We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Definitely not a 4 star!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SENTIDO Sandy Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SENTIDO Sandy Beach
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pyla
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Definitely not a 4 star!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We booked through booking.com for a superior room for just under a week requesting late check out, and even though we received a confirmation request for acceptance via email, and I contacted customer services before travelling and reminded them at check in, they never sent the updated confirmation on their side and clearly didnt update their system so they called us on the last day (well past normal check out time) to ask us what we were doing!!!

The hotel common areas have recently been redecorated but all the materials and furniture used are low quality and cheap. A lot of items are from Ikea, which can be nice, but not what you expect in a 4 star.

The room we were in was the same size as all the others and I fail to see what was "superior" about it apart from the price. The room itself had been renovated but was obviously unfinished. There was no light in the wardrobe where the hole was, and no other light to help see inside the wardrobe or corridor.

There was also only one free socket in the entire room (the other one being used for the small TV screen) which is hardly enough if you need to plug in more than one phone, and since the room key has to be in the slot to have electricity, we had to take turns to use the socket and recharge.

The bathroom itself probably dates back to the 1960s or whenever the building dates back to, and has never been redone. Not only was it small, the tiles looked dirty and were cracked, the vent was not properly inset and had mould marks all the way around it. Also, in terms of towel racks and space for toiletries it was less than functional. I would expect this kind of bathroom in a good 2 star/ low 3 star category.

The wifi in the common area was so bad we ended up using the wifi around the pool area from the neighbouring hotels. It was so unstable and often inaccessible in the common area, we decided against spending 10 extra Euros per 24 hours for the privilege of inroom wifi.

The breakfast buffet was good, even if it lacked any of the Cyprus specialities like Baklavas or their own fruit. We never tried the restaurant, opting to walk outside to one of the many great traditional taverns in the area.

The pools were nice but the beach is definitely not sandy. I would use the word "muddy" to more clearly describe what it looked like. Small, overcrowded with deck chairs to the point it was impossible to walk if not inside the water itself, the volcanic, dark, compact beach is not the best in Cyprus or even in the area. Along the coast a few hundred meters along is a much nicer stretch of sandy (volcanic) beach and mediterranean sea.

The deck chairs around the pools and beach could also do with an upgrade. They were small, covered with plastic covered mattresses which didnt seem to be cleaned every day.

Finally, this hotel needs to do a check on the quality of the information they provide and especially how this information is provided. It is not clear what timings the various bars and facilities have, what they offer, and often the staff does not have good enough English to understand and take orders.

Also, the much publicised sports activities were ridiculous and obviously only listed as a marketing ploy and possibly to get the 4 star rating it clearly doesnt have.

We were disappointed with the overall facilities with this hotel. The holiday was saved by the fact that the bed itself was comfortable and we were so close to good restaurants and in front of the bus stop to go to Larnaka and onto other parts of the island from there. Was it not for this, we probably would have moved to another hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be the same size and all have only a side view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dxbtraveller_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations-SBH, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Sandy Beach, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Dxbtraveller_13,
Your review and personal thoughts regarding your recent stay with us are most appreciated and welcome. It is without a doubt very valuable to have our guests' point of view, so we can resolve all matters and ensure a comfortable stay for everyone. I am sorry to read you were unsatisfied during your stay at our premises. Had we received any of these issues during your stay we would have had the opportunity to make amends and ensure a comfortable stay. All your points and comments will be taken very seriously and acted upon.
Once again, thank you for your notes and for choosing the SENTIDO Sandy Beach during your visit to Cyprus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    373
    90
    31
    21
See reviews for
280
428
44
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kfar Saba, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The hotel is not far from airport. clean room. breakfast is good and included few selections. helpful stuff. pool is very nice and clean. the beach is one min. far from the hotel.
free wifi available only at the lobby and you have to pay for using in the room.
Overall, nice hotel to stay for few days (we stayed for five days) for good rest and sun bathing. we sure will be back.

Room Tip: high level rooms only
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samsonby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations-SBH, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Sandy Beach, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Samsonby,
Thank you so much for your nice review! I am glad to see that you enjoyed our amenities. Please come back and see us at the SENTIDO Sandy Beach soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Pros: An excellent 24m pool, very close to the beach, rooms and communal areas all nice and clean. Included breakfast was very good. Cons: reasonable wifi reception can ONLY be found in the lobby, and the 'early' breakfast offered a rather poor selection (and no milk for tea!).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MatinaPayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations-SBH, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Sandy Beach, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Matina Payton,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. Your comments will help us better understand our guests expectations and improve. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Its a wonderful hotel close to a lot of places,beach is good and very good view from the room i got.The staff is very friendly especially the housekeeping was great.would definitely recommend it for a nice relaxing holiday

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 27780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations-SBH, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Sandy Beach, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear 27780,
Thank you very much for your nice review. It was a great pleasure to host you and we very much look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is perfect for busines trip and some rest. Not far from airport very close to city center and good comunication with Nicosia. Very helpful stuff and good food and drinks. Pool and beach very clean, rooms are clean every day. I will recomend for sure.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mihalek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations-SBH, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Sandy Beach, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Mihalek M,
What a great review! Thank you so much for sharing your comments about your recent stay. We are pleased you had such a positive experience and we are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyk f
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Very nice hotel with a friendly staff. We traveled with spies and they gave us a different view on the view of the rooms, so we were disappointed when we arrived. The staff got ud a new and better room and we ended up having lovely holiday. The food is good and the weather is lovely in cyprus. We would recommend it for couples who want a nice relaxing holiday enjoying each other.

4 out of 5 stars.

Best regards,

Sander og Nathalie

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SanderBt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations-SBH, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Sandy Beach, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Sander Bt,
Thank you so much for the review. Happy to hear that our staff did their best to provide you with great service. The satisfaction of our guests is our highest priority. We look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We just stayed in sandy beach hotel. We had great time there.the beach, pool and wheather was perfect. the hotel area was also great. Furthermore the staff was firendly and helpful. Breakfast was also good, variety of choices. they had some entertainment at night as well.more over The room was spotlessly clean they change the sheets everyday.
All and all i had great time there and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parisshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations-SBH, Guest Relations Manager at SENTIDO Sandy Beach, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Parisshah,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor. Guest feedback is always welcome and highly appreciated. We thank you for the nice comments and hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pyla
0.1 mi away
Golden Bay Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Lordos Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Achilleos City Hotel
Achilleos City Hotel
#2 of 40 in Larnaka City
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
5.2 mi away
Rise Hotel
Rise Hotel
#1 of 40 in Larnaka City
5.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Ciao Stelio Deluxe Hotel
The Ciao Stelio Deluxe Hotel
#5 of 40 in Larnaka City
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Sandy Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Sandy Beach

Property: SENTIDO Sandy Beach
Address: Larnaka-Dekeleia Road | PO Box 40857, Pyla, Larnaka City 6307, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka City > Pyla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Pyla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Sandy Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated, the Sandy Beach Hotel in Larnaca, is located right on the beach of Dhekelia,situated on a beautiful stretch of sand overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. Offering one of the most beautiful views the Sandy Beach has all the modern facilities of a four star hotel with professional and friendly service typical of Cyprus. SENTIDO Sandy Beach is ideal for everyone who wants to spend the days at the beach or at the pool with a lagoon-shaped pool. The hotel offers also a gym, as well as some of sporting activities. If you prefer to relax, we recommend you to visit the spa. With its three restaurants, three bars and a lounge, SENTIDO Sandy Beach caters for many culinary interests. In addition, there are several tavernas, restaurants and bars nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your SENTIDO Sandy Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Beach Larnaca
Hotel Sandy Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing