We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Le Versailles(La Condamine)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Cosmopolite(La Condamine)
View Hotel
Hotel de France(La Condamine)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Miramar Hotel(La Condamine)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Port Palace Hotel(Monte-Carlo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Novotel Monte Carlo(Monte-Carlo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel De Paris(Monte-Carlo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,385)
Filter reviews
1,385 results
Traveler rating
535
570
184
66
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
535
570
184
66
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose gardenprincess graceheli padquiet areathree starsea viewnice airportdeluxe roomconcierge staffshuttle serviceshort breakhelicopter transferbars and restaurantsfree shuttlebus stopcasino squaremini bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
495 - 500 of 1,385 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed here for a business trip. Hotel was nice and in a great location, right on the water, next to the pier and easy to walk to everything. The food wasn't that good, but I learned I didn't like much food in the area. Burger from room service came basically raw, so if you are from the US make sure to order it extra well done. Bartender was really friendly and their ladies happy hour was great!
Only main complaint I had was one day when I returned to the room after house keeping had been there, and the window was left open and so was my safe. Even though Monaco is one of the safest countries in the world, I still didn't like that. Also bed could have definitely been more comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Responsable relations publiques at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to send your review. We are very surprised by your remark on the bed, as most visitors keep asking us about the brand of the mattress and the quality of the beds. Anyway, we thank you for visiting us and your kind appreciation of the area. As for the food, our restaurant has been closed since then, no more hamburger - there again, some locals kept coming for the special Columbus one, but as you mention, it might be a different of cooking/cultural way of eating. Down here the beef is more appreciated when not too much cooked. kind regards. C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed in the hotel from 30th March till 2nd of April, Arrived late on a sunday night , had drink in the bar before they closed and went on strike. woke up the next morning to the noise of earth moving machines and stone cutters, building the princess Grace rose garden across the road. (being updated as planed, but did not warn us before hand.), went for breakfast and found a unpleasant atmosphere. My partner stopped eating for a second and her plate was whisked away unbelievably.The kitchen then joined the bar staff on strike. Outside catering menus were put in the rooms. The strikers the following day joined in with the building racket, chanting blowing whistles and horns outside the hotel.(made a cd and just posted to Inspired Luxury Escapes). Complained to the hotel and travel rep, but got us nowhere. very disappointing short break which left us more stressed than we were going. Would not recommend it to any one wanting to relax. The noise was there for the duration of the break.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Responsable relations publiques at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Guest, We understand your review after this disappointing stay at Columbus. For information, the former staff sitting outside were not on strike. They have been made redundant and chose to demonstrate outside. The noise has been stopped by the police and from now on there is nobody sitting outside anymore. The rosegarden works are almost finished (the garden will be reopen at some point in May and being relaunched by the Prince early June). We are sincerely sorry your stay took place at such a noisy and disturbed period. We got your complaint through your agency and already answered to you. Best regards. C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed at the Columbus Monte-Carlo Hotel on April 6, 201 4as part of "free pre-cruise" offer with Regent Seven Seas Cruise Line. When we arrived there were striking workers, who were explained away and soon disappeared.
Then in the room we discovered a stuffy room and no air conditioning ---- just to keep door open there's a cool "breeze" (but that let in the construction dust and the insects) and it did not cool down. Then we were informed that the restaurant and bar were closed. The nearest place to get food or water (other than a small $8 bottle from mini bar) was a 20 minuet walk.
Breakfast was a "make your own egg" boiler with no employee assistance (which would have been acceptable if others did not take your eggs first).
I had to call the USA to get my travel agent to get a hotel employee to appear at 3 AM. to ask for any help with a medical issue. Fortunately, when guest who was sleeping in the lobby asked where she could get coffee at 5 AM, I was then able to get a cup of tea. But, unfortunately manager was so rude, arrogant and indifferent, if my husband did not need it, i would have left it there.
Then there was the noise from the late night celebration of a sporting event (marching, singing and cheering) that was followed but the early morning start of the construction noise and more dust. The park across from the hotel is undergoing major reconstruction.
The night manager said there was nothing he could do, as manager he should have has some idea, change room to other side of the hotel, offer a pot of tea or at least be polite.
To me, the hotel seemed to be more of an oversized rooming house, I could not identify one hotel like amenity and it could have been cleaner. Some others on the cruise were smart and immediately sized up the situation and just left immediately, we did not want to be fussy, but we did not realize what we were in for. I would never go back or remotely suggest anyone else go there.

Room Tip: There was just so much wrong.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shore291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Responsable relations publiques at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest, we are sincerely sorry to hear about your bad experience at Columbus on your cruise pre-night. A few infos which probably will not change your poor impressions, but that we need to clarify : at the moment, the temperature outside is around 12 to 17 degrees and this is too low to switch the air conditioning on, in fact our guests are asking more for heater, so the temperature perception can be different from one guest to the other; there is a supermarket 5 mn away from the hotel where you can purchase all drinks (not 20 mn as you mention); if the night manager was rude, this is unacceptable and we do apologize for that, the Reception manager will check with the persons in charge on that date, as although, unfortunately the restaurant and the bar are indeed closed, there is certainly a way of advising and informing the guests of that situation. The bar and the restaurant are closed and the people staying outside are no strikers, they have been dismissed and they chose to demonstrate by staying outside. The hotel staff is working normally. As for the rosegarden, the renovation will be finalised within a few weeks, it should be reopened by end of May. We are sorry you had such a bad experience and do hope you enjoyed your cruise and the rest of your holidays. Best regards. C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

It is a good hotel superbly located, just 5 mins walk from fontvielle, 1 min from the Monaco heliport. The bar located on the first floor is average with average service while the restaurant serves some good dishes and wines.
The rooms are clean but I felt the lights were too dim ( all warm yellow lights) giving the impression of room as gloomy. The minibar has a system in place where in the moment u pick up a bottle or an item from fridge - it gets accounted for. Overall an average hotel only good for business visits.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaurav A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Responsable relations publiques at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to send your review. In the meantime the restaurant and the bar have been closed . We are changing the bulbs in a lot of rooms to avoid the light problems you mention, this problem is due to the obligation of using eco-friendly bulbs which
unfortunately are not as strong and efficient as the former ones. Best regards. C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Paid for a luxury break with voyage prive to stay in Monte Carlo the entire place is amazing and was let down by this hotel! The staff (apart from the concierge) we found rude and unhelpful. The cleaner even rolled her eyes in disgust that we were not out of the room by 10 so she could clean it! There was no bar at the hotel menus were left for is to order but we had to do this ourself the reception would not help us. Even though French was obviously not out first language. We had a constant feeling from the staff here that everything was too much effort for them. We were not told any of the services that the hotel offered and even had to ask where and what time breakfast was. not what you expect from a monaco hotel. It can hardly call itself a hotel when there is no bar or restaurant available it is merely a glorified bed and breakfast. This coupled with the protesting locals outside making constant noise early in the morning waking us up. We shall return to monaco, but will stay in a decent hotel instead if this place.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leander_cobley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Responsable relations publiques at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Guest, we are sorry to hear about your poor experience at Columbus. Although we are aware of the current situation outside the hotel, with the closure of the bar and restaurant, we feel there is nothing we can say to make change your point of view on our hotel. As you can see from the other reviews, there are mainly very good reports about our staff attitude and we are very surprised by your various examples. For the delivery service, the menu is not in English at the moment, but we are working on a translation project. There will be a courtesy bar in the lobby next week. We are all working at the hotel to make sure the impact on guest experience is minimal by putting in place new services. This closure means an important social plan in the hotel, and this is a difficult and sad decision as we all love the Columbus. We now have to adapt to our new organization. Regards.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews