We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very nice hotel with loads of service . While the interior is a little worn we usually overlook these things with other pluses. The only minus was the price which by the principality standards is quite good. Some other reviewers complained that its to far away from the centre of town..Its simple if you dont want to walk less than 1 km to be in the heart of town then put you hand in your pocket and pay for the privilege. The staff here are amazing and will help you with just about anything you need ..

Room Tip: Book through an agent for a better price
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alistairmcburnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind and witty comments. It was very nice to mention the staff attitude and we have forwarded your message onto the hotel employees as it is always rewarding to get such nice comments. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. with kindest regards. Claudine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    506
    167
    55
    25
See reviews for
164
557
49
187
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I spent a night at the Columbus at the end of march in terrible weather and I admit that the two facts of bad weather and no great love for Monaco may have tainted my impression of the hotel. On the positive side it is dirt cheap (for Monaco) and you may have a room with a view of the med. Mine had and was called a suite and I just barely managed to move around the bed. The whole hotel is in dire need of refurbishing, in my room the furniture was falling apart, the carpet was worn threadbare the wood surroundings of the shower were splintering.
Breakfast gave you a genuine french feeling unfortunately you can no longer smoke with your cafe au lait. The high point of the breakfast was the grapefruit. the restaurant is cramped and the service is typical south of france.

Would I come again, I guess not. But if you are looking for a reasonably priced place to stay that is close to the sea and central and don't mind a very mixed crowd (boxershorts and flipflops as breakfast attire!!) it is ok,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamburg1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest, we are sorry to hear you were disappointed by your stay at Columbus. As you mention the bad weather and the lack of interest for Monaco might have affected your reactions. We do understand your comments about the aging furniture and carpet, but much less the Suite dimensions, the staff attitude, you can check with the other reports which all mention the politeness and good service offered by our employees. And indeed you are in the South of France which does not sound too positive in your comments. Regards. C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
203 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We went to Monaco for a mini break and got a great deal on this hotel, my boyfriend had been to Monaco before and loved it but it was my first time. Our room was lovely with a big balcony overlooking the Princess Grace garden and with a beautiful view of the mountains, we sat and enjoyed a night cap on the balcony most nights just enjoying the view. The location is perfect for exploring Monaco, we walked everywhere. The bar is chic and enjoyable and the staff were pleasant. Breakfast was fantastic every morning, I would definitely return again. On departure we had a helicopter transfer back to Nice Airport and the helipad is right beside the hotel, altogether a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest, we are delighted to hear your first visit to Monaco was enjoyable and you enjoyed
your stay at Columbus. We would be very happy to see you back down here again for another break. Kind regards. Claudine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed with my wife for a week combining business and pleasure .

Hotel Works well. Great Restaurant , friendly staff

Cons : very expesive parking . Precooked ( plastic) french fries ! Small Room

In General Great stay .

Room Tip: Try to insist on a larger room at the check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCAAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for sending your comments to Tripadvisor and your appreciation of your stay at Columbus. Best regards. Claudine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

My significant other and I went to Columbus Hotel, Monte-Carlo for a long weekend along with sister and brother-in-law last weekend, 23 22- 25 March - purpose: just to re-charge our batteries. We were fortunate to obtain a "package" of 4 nights B+B including helicopter transfers from Nice airport to Monaco (fantastic, and well worth the extra £'s by the way).
Our check-in was very smooth - we accessed the hotel from ground level (where we were welcomed and directed by the concierge). We went up 1 level via stairs (lift available), to where the reception, restaurant & bar areas are sited.

First impressions were great - very clean, modern yet relaxing decor; professional welcome, prompt and efficient check-in, our baggage was delivered to our rooms without any difficulty. Both rooms were sited on 5th floor (503 + 507),overlooking Princess Grace's Rose Garden - though it was rather disappointing to find that this was being made ready for next month and therefore was often closed - not a rose bush in sight!!
It was particularly great that we were in a room where we could overlook the helipad as my husband is a fan of this mode of travel - in fact, this is what enticed us to stay in this particular Hotel.... though we had quite a giggle to find that we were transported to the hotel from the helipad site via road transport - it would have been quicker to walk through Princess Grace's gardens!
In the room we had a stocked fridge minibar; hair dryer / TV/ CD/ DVD player / safe / ironing board and iron, and all the usual beauty accoutrements in the bathroom. Disappointing though to find the sink cracked, and the fact that the water took ages to drain away from the sink wasn't "nice".
The room was ample in size and had sufficient space and hangers for all we took with us..... so no complaints there. The room temperature was adjustable and therefore could be made comfortable for any traveler. Once settled we returned to the ground floor and had an uninterrupted chat with the concierge (there were 2 on duty) and we were able to find out all information regarding transport, locations of the sights which we wanted to visit, and suggestion of where to find shops, other hotels and places of interest - very knowledgeable staff and professionally given. As the hotel transport was free at that particular time, we were offered a "lift" to our selected destination - all great! We often utilised this free service - on one occasion we were taken to the far end of the resort, and we enjoyed the walk back to the hotel.
Weather wise - we couldn't have asked for better - dry and mild, though fairly chilly in the evening,
The last night of our stay we dined in the hotel restaurant - and we all enjoyed a wonderful meal - served and presented very well, a most enjoyable night, reasonably priced.
Breakfast was served in the same restaurant and whilst it wasn't a fantastic spread it was sufficient - perhaps a little more choice would make the experience more memorable?
All staff throughout the hotel were always well presented and polite, and we enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and their professional manner.
Although the hotel is not centrally located we had no difficulty getting to / from our selected destinations, and although a bus service was literally jut around the corner we used the taxi service which was not costly when 4 people were sharing the costs.
There is a large Carrefoure within walking distance, and we were delighted to find that we could purchase anything which we desired here (similar to Sainsbury's / Tesco's). So on 1 day of our stay we bought bread, butter and fillings for a "picnic" tea, followed by a beautiful dessert. The fact that we were able to purchase wine / spirits at very reasonable prices meant that we could enjoy food and drink well into the early hours - all in the comfort of our hotel room. (The balcony in 503 was larger than 507 so we sat out and enjoyed the view until it became too chilly)! I'm sure you already know from the comparison to other similar type shops that all ages are catered for and that it is possible to purchase sweets, chocolate, snacks and food for all ages; also available a selection of electrical products, computers, shampoo, baby buggies / bucket & spades / safety pins or nail varnish and deodorant!! So if you forget anything don't worry!!

The only down side of the hotel (in our opinion) was not having tea / coffee making facilities -
we had one tea drinker and a coff-aholic, so thankfully we avoided disappointment and fatigue by bringing our own kettle, cups, coffee, tea etc.

In summary - we had a great time and are all agreed that we will return again to The Columbus!
We all reccommend this hotel without reservation!

Room Tip: The higher up the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valtpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest, what a much detailed and informative comment, thanks for sharing so many nice points and experiences during your stay at Columbus, we are sure this will be appreciated by our future visitors. We have taken good note of the tea kettle mention. For info, you can ask one at the room service, we don't have that in each room, but on request, we can provide one. Again, many thanks and we do hope to see you back down here with your sister and brother in law. Kind regards. Claudine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at the hotel Columbus in triple deluxe room which was very spacious, with the balcony towards a beautiful park and with a restricted view to te sea. Rooms are modern and stylish equiped, many lights give s romantic atmosphere. Concierge was very helpful. Although the hotel is in an aside bay, not in the city centre and is not easy to go on foot, shuttle bus is realy on a disposal to the hotel guests for a short drive to the centre, or casino. Bus transport is also very convinient in the Monte Carlo, and the bus station is very close to the hotel. For a breakfast there is everything you need (but note that omlet is not included in a breakfast price) and we liked very much the breakfast room - divided in smaller areas so guest have a feeling of privacy. If there will be another chance to visit Monaco, we would certainly stay at the Columbus again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Maja T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest, your comments are very nice and we have forwarded your message onto the staff, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again at Columbus. Kind regards. Claudine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
424 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Columbus is not in the city center but good bus and taxi service to whoever you want to go. The services in this boutique hotel are excellent and if you venture out of the hotel you are more with the locals than the tourists.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ETHKino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for sending your comments onto Tripadvisor and it's nice to hear you enjoyed your stay in Fontvieille and the hotel services. With kind regards. Claudine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.8 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
1.8 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#8 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
0.7 mi away
Port Palace Hotel
Port Palace Hotel
#5 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
#10 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Monte-Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Monte-Carlo

Property: Columbus Monte-Carlo
Address: 23, avenue des Papalins, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Location: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#2 Green Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Columbus Monte-Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Rosegarden dedicated to Princess Grace, close to the heliport with easy access to the Old town and the Casino square the Columbus offers 181 rooms including 53 Classic and 100 Deluxes with balcony or terrace - 14 Juniors Suites & 13 Suites Seaview - 1 Top Floor Apartment - Soundproofed and individually controlled air conditioning - Flat Screen TV- international channels Free High speed Wifi access both in rooms and public areas. Parking spaces under the hotel with valet service. Conciergerie - Beauty salon and free shuttle bus within Monaco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columbus Monte-Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Monte-Carlo Hotel Monte-Carlo
Hotel Columbus Monaco
Columbus Monaco Fontvieille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing