We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Setting with Typical Austrian Food”
Review of Loibnerhof

Loibnerhof
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Durnstein
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Loibnerhof is the longstanding classic pillar of restaurants in the Wachau. For decades, it has enjoyed cult status for its outstanding regional cuisine.
Flanders
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Magnificent Setting with Typical Austrian Food”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is the place we return to again and again in the summer. The outdoor area, set in an apple orchard, is quite spectacular and the children´s play area in the garden allows parents with young children to linger over their meal in peace.

The food is very good, classic Austrian dishes presented with a lighter touch than in your typical Austrian restaurant.

I don´t order a 3 course meal with wine here - the bill might take the shine off the experience - but the setting on a summer´s day is truely memorable. There is a covered balcony area if the sun doesn´t shine, but we have never had to sit there.

Very popular with locals, tourists, couples, and business people alike.

Definitely ask if there is a menu available in English or for assistance with the menu.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OnMyBike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    34
    23
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Peniche, Portugal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A taste of the Wachau”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I was there for a family lunch May 2012 and was worth the trip despite a slightly over priced feeling. The area alone is worth visiting, being a Portuguese it does remind of the Douro region and being able to enjoy the wines from this area would be enough excuse to go. We sat on the garden tables and could enjoy the wonderful weather but my seat (long wooden) was not exactly what my back needed, those seats could be much better. Service was friendly and professional, positive remarks on that. I started with a smoked trout, then a very well cooked lamb for the main course. The best was the wine, we stayed with the Knoll choices, a Gelber Muskateller to start with, great, an average Riesling with the starter, and for an average wine it was very good. A Riesling Smaragd to finish was the highlight. The last wine is an example of the best of what Wachau as to offer.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CentralPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic garden restaurant.”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

As a group of seven we enjoyed a very pleasant lunch at this restaurant. The tables are set in amongst trees in a wonderful garden setting. The Danube is close, but not seen from the Restaurant. The food was good without being spectacular. The wine was excellent. A full lunch with a number of bottles of wine for seven adults was 390 euro, which we thought excellent value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mcb42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Friendly, good but not great food. A bit overprised”
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Classic cuisine of the area. The menu was a bit overwhelming to start but then the waiter/guest assisted. Interesting and tasty menu. The wine, which was locally produced was rather expensive. There is a nice garden but the weather was not suitable to sit outside when we visited. Some reviews mention an extra charge for bread. We did not experience this on our bill.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank InformedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“most expensive bread basket ever”
Reviewed October 7, 2009

Our family of five recently had lunch here.The setting is beautiful, with apple trees and the Danube just across the road. The food was good (and very pricey). The service was bad. We waited a long time and it was hard to get the attention of the waitress. We noticed she laughed and talked to the Austrian customers but was perfunctory when serving us. We waited and waited for our food and finally ordered a basket of bread for 3 euros, which came with five exact pats of butter and a dollop of herbed cream dip. After over an hour of waiting for our meal with no explanation, we cornered the waitress, who had not approached our table since delivering the bread, and she said she'd check. About ten minutes later our food arrived. Everything was tasty, the duck, the chicken with mushrooms, the butter schnitzel, but we were horrified by the bill. We were charged 3 euros EACH for the bread basket. So, 15 euros ($22) for bread and butter for the table! Not worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janehudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loibnerhof also viewed

Mautern an der Donau, Lower Austria
Durnstein, Lower Austria
 
Durnstein, Lower Austria
Krems an der Donau, Lower Austria
 

Been to Loibnerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing