We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Position”
Review of Port Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Port Palace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We arrived from Nice after struggling to get to the hotel as the construction of grand stands was well underway for next month's F1 GP.
This hotel is like a tardis. The check in area and bar is very cramped and small but the rooms are huge and airy as is the roof-top restaurant.
As well as being large, the room had high quality fittings, comfy bed and view to die for next month if you're into F1 and boats.
It's in a fabulous position between the harbour and the casino and the staff are very helpful and polite.
The only downside was the lack of a late bar when we returned from our meal - We ended up taking a table in the restaurant and having a drink at a previously used table which still had stains and crumbs from the previous occupants.
Overall, an excellently positioned hotel which is a value alternative to some of it's more expensive neighbours.

Stayed: April 2013
Thank timchambola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 661 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just come back from our 3rd visit to this hotel which is in a ideal position but lots of changes, in our opinion for the worse ! Did have lovely sun terrace for breakfast/drinks now changed to a restaurant which had a very very limited lunch menu for 45 Euro (two main meal choices only). No where available to meet for a drink ie no bar area at all - checked this at reception and was told no sorry no bar ! Breakfast now downstairs in a very very small area and infact we ended up being seated opposite the Reception desk in the foyer. Also we had 4 rooms - some people got turn down with chocs one night, or not at all ! Very disappointed always praised this hotel but dont think I would go back again - majority of staff were very friendly and polite though except one who accused us of not handing our room key in and told us to search our bags again then his colleague found it but no apology given

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pricilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Was upgraded to a huge fifth floor suite on arrival. 'As expected' facilities in the room, some furnishings a little threadbare. Housekeeping department requires some attention. 4 Euro espresso in room irritatingly expensive. Terrace no longer seems to be part of hotel as not able to charge meals to room, no wi-fi and breakfast is in the lobby...However reception staff excellent, it is a great location and was a wonderful stay. Will return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T111mms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed one short night. Would have stayed longer it was a gorgeous hotel. Staff were very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Spa bath was wonderful. Toiletries were luxurious. Rooms were beautifully decorated and maintained.

Room Tip: Fabulous bed! Room was gorgeous. Lovely staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I had the pleasure of a conference in Monaco last summer and picked this hotel as I'm a bit of an F1 nut and this hotel is nestled between two parts of the track, at a high and low level.

The rooftop bar was a great place to unwind at the end of a day in a dark, windowless conference venue, and the breakfast up here was particularly memorable.

It's a nicely understated place, which is nice against the gaudy Monaco backdrop and the staff are wonderful.

I'd recommend strolling the track from here, it'll be all the tour you need of the city, taking in the Casino and shopping malls.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrchardTravel1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here in March...I pick this hotel by the reviews it got...great location between the exit of the tunnel and corner of the mariner...if your Grand Prix fan...you will love this location. Fabulous views over the Mariner.......Hotel staff were lovely and happy to assist with with any questions we had...they even told us to catch the number 100 bus to Nice for the beautiful scenic drive for 2 euro return...take your camera the views a gorgeous. They also recommend a restuarant near by that was really lovely and not too pricey. We have travelled throughout Europe and we have picked our hotels from the trip adviser reviews....we have not been disappointed ...everyone one we have chosen has been exactly what the reviews have said they were...and we have been pleasantly surprised that we have been happy with all our choices...and would certainly go back to everyone of them...so all I can say is take the time to do the research on the hotels and you will return home as happy as we are with our choices...happy travels...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Buzzinga77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I've never been to Monaco before,and booked the hotel based on a google map...well, it is like the map says, right on the water at the main marina of Monte Carlo!
The service is good and friendly, free wifi close to many attractions by

Room Tip: Face the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank miceguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
1.1 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,702 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,214 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#6 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,398 reviews
0.7 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Palace Hotel

Address: 7 Avenue JF Kennedy, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Phone Number:
Location: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range: $198 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Port Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Port Palace
Port Palace Monte Carlo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing