We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel and exceptional value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights over the weekend while visiting family. We had a junior suite (room 324) which was delightful, clean and refurbished with a balcony terrace with sea views. One note of warning - you do overlook a private complex and as such noise can travel - the pool is part of this complex and is shared with the residents - first come first served - when its quite it is a peaceful sun trap and a nice place to be, however being shared you do get children and therefore noise and you will also hear and see the occasional helicopter landing and taking off. Room service were always polite and friendly but average waits of twenty minutes and with no in room coffee / tea facilities this can be painful. Hotel staff were always friendly and helpful, bar staff were pleasant and the concierge staff were without exception excellent. Mini bus is very useful when you can get it, but you have to really think ahead to guarantee being able to use it. Walking around is a delight with plenty of bars and restaurants within three minutes of the hotel overlooking the harbour. We did not eat in the hotel so I cannot comment on the food other than to say what we did have as room service was very good and fresh. Once you know your way around the bus stop is literally two minutes away and routes 5 & 6 get you quickly and easily into Monaco, fares of 2 euros for a single journey are good value. If you like walking this is the place as its not actually that far to walk, certainly no more than ten minutes to the main harbour. The gardens, Casino square, Cafe de Paris are a further ten minutes (uphill) from the harbour but it is a must if and is always busy with tourists. Walking back at 1 am in the morning you will feel completely safe. The view from Monacoville is quite simply stunning and a walk up to the palace and older parts are also a must. We used the bus service (110) from Nice airpot to Monaco and back - apart from arriving fifteen minutes late on both journeys which can add to your stress levels when trying to catch a flight ! Once aboard it is a very fast, efficient and an extremely cost effective way of traveling - (15 euros each one way) and takes half an hour. I would recommend this hotel as a four star and worth every penny of its very reasonable rates.

Room Tip: Always aim to get a room with sea view - the alternative overlooks the road towards gardens but the...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dn0075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Guest, A great report - very detailed and informative. We thank you for your kind appreciation of the Columbus and all the tips given to our future guests. Hoping to see you back to Columbus and Monaco, with kind regards. C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,326)
There are newer reviews for Columbus Monte-Carlo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

523 - 529 of 1,326 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was lovely with big rooms and a balcony, ours sadly did not face the Mediterranean but if you pay extra you can. It is situated across the road from Princess Graces' Garden.
Although not close to the Casinos or Palace it is still within walking distance to plenty of eateries, shopping and a boardwalk. There are local buses to 'The rock' where the Casinos and Palace are
situated.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank squeek_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Guest, we thank you for taking the time to forward your report and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and like the Columbus. We hope to see you back to Monaco at some point. Kind regards. C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel last weekend and we were unpleasantly surprised by the arrrogance of the staff at the reception as well as in the resaurant. We hoped to finish our excellent cycleholiday in France in style in this hotel. We left with a bad feeling and not only we did, also the other menmbers of our group,of 23 cyclists. Instead of a warm welcome we were ordered to show our passports and creditcard. I said that the room was already paid for but the only answer I got was: No card no room! What a unfriendly way to talk to your guests. The next morning we went down for breakfast, the man at the entrance did not pay attention at us he was more busy with his paperwork. We gave our roomnumber and entered the restaurant, it was very busy. We wanted to sit down at the only free table left but we were ordered to leave this table since it was given to somebody already. How could we know? There was no reservation sign. After a discussion with 3 staffmembers we finally got a table. All this time you are standing in a full restaurant with a plate in your hand and people watching you, that makes you feel very unconfortable. The only positive thing I can say about this hotel is that the room was ok, not special but just ok. Because of the unfriendly staff I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mirjam v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Guest, We are sorry to hear about this bad experience at Columbus, when so many guests mention in their comments the nice and welcoming attitude of our staff. After inquiring, it seems that the reception staff was not perceived as arrogant, but more relaxed and giggling which can be resented by some guests not talking French. We sincerely apologize and have requested the Reception Manager to specifically talk to her employees. As for the passport and credit card, it's is quite a normal procedure and even if the rooms are paid for, we have some strict payment procedures and this is a normal process within the hotel business to get a credit card guarantee to cover any possible miscellaneous expenses occured during the guests' stay. Best regards. C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Staff was friendly and helpful. The location was a bit off from the center but I was near the ocean. The room was spacious but the balcony door was not closing and without it the air conditioning wasn´t starting. The bellman offered to send up the maintenance guy but he never came. They did not offer complimentary breakfast which at $300.00 per night one might would expect and the free internet was incredibly slow, basically useless. Other than that I had a pretty great stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest, we are sorry to hear about the windows/air conditioning problems and we have forwarded your comments onto our maintenance manager to inquire about this lack of answer to a specific problem. As for the internet access, it can be slow if you download heavy files or attached pictures. Then one has better get the paying access to get a quicker speed. We thank you for your positive appreciation. Kind regards.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

A good hotel for the three star category, quiet and well located. Food is good, but minibar prices are high. Lacks in-room facilities such as coffee-making but does provide an iron for pressing clothes.

Two-tier internet access, standard, which is free, and high-speed, which is €12 per day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest, many thanks for your comments and your good appreciation of the Columbus and its environment. Kind regards. C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I visited this hotel 10 years ago and it was smart, sophisticated and very Monte Carlo...with expert service. This time I was very disappointed...the staff who met our car were very casual, the checkin staff took time to warm up, the room was very tired and looked as if it hadn't been decorated in 10 years...in fact the whole hotel looked tired.

Quite expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Guest, we are sorry to hear about your disappointment. We understand very well that you compare Columbus with your first visit, and your comments about the need of renovation. As for the staff, we wish to assure you we still have the same requirements and training as it was and most of our visitors do mention the nice and welcoming attitude of the employees which remain one of our best asset. Kind regards. C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was travelling with friends and all five of us booked to stay at the Columbus.

For a three star hotel, overall it was a great place to stay and value for money.

Location -
We really liked the location. Given the price we paid, we were in the perfect location to walk everywhere (although we ended up on the far side of the city one night and ended up having to walk home.. if you're staying out late at night.. BOOK a cab!! You won't be able to hail one!!)
The hotel has a beautiful marina behind it along with a number of great little restaurants, there is also a small super market located almost next door for anything you might need. As one reviewer said earlier.. do ask what your view is.. ours was a park under construction while our friends had an amazing sea view.

Design -
Modern, pretty, clean, cute touches with the heart-shaped soaps and bathroom design. I was sharing a room with my best friend and despite two 30 kg bags, we still had plenty of space to unpack and move around in the room. The porters were super helpful and really lovely guys.

Service -
Restaurant: The restaurant service was great and the waiters were fun with really great attitudes. They were also super helpful with local wine selection.

Concierge: The concierge recommendations for restaurants in town weren't great.. we were informed there were no restaurants worth visiting in an area (turned out there were and they were super fun places) the restaurant recommended was terrible.. it was empty without a soul in sight and we promptly left to find a new place. In terms of response to service requests, this we found exceptionally slow. Whether it's because they were particularly busy or not.. it took an hour just to get through to the concierge despite multiple calls on one occasion. For us, this was a let down.

Check in and out: Super fast and helpful staff. This was great.

Overall, would definitely book again if I was coming back with a group of friends.

Room Tip: Ensure you request a sea view and not a park view!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micah213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest, this is a very complete and informative report which will be very useful for our future guests. We thank you for your advice and tips mentioned. As for the conciergerie, we are sorry to hear about your sad experience as most of the time this is a service which is highly recommended. Indeed this is a very busy period and you might have been unlucky. Kind regards. C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte-Carlo
0.8 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,165 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#6 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,707 reviews
1.8 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
#10 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco
1.0 mi away
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
#2 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Monte-Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Monte-Carlo

Address: 23 Avenue des Papalins, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Location: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range: $139 - $650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Columbus Monte-Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Rosegarden dedicated to Princess Grace, close to the heliport with easy access to the Old town and the Casino square the Columbus offers 181 rooms including 53 Classic and 100 Deluxes with balcony or terrace - 14 Juniors Suites & 13 Suites Seaview - 1 Top Floor Apartment - Soundproofed and individually controlled air conditioning - Flat Screen TV- international channels Free High speed Wifi access both in rooms and public areas. Parking spaces under the hotel with valet service. Conciergerie - free shuttle bus within Monaco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Columbus Monte-Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Monte-Carlo Hotel Monte-Carlo
Hotel Columbus Monaco
Columbus Monaco Fontvieille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing