We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slight walk to casino square and the harbour, but good hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Monte Carlo
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 6, 2013

OK, we decided on this hotel which is positioned on the hill above the casino and harbour because we were meeting some friends who were also staying here. Our room was on the seventh floor - 710, had an interesting view up the hill. Our friends were on on the 9th floor and whilst their room was about the same size, they got a few extras. These were a balcony with views, bathrobes, slippers, free wi-fi and a coffee machine etc, not certain if that is worth the difference in cost though! Our room was comfortable, great shower, but is starting to show it's age. Their was some mould/discolouring above the shower, the seating in the room had been stitched, but these are small gripes. No opening windows, but good controllable air-con.
The hotel has free internet in the lobby area on a couple of PC's and also an X-box with games from reception, and also an X-box connect, all free! There are also ice machines on every floor and a refridgerator in each room. Just note that the items in the fridge are slightly more expensive than outside the hotel, but unusually not substatially.
All staff were very helpful and attentive. There is a small pool area, but with limited beds.
Car parking is all below the hotel and unfortunately on a one-way system and I have to say expensive @ 25 Euros per night. The Hotels parking is on the lowest level - D. However there is public parking on levels A - C, which if you are arriving to park later in the day may actually prove cheaper - it is based on per 20 minute charges that has about 10 different time zones - between 12:00 midnight a 4:00am, 4:00 am to 5:00am etc, etc. A real joy for mathematicians to calculate the actual charge.
Now access to Casino Square - exit hotel and turn right, walk down the road until you come to the second set of steps on the right (care they are easy to miss - white marble), go down these, down an escalator takes you through a small shopping mall and you arrive at the park at the top of casino square - about 10 minute walk. To get to the harbour go through the train station - best option for getting back to the hotel - couple escalators and a lift gets you down to the bottom of the town, saves a lot of walking.
It is not the most plush of hotels, slightly outside where the action is, but good value. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you want a view you need odd number rooms on higher floor levels, but care some of the entertainm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricky273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

674 - 680 of 2,229 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here with friends who had a more expensive room than us. Both rooms were the same size, but theirs had a small balcony and other small touches like bathrobes. The rooms were clean but are beginning to show some signs of wear, such as a tear in the sofa fabric which looked like it had been repaired by me! Ice machine on each floor was very welcome in such hot weather.Staff on reception were pleasant and helpful. There is a small pool area with a limited number of sun beds. Reception has two computers with free Internet access as well as some kind of gaming console for children and teenagers.
This hotel is well placed for Casino Square in one direction and the train station in the other.
Hotel has underground parking ( on many levels.....all the same car park) if you park on Novotel levels the cost is €25 per day, we found that parking on other levels in general parking was cheaper.
In a town of expensive hotels I would recommend staying here and spending your money on having a great time.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank merlymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Finding a room at a decent hotel at the Principality is tough at the best of times, especially for families. The Novotel boasts a great location, is clean, has a great pool and swish restaurant. The real bonus comes in the views over the Harbour and Swimming Pool, which you normally would pay 1000's for! Rooms can be on the small side, for a family of four, with some limited storage, but that said, you usually only need a clean comfortable bed and bathroom when in Monaco or South of France.

The staff are helpful, the poolside restaurant is great and the location of the Novotel means it is 2 mins from a bus-stop and 10 minutes walk from the Casino. Travelling with kids? Then the Novotel couldn't be better.

Room Tip: Executive rooms for 4+ people have a free minibar which is restocked with soft drinks every day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monaco73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

LOCATION / HOW TO GET THERE
This hotel is close to the Casino and Railway station, so location is optimal.
Has underground parking (extra charge), but convenient. Note that with a TomTom,
you may be a little lost.. Ask People when lost. The parking is not at the entrance, so you have to come up the hill on the left of the hotel.

ROOMS
We are travelling with 2 kids; (14+15 yo). I’ve booked an Executive room. When arriving at 2 PM,
the room wasn’t ready (but guaranteed at 12 PM on my booking..). So we went to the restaurant for lunch.
We got a room on the top floor (11). But quite small! Only room for the double bed and double sofa, which the kids had to sleep in.
Very nice view, but no balcony (as I’ve expected). Separate bath and WC. Small room but OK. I asked when checking out, and they
believe that “panoramic view” is worth more than square meters, I suppose(?)

FACILITIES:
Liked the pool aria. Small, but fine. The pool not too deep, so children can also have a good/comfortable time. Nice bar at the pool, but had to go inside
several times to get service.. The sun chairs and towels are of course free (not like Novotel Cannes who charged for sun chairs, first ever!).
Breakfast good. Also got Nespresso machines, as in our room. Nice choice of veg’s.

SERVICE:
No use trying the “Accor Club” counter at the lobby for faster service (I’m a member). Worked rather the other way!
Quite some waiting in the reception and in the bar at the pool. But OK as always at Accor.

TIP:
Ask for a room with balcony, high up.
On the 7th floor there is a nice big terrace who nobody’s uses, bring a bottle of wine and some cheese!

Room Tip: Great view from executive floor (11), but no balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gunnargutten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel is ideally located to explore all that Monte Carlo has to offer. Check-in was easy and efficient, we stayed on the 7th floor in a room with a terrace overlooking Monte Carlo. The room was very compact but accommodated a family of four however in order to step out to the terrace it was necessary to re-arrange the pull down beds which was quite cumbersome. We stayed on a half board basis, which was a regret. The evening meal was buffet style (which I was not aware of when booking) with a selection of cold meat,salads, cheeses etc, which was ok but I suggest that the food be covered because the hoovering and landing flies were very off putting, also a brief description of the foods displayed would be a simple but helpful touch especially for allergy sufferers.The main course was a choice of beef,lamb, sausages or shrimps cooked to order and served with the biggest portion of chips I have ever seen, the meat was bland,fatty and chewy and needless to add was not eaten.The breakfast next morning was good with a wide selection of hot and cold food to suit all tastes and restored my faith in the catering ability of Novotel Monte Carlo. We would stay here again but on a bed and breakfast basis because the evening meal was such a disappointment!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here for seven nights and had a superior city view room. Room was spacious and clean. Shower and bath with small selection of toiletries with plenty of towels. There is a safe and a mini bar which is good for chilling bottles of wine. Spent some of our days around the swimming pool which was kept very clean and plenty of towels available as is a waiter serving bar snacks and drinks. There is also a life guard on duty. Cleaning staff came every day although some days did not come until 5pm. There are ice machines on every floor. Very child friendly with a games section on the ground floor also a couple of iMacs and a printer to print your boarding passes on departure. The terrace on 7th floor is lovely to sit with a bottle of wine on summer evenings but I don't think most people know its there as it was always deserted. Staff were very helpful particularly Thomas and Charlotte in the restaurant. We had pre booked bed and breakfast and there was a large selection of various types of food to suit everyone so we never got bored with it although the cooked breakfast was not up to our taste. Room service is very efficient and the restaurant serves a decent meal. On a couple of evenings we noticed there was some entertainment by the pool area but we did not tend to stay in the hotel at night. It is very hilly in Monte Carlo but ask reception for a map and directions - there are plenty of public elevators in Monaco so you don't need to climb up and down the steep hills. Check in and out was smooth. Some incredibly rude guests staying whist we were there and the staff did not deserve some of their wrath - if you are polite to people and treat them with respect then they will treat you with the same accord. All in all we had a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Rubbiesarered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

A number of friends were staying here to attend an event locally so we decided to stay there! A really regret it. We had 2 Adjacent rooms (they dont do adjoining roms) which were very small but have pretty much all you need. There are no extras, nasty limited toiletries, paper cups and instant coffee, which i suppose for a 3 star is all that can be expected. The air conditioning didn't work in our room, after several calls (and repeated confirmations that yes the windows were indeed closed) an engineer came, tried to tell me that it was working and then left a note later saying it had been fixed. It was not. We suffered 28 degree room temperature for 4 dahs and nights. A further complaint yielded no result, same on check out. Staff were unhelpful and service was very slow bordering on rude - every request was an imposition. When I requested an extra towel one evening we were met with: "really, now, you need more towels?". Food was good in the restaurant for lunch/dinner although service was slow and rude in the restaurant. When they forgot a side dish i ordered, I couldnt get any staff member's attention to request it (no eye contact here and the staff appeared to be having shouting matches amongst themselves so I decided to live without it) when i asked for it to be taken off the bill the waiter argued the bill reflected my order, after much persuasion ( and confirmation with the chef who confirmed the side order had not been cooked) he removed it but criticised me for failing to bring it to his attention while eating. No flexibility on the menu and on 2 occasions i was refused various elements of the children's menu (no side dish if you order pasta as a main) contrary to the very clearly written menu and our experience on other occasions. It is very bizarre to have to argue about a child's menu with a hungry child and so i gave up. Breakfast was a bun fight, cooked food poor (eggs were powder) and everything was cleared away as soon as the time finished rather than allowing those who were already eating to have a second coffee etc. When I asked for some water I was told no it was too late, breakfast was over 5 minutes ago, and they charged me 19 euro for this pleasure. High chairs are limited and not available when ordering room service for children. this is not a hotel where toddlers are welcomed with a smile. (That said adults were not welcomed either.) When ordering airport transfers with a car seat we were told nothing could be guaranteed - wait and see... The pool is small and crowded. One of the lifts dropped several floors suddenly and got stuck for a few minutes - when we reported it we were told this had happened before, no problem. On the whole I would not return here or recommend it. Any positives? the room rate is cheap for Monaco, location is fine, rooms were clean and food generally fine if you ignore the obnoxious staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.8 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,356 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,719 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#6 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
871 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
#2 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Monte Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Monte Carlo

Address: 16 Blvd Princesse Charlotte, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Location: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#1 Green Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#3 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#6 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range: $143 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Monte Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Monte Carlo hotel is situated in the heart of the principality, just a short walk from the train station, the Place du Casino and the Grimaldi Forum. It has 218 rooms (including 10 Junior Suites), some with stunning views over the Rock of Monaco and the sea. It also boasts a restaurant, a bar and 12 rooms for meetings and conferences. The Novotel Monte Carlo is ideal for business travel or weekends in Monaco as a couple or with family. A secure public car park is available (charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Monte Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Monte Carlo Hotel Monte-Carlo
Novotel Hotel Monte Carlo
Accor Monte Carlo
Monte-Carlo Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing