and is very charming, easy to entertain yourself just wandering the streets. At the very end of the main street is the Hotel Schloss with ties to Princess Diana. Across the street from the hotel is a liquor store featuring Wachau specialities. There were several other shops selling various rose, plum, apricot liquors along the main street, however I found this one had the best selection.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyCanadian13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burgruine Duernstein also viewed

Durnstein, Lower Austria
Melk, Lower Austria
 
Joching, Lower Austria
Durnstein, Lower Austria
 

Been to Burgruine Duernstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing