We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but a couple of let downs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aphrodite Sands Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice but a couple of let downs”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

The apartments at Aphrodite Sands are really nice and very well equipped. Be aware that the reception is not signposted from the road and can be hard to find especially at night but the very helpful chap on duty heard us driving around and came to find us and showed us the way. There is no maid service but this isn't a bad thing as far as I'm concerned as you get complete privacy and there is a washing machine if you want to wash the bedding etc.
We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment which had a good size balcony.
The first few days of our stay were nice and quiet as the adjacent apartments were unoccupied but when a family arrived next door it quickly became apparent that the builders have never heard of soundproofing. We could hear every word of every conversation and the sound of the kids laughing and playing early in the morning. Also the mattresses are a bit cheap and we didn't sleep well.

Madrina is a nice place to stay but be aware there is a lot of building work going in in the area, some right next to the complex. There wasn't much activity while we were there but if work starts up again it could get very noisy.

The village itself has some really nice places to eat and drink and a couple of very handy shops so if you just want to relax by the resorts lovely pools, stroll along the nearby pebble beach and have a drink and a meal in the evening then you might be happy to stay put but I'd recommend hiring a car. The roads are remarkably quiet and driving was easy though watch out for the goats out on the B6 near Aphrodites Rock!

A nice place to stay though if I was to go back to the area I think I'd prefer a private villa due to the thin walls! I'm sure I'd pop back to Madrina for a meal or 2 though.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJBoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    32
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
71
49
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

My husband and I spent a week in Aphrodite Sands in a one bedroom apartment. It's a lovely, quiet complex, the apartments are lovely with a beautiful pool and well-maintained gardens The gym/spa is very nice, with helpful staff and lovely, candle-lit & perfumed treatment rooms.

However, I was disappointed with a few things. The bed was very hard, meaning we slept terribly and have returned home exhausted. My husband ended up sleeping on the sofa and I would have joined him if there was space. There was no maid service, so no cleaning and no fresh towels or linen, and there were bare light bulbs in the apartment bedroom and hallway.

Although the gym and spa are lovely, there was broken equipment in the gym; during the week I used the gym almost every day and didn't seen any sign that the broken equipment was being taken care of. The sauna and steam room were switched off during the time I was there, and when I went to use the jacuzzi (the main reason I'd booked this apartment complex and a perk that would have helped to mitigate the joint pains caused by the hard bed!), the temperature was 32 degrees - below body temperature and too cool to sit in.

Overall, I feel that this wasn't the 5 star experience I was hoping for.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AnnaFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2011

As previously said, you cannot fault the quality & space of these apartments. The pool & gardens are very nice. Mandria seems an up & coming resort. Very few bars & shops, but very pleasant. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 9 days, & in that time did not get a visit from a maid once. We also turned up on the 1st night at 10.30pm. There were no clear indication of where the reception was. Infact we walked around for 10/15mins (with children) before we asked for help. I strongly advise sorting your transfers out before you go. The minimum charge (30 euros) is what you will be ripped off for by the taxis for a 5 min drive. I must stress though, this behaviour is exclusive only to the airport taxis. One last thing, HIRE A CAR!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Helpful?
Thank Carpet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We spent a week in Aphrodite Sands in a 2 bed apartment. The accommodation was very well equipped and spacious with a hugh balcony for sunbathing, eating and relaxing. I would advise car hire for your stay if you want to see the rest of the island. Phapos is only a 10 minute drive and there are lots of interesting places to see around the island.

Madria is a small village with a few tavernas and a small supermarket for the basics, all are within a 5 minute stroll from the complex. I wouldn't bother with the beach at madria - its very rocky and not very pleasant, although its a good place to view the sun setting .

There are not lifts in the complex; our apartment was on the first floor, in block E which for us wasn't a problem for us but may be for others. We had the sun on our balcony all day long.

We have family in Cyprus and they were very impressed with the complex!

Room Tip: if you want all day sun, block E was brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pettie133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

To start, wind down and spoil yourself with a massage in the luxurious spa or exercise in the well equipped gym. Aphrodite Sands is a 5 star self catering holiday complex set in the village of Mandria with its 4 local bars and tavernas, all within walking distance together with another one in the next village of Anarita (Jo's Diner) - all recommended. There is also the local well equipped supermarket and local kiosk (corner shop) which sells most things you may need. Pathos and its pretty harbour along with plenty of bars and restaurants and water park is only a 15 min drive away. For the keen golfers there are 3, five star golf courses nearby. The apartments are very well equipped and the complex, gardens and play area are also kept up to five star standard. All the staff are extremely friendly, obliging and helpful. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!! WE WILL BE BACK!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kaljen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We had a 2 bedroom apartment for two weeks at this resort. The quality of the room was top notch and resort itself is exclusive. No yobs here. The spa and gym on site were ideal. Mandria has a few restaurants - all are nice. The airport is close too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShaunP808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

This is a lovely self catering set of apartments. We stayed here for a week in July and we were really shocked because it looked exactly as it was advertised on the official website. A member of staff was on hand to meet us on arrival on Saturday evening (the office is usually on staffed mon-fri, 9-4). Because it is a self catering resort, there is a limited reception service but we had no issues with this - unless you wanted wi-fi but you can ask at the office or pop down to the internet cafe round the corner if you get desperate. We even had some bread, milk and butter left for us so we weren't stuck on our first morning. The only negative thing i can say about the resort is that there are no lifts so if you get a 2nd floor apartment and you have trouble with stairs, it might be an issue. The complex is a mixture of apartments for holidays and ones that are owned by people that actually live there, there's plenty of parking for a rental car (you have to have one in Cyprus as public transport isn't great and taxi's are expensive). The local beach isn't far and is nice and peaceful. I'd definitely recommend this resort!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PriyeshPatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandria
6.3 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#9 of 88 in Paphos
2,716 reviews
7.0 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
8.2 mi away
Avlida Hotel
Avlida Hotel
#38 of 88 in Paphos
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Azia Resort & Spa
Azia Resort & Spa
#41 of 88 in Paphos
474 reviews
6.1 mi away
Avanti Holiday Village
8.3 mi away
St. Nicolas Elegant Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aphrodite Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aphrodite Sands Resort

Property: Aphrodite Sands Resort
Address: Ayia Vrioni, Mandria 8504, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Mandria
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aphrodite Sands Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aphrodite Sands Resort is located in the village of Mandria, just to the east of Paphos, only 500 meters from the Mediterranean Sea and a short 10 minute drive from Paphos Airport. Set around beautifully landscaped gardens, it features two outdoor swimming pools and a fully equipped Health & Beauty Spa. In each of the elegant apartments at Aphrodite Sands Resort there is a fully-equipped modern kitchen, a dining area, a lounge with flat-screen TV and a private,furnished balcony. A perfect place to relax and enjoy a wonderful holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aphrodite Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aphrodite Sands Hotel Mandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing