We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food like Mama use to make”
Review of Valentin - CLOSED

Valentin
Price range: $21 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A small and hidden place in the heart of Monte Carlo - warm, white, essential - where you can taste the flavours of a real Italian kitchen, maybe fall in love with a glass of wine and spend some joyful time sitting at the table. Serving Italian breakfast and lunch Mon-Fri from 7:30 to 16:00. And a fantastic Tapas Apero Dinner on Thursday and Friday night from 18:30 to 22:30.
Reviewed April 7, 2016

This great little discovery was made recently and hence, I have been back 3 more times last month! The food is absolutely delicious and reminds me of food that my Italian GF mother use to make.
Everyday the menu changes, so good variety. The staff are helpful and cheerful. Well worth a visit there.
Trent F

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Trent F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 241 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2016

My boyfriend and I had a great lunch here when we were recently visiting Monaco. The food is truly authentic and has a real home made, fresh and lively mama's kitchen feel. There's around seventy seats and the place was FULL so it made for great people watching while in Monaco. We didn't drink during our meal but noticed a large choice of wines, the deserts were fresh made on site and were TO DIE FOR! will definitely recommend Valentin for friends and we just loved the relaxed yet efficient vibe this great little hideaway restaurant has. Bon appetit!

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank williwowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2016

Thanks to the fantastic team at Valentin for a memorable meal on the French Riviera. We heard about this great little restaurant by word of mouth from friends who live in Monaco (isn't this always the best way to find great new places?) and had a fresh, great tasting and most of all, authentic at very reasonable prices. Pierre's team is on the ball, fast and hugely friendly. I'll also say the nicest surprise was their wine collection which they had a great knowledge of and is mostly from vineyards nearby the riviera. Many thanks again Valentin we'll definitely be back next time we're in Monaco.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DMH G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2016 via mobile

I booked us a table for the Friday night small plates menu and was not disappointed. Super friendly welcome to a nice table. This place has a nice vibe with lots of locals. It is a bit tricky to find if you are not in the know and miss the restaurant name at the entrance to the shopping centre where it is based.

We had a lovely bottle of red as recommended which was also delicious.

We opted for the 5 small plates meal which consisted of mixed ham and cheese, veal meatballs, beef in a tuna and mayonnaise (sounds odd but was delicious), gnocchi, bread and some pastry and vegetable dish. The food was excellent value at 19 Euros per person so well worth booking the Friday night special.

Date of visit: February 2016
1  Thank TAD520
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2016

I visited Valentin several times in my recent short visit to Monte Carlo. Tucked in the middle of a shopping mall, bursting at the seams, Pierre and his staff and wonderful chef Simone turn out an ever changing array of superlative, inventive, well priced and generously portioned food. And dessert. And wine. Wonderful wines with passionately presented back stories. Pierre doesn't serve anything he doesn't like himself, and also conducts, as of recently, wine tastings once or twice a week in the evenings, accompanied by tapas style food. Valentin is crowded but fun, crammed with locals, humming with energy and emotion, and should not be missed.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Findelkind
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valentin also viewed

 
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Fontvieille, Monaco
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.