We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the helicopter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel represents good value for money in this unique place. Prices within the hotel are expensive by uk terms but NOT the most expensive London hotels. Pool is outside and in a great spot overlooking the Med. Nice if the weather encourages you to swim. If you travel into Monaco via the helicopter then this is the ideal hotel for you to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GardenerBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Guest, many thanks for sharing your experience at Columbus with our future visitors and I do hope you were able to take advantage of our nice pool as the weather has been mild up to now and very sunny. With best regards. Claudine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

642 - 648 of 1,345 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

We have just returned from 5 days at The Columbus Monaco and it was a wonderful experience. The weather was excellent really nice and warm and there is a lovely quiet pool to relax in. The concierge staff are so helpful and friendly, they make everyone so welcome. We had room service one evening and it was lovely. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank happyfromnorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Guest, Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and a nice sunny weather as well, this is the typical mild Mediterranean Indian Summer ! many thanks for taking the time to submit your appreciation. We hope to welcome you again in the near future for another relax and sunny break. Kind regards. Claudine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

On arrival staff were so helpful and friendly. the interior is very sophisticated yet comfortable. Our room was amazing! We had a room on the 4th floor overlooking the gardens and it was nice a quiet. There was a big comfy bed and a chaise lounge, big tv and nice mini bar. There was a supermarket nearby so we bought wine there (much cheaper) and made use of the hotels ice machines (1 on 6th and 9th floor). The bathroom was small but nice. The pool was nice, again an bit short of space but a good spot to cool off around mid afternoon with good views of the helicopters coming in to land and the nearby heli-pad. Taxi to the centre of monaco was around 15euro(but they do take there time in coming as there are only 100 taxis registered in monaco. Breakfast was nice and there was plenty choice in the continental buffet. The location around the hotel is lovely, safe and clean with plenty to look at, especially with the nearby fontiville pier and princess grace gardens. It was just bliss!

Room Tip: 420 was nice and quiet and well presented
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naomiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Guest, So kind of you to post these comments and appreciations and I am sure our future visitors will be willing to stay with us after reading them. And we do hope to see you back down here very soon for another enjoyable stay at Columbus. Kindest regards. Claudine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from the most amazing 5 days in Monaco. We stayed at the Columbus Hotel and it was fantastic. We flew into Nice and got a helicopter transfer (of course!) to Monaco and a 2 minute shuttle to our hotel. We arrived mid morning and our room wasn't ready until 3 so we left our bags with the very helpful and welcoming concierge and went off to explore. (I have to say that a welcome drink - even a nice cold glass of water would of been a nice touch and greatly needed after our journey but not the end of the world!) Our initial impression of Monaco was very good and it just got better. Everyone was so friendly, well dressed, well behaved and it is such a clean and beautiful place. Each night the concierge, Patrick, would suggest restaurants and bars for us to try and make reservations for us. The hotel also provided a free shuttle service which was very handy. Although Monaco is quite a small place, i didn't fancy the walk to Monte Carlo in heels! We used the bus a lot during the day as well which was great. We went to some fantastic restaurants - in Fontvielle (which is actually where Columbus is) there is a beautiful harbour with gorgeous boats/yachts and cars parked up. We went to The Michelangelo restaurant and also to another lovely Italian restaurant in the harbour - sorry cant remember the name but Patrick, the concierge refers to it as the fancy one! We also went to Cafe de Paris for dinner (i have to say i found this place a bit pretentious and probably would of suited us more for lunch when it is slightly less formal) it didn't help that I naively ordered steak tartare (not realising that it is raw beef and turned up looking like a burger patty dumped on my plate - see Mr Bean Steak Tartare for more details). My husband had an equally disappointing meal here opting for Veal, he had high hopes but these were soon dashed when a very flat and grey piece of battered meat turned up. Overall, way too expensive, way too pretentious and just not good enough. The Fairmont Hotels Argentinian restaurant however...that was utterly fantastic and by far the best meal of my life! The waiters were so polite and attentive, they treated us so well and the food was sublime. We had Steak and it was brilliant. The wine menu was presented on an ipad and there was even a mustard menu to choose what mustard you would like with your steak. Overall, amazing place (great view over the sea), amazing food and although its pricey, well worth it! Next stop - The Hotel de Paris American Bar. This place oozes sophistication and having a cocktail sat in here while the jazz band plays is an experience i will never forget. Again, expensive but so worth it (cocktails average about 28 euros each so not toooo bad for such a great place). Of course we couldn't go to Monaco without frequenting the Casinos. The three main ones are The Sun (joined to the Fairmont Hotel), the Cafe de Paris Casino (This was just all computerised slot machines really, no proper tables) and best of all The Monte Carlo Casino - this is the most glamorous place and an absolute must see. I cant explain how beautiful this place is, you just have to go and see for yourself! Before i came away i read a lot of reviews and tried to gauge the dress code i should expect - after reading the reviews for Mens dress code i persuaded my husband to take a jacket and he ended up wearing it every night (no tie). For the ladies - definitely a place where you can really dress up - get glammed up and enjoy it. Heels and all. you wont feel overdressed at all and it was so fun to really embrace the whole culture of getting dressed up every night. Oh, we also went to a really great wine bar where the waiter chooses you a wine by asking you a few q's about what kind of wine you like, They serve it by the glass and you get some delicious canapés with it - our bill was 14 euros so not bad at all for another lovely experience. We went to Budda Bar too which was nice. We did go on a few trips whilst staying here (Cannes, Nice, St Pauls, Eze) we also went to the Palace, saw the changing of the guard, went to the Oceanographic museum, the Cathedral and the St Louis Stadium) We also had a morning at the beach (there is a mixture of private and public beaches where you pay about 16 euros each for the day for a subbed) and we also spent some time by the lovely pool at the hotel which was good. The hotel was beautifully presented, the rooms were nicely decorated and the bed was huge! and extremely comfy. We had a lovely sea view which also overlooked the Princess Grace Rose Gardens so we were very pleased. the breakfast is very nice too - i ate far too many croissants and pain au chocolate but they were irresistible! The lounge and bar area was very chic and chilled out and we enjoyed a few cocktails here before heading out. As mentioned before, we found the concierge very helpful - Patrick particularly and another blond lady but unfortunately we didn't get her name. On the last day we had lunch at the hotel and the club sandwich is out of this world! Anyway, to summarise, we had an amazing time here and i cant wait to go back. if you are thinking of going then go for it, you wont regret it. Thank you Monaco! xxxx

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Grace F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Grace F. You certainly enjoyed and made the most of your trip to Monaco. We are delighted to hear you liked the Columbus and was well taken care of. We have noted your advice for the Welcome Drink. We usually offer a drink to the guests on arrival after 3 pm as this is the normal check in time, but we will pass on your comment onto the F&B Manager as it is a good thing to consider the travelers who had an early flight/arrival and might enjoy a little refreshment. Thank you for your kind appreciation and all your comments will be passed onto the different services.
We hope to see you back in the very near future, as Monaco is a great citybreak destination within easy access from UK. Kind regards. Claudine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Good rooms and perfect decoration. Modern forniture and all facilities (iron, hairdryer, etc)
Complete gym, and near the old harbour in case outdoor activities are prefered.

Fantastic atmosphere. Breakfast could improved with healthier options, but in general is acceptable.

Price is average and location is nearby everything.

Room Tip: Ourdoor rooms with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TxRxM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Guest, many thanks for forwarding your comments and appreciation. We will take good note of your advice concerning the "healthy breakfast". We hope to see you back to Columbus on a future professional or private journey. with best regards. C. Drollet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We got a twin bed room at Euro 180 per night which I believe is a good deal in Monaco (breakfast not included). there is a nice swimming pool, sufficiently big to swim laps. the concierge service is most helpful but the reception highly inflexible and unattentitive. interior is like a well-kept four-star hotel. sizeable rooms. we had a good view on 8th floor

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExphilipX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Guest, many thanks for your kind appreciation, we are sorry to hear the reception staff was not so helpful as the Conciergerie. We have forwarded your comment to the Reception Manager. We are pleased to hear you were satisfied with the room and we just want to add we are a 3star hotel, so your comment is even more appreciated. Kind regards. C. Drollet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband & I visit Monaco once a year we absolutely love it and always stay in the Columbus hotel it never disappoints, I can confirm what all the other reviews say, that is concierge staff always happy and helpful, as to all the staff. Lovely pool area although this is shared with the neighbouring apartments it is not a problem but it does get very busy so need to get there early.
It is in the quieter part of the town but this is the area we enjoy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasper27uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine58, Public Relations Manager at Columbus Monte-Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Guest, It sounds like you are part of the Columbus Fan Club. Great to hear you are a regular visitor and we do hope you will be coming very often to enjoy the relax and cool ambiance at Columbus. Your comment is even more important to us as you have stayed with us several times and can have a pretty accurate opinion on our hotel. Kind regards. Claudine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte-Carlo
0.8 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,189 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#6 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,731 reviews
1.8 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
#10 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
397 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Monte-Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Monte-Carlo

Address: 23 Avenue des Papalins, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Phone Number:
Location: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range: $144 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Columbus Monte-Carlo 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Rosegarden dedicated to Princess Grace, close to the heliport with easy access to the Old town and the Casino square the Columbus offers 181 rooms including 53 Classic and 100 Deluxes with balcony or terrace - 14 Juniors Suites & 13 Suites Seaview - 1 Top Floor Apartment - Soundproofed and individually controlled air conditioning - Flat Screen TV- international channels - Free High speed Wifi access both in rooms and public areas. Conciergerie - free shuttle bus within Monaco. Secured car park with optional valet parking. Parking spaces with charging stations for electric vehicles. Parking rates per car per night: October to April €25 ; May to September €35. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Columbus Monte-Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Monte-Carlo Hotel Monte-Carlo
Hotel Columbus Monaco
Columbus Monaco Fontvieille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing