We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a Weekend”
Review of Port Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Port Palace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
515 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Great for a Weekend”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The location of the Port Palace is perfect for exploring Monaco. This is a small, modern and well equipped hotel. The service was very good and if you can afford it, the suite is a wonderful way to experience luxury. The hotel is located on the slope leading up from the marina, with the main entrance on the ground floor and an exit on the 6th floor which is the best way to reach the Place du Casino, only a few minutes walk away.

Room Tip: The higher up you are, the better the view over the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobetrottingViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    195
    43
    15
    19
See reviews for
72
364
21
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dorking
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We just stayed at the Port Palace for the second time in two visits to Monaco, and really like the hotel. Rooms are spacious, though it is a good idea to upgrade from the standard room - they are on the first floor - ideally you need to be on the 2nd floor or above to get the most of the view across the harbour. The rooms are very big, with large bathrooms. Minimally and stylishly furnished they are very comfortable. Free wifi is available throughout the hotel. Public areas are not extensive, but with rooms this big and comfortable, with armchairs in the windows, who needs to sit in a lounge. The breakfast is good with an extensive buffet, and can be eaten outside on the lovely terrace if the weather is good. For F1 fans the hotel is superbly situated - outside your bedroom window runs the road from the tunnel and round to Rascasse and the main area of La Condamine and the pits, and behind the hotel terrace is the road uphill to Casino Square. The view across the main Port Hercule and across to the palace is one of the best views in Monaco in my opinion. Service is friendly and discreet. We will definitely stay again when ivisiting.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor or above, not the 1st.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlummyDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

booked Holliday for pensioner and disabled through monte Carlo hotels wing wing was there agent,we stayed at the port palace hotel the hotel was very central, great location for every thing very clean would highly recommend the hotel, but included in the package was a return trip by helicopter to nice airport ,on the day of departure we were waiting for our transfer it did not arrive, when we contacted wing wing they told us that they had withdrawn this part of the package , as if they supplied the transfer they would not make any money and we could do nothing as they had put the caveat in <complementary> or though we had doubled checked verbally that this great deal did include return helicopter, we were not the only people left stranded at least another 10 people suffered the same fate god knows how many there have been in all please do not use wing wing or monte Carlo hotels they are as they seem
we were then left to find the money to get back to nice, bit of a problen for carers on £59 a week , pensioner and disabled,

Room Tip: above the third foor so you can see over the trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lucky l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great Location..Cheek by jowl with the yachts of the rich and famous, and your room is about the size of their whole damn yacht, and costs a lot less to sleep in. Massive bathroom and all very modern and chic. The rooms are really excellent, actually they are the best thing about the hotel. The public areas are small, but the roof top bar is cool and stylish. I would like to have spent more time here but i did not regretfully. Do not think this is a big hotel...actually it is really quite small, but they have concentrated on the rooms and that's what you want as this is the sort of area that you want to eat out in. Really good location and i recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gringottsgoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed here last year over night while passing through Monaco just to spend the night. The hotel is very modern and impressive with its close up views of the marina and all the luxury yachts in row. we where looking for just a standard room but due to little availability and because it was just over night they upgraded us to one of their suites which was quite impressive i must say although a bit minimal for my taste but each hotel has always a curtain character so all good! Despite the fact that i can not express an opinion about the breakfast (woke up too late) or other services as we left the next day the location is superb, i definitely recommend and would return again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panagiotis_Salapatas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
523 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had the junior suite which was lovely overlooking the harbor. The hotel lift goes up so that the walk to the casino is five minutes. Perfect. And waterfront stroll around to gawk at the yachts and enjoy the cafes was great. But we woke up the first morning in search of the hair dryer and coffee machine to make the coffee that was clearly supplied for a machine. My first call to ask for the hair dryer resulted in "it's on the shelf". There were many and all had been inspected but he quite insisted it was there. When I asked of the coffee machine I was told that was room service. I called back a few minutes later to insist on the hair dryer while my husband headed to the front desk with the coffee to show reception. When he asked reception how to make the coffee they replied it was to be made in the machine to which my husband agreed and explained that the machine is what we were missing. Therefore, we were sent a hair dryer and coffee machine.

The rest was terrific but more detail to look into room supplies before the guest arrives is necessary. Evidently the hotel is only a year old but that is enough time to work this sort of detail out. Still, wonderful room with very comfy bed in a great location.

Room Tip: Room 102 was a junior suite with lovely view and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesliebauman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

These rooms are fabulous. Great attention to detail. The rooms are extremely well sound proofed and air con is as quite as you will ever find. The bathrooms are magnificent with a separate toilet & bidet. Spa bath & massive shower.
Hotel position is great. Just a short walk from everywhere. View is a little restricted because it is low and you look straight into the massive boats from your bedroom.
Brekky seemed expensive @€22 pp. We skipped it and found great food nearby for €8 pp.
Entire Hotel was evacuated at midnight because the smoke detector went off. Someone was smoking in their room. I guess you could not blame the hotel who were most apologetic.
The smoker was caught out and it cost him over €1,000 to have the lifts and aircon activated again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisPolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.2 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#8 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,114 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
#2 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
870 reviews
0.7 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,278 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Palace Hotel

Property: Port Palace Hotel
Address: 7 Avenue JF Kennedy, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Location: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Port Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Port Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Port Palace
Port Palace Monte Carlo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing