We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, Kind of Funky, Cool”
Review of Port Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Port Palace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great Location..Cheek by jowl with the yachts of the rich and famous, and your room is about the size of their whole damn yacht, and costs a lot less to sleep in. Massive bathroom and all very modern and chic. The rooms are really excellent, actually they are the best thing about the hotel. The public areas are small, but the roof top bar is cool and stylish. I would like to have spent more time here but i did not regretfully. Do not think this is a big hotel...actually it is really quite small, but they have concentrated on the rooms and that's what you want as this is the sort of area that you want to eat out in. Really good location and i recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gringottsgoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 661 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed here last year over night while passing through Monaco just to spend the night. The hotel is very modern and impressive with its close up views of the marina and all the luxury yachts in row. we where looking for just a standard room but due to little availability and because it was just over night they upgraded us to one of their suites which was quite impressive i must say although a bit minimal for my taste but each hotel has always a curtain character so all good! Despite the fact that i can not express an opinion about the breakfast (woke up too late) or other services as we left the next day the location is superb, i definitely recommend and would return again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PanSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had the junior suite which was lovely overlooking the harbor. The hotel lift goes up so that the walk to the casino is five minutes. Perfect. And waterfront stroll around to gawk at the yachts and enjoy the cafes was great. But we woke up the first morning in search of the hair dryer and coffee machine to make the coffee that was clearly supplied for a machine. My first call to ask for the hair dryer resulted in "it's on the shelf". There were many and all had been inspected but he quite insisted it was there. When I asked of the coffee machine I was told that was room service. I called back a few minutes later to insist on the hair dryer while my husband headed to the front desk with the coffee to show reception. When he asked reception how to make the coffee they replied it was to be made in the machine to which my husband agreed and explained that the machine is what we were missing. Therefore, we were sent a hair dryer and coffee machine.

The rest was terrific but more detail to look into room supplies before the guest arrives is necessary. Evidently the hotel is only a year old but that is enough time to work this sort of detail out. Still, wonderful room with very comfy bed in a great location.

Room Tip: Room 102 was a junior suite with lovely view and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesliebauman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

These rooms are fabulous. Great attention to detail. The rooms are extremely well sound proofed and air con is as quite as you will ever find. The bathrooms are magnificent with a separate toilet & bidet. Spa bath & massive shower.
Hotel position is great. Just a short walk from everywhere. View is a little restricted because it is low and you look straight into the massive boats from your bedroom.
Brekky seemed expensive @€22 pp. We skipped it and found great food nearby for €8 pp.
Entire Hotel was evacuated at midnight because the smoke detector went off. Someone was smoking in their room. I guess you could not blame the hotel who were most apologetic.
The smoker was caught out and it cost him over €1,000 to have the lifts and aircon activated again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DennisPolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We were very satisfied with the great service and the high end quality and cleanliness of the room. I don't think I booked a suite but when we walked in it sure looked liked one! It was very spacious and modern and with a window facing the Monaco bay full of yachts was a sight to see. The bathroom is spacious and I loved the separate tub and shower. Monaco is rather small so you can walk to pretty much anywhere from this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed in the largest suite on the top floor (well, just below the top floor, the restaurant was on the top floor), wich is 90 squaremeters, so we had lots of room to frollick about in. There were two seperate restrooms and a bathroom with two sinks, two mirrors, a hottub and a shower. And a room we didn't quite figured out how to work (we think it might have been some sort of sauna). At arrival we recieved a bottle of red wine, macrones and a little cake. The room had a coffeemaker with complimentary coffee. We had two flatscreen TVs, but most of the channels were in french or italian so we didn't use them much. We ordered room service once, and it was excellent. The service was great, we never wanted for anything. We even tried out the hammam and the gym. The restaurant situated on the top floor was were we ate our continental breakfast. We also did the "Discovering the Star"-dinner, which was a five-course dinner with wine tasting. It might have been the best food I have evere eaten!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is in perfect place in Monte Carlo, nice and professional staff, and really beautiful and comfortable rooms. From our room we had a view directly to the marina and we had almost the impression to sit on one of the huge yats.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiriamR711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
1.1 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,706 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,217 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#6 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,399 reviews
0.7 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#8 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Palace Hotel

Address: 7 Avenue JF Kennedy, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Location: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#5 Spa Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range: $161 - $488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Port Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Port Palace
Port Palace Monte Carlo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing