We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing for people watching” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casino Square

Casino Square
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.82*
and up
Private Tour: Monaco at Night by Minivan
Ranked #4 of 43 things to do in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
140 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Amazing for people watching”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

You could spend hours here just people watching and admiring the flash cars. Manicured gardens, pavement cafe, fancy hotels and of course the casino itself.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bermuda1Cheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,058 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,083
    729
    196
    31
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice, but only worth a short visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

A friend and I came to spend a day in Monaco during a recent vacation in France. For me, the best part of Monaco, including Casino Square, is the public art and gardens, which were very attractive, even in February. The Grand Casino is elegant, the Hotel de Paris just across from it I found to be more impressive. We had a very sub-par hot chocolate at the Cafe de Paris on the square (actually, we found most chocolat chaud on the Riviera to be lacking; better to go to Paris or Barcelona for that!). The most interesting part of our time here was spent people watching and car watching. Lamborghinis, Bentleys, Rolls Royces, Porsches, Aston Martins -- we saw these and more in the roughly 45 minutes we spent on the square.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travlinblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“People watching”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Loved looking at the cars and people outside the casino and the building itself. But the nearby cafes were average.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovakia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fancy cars and a tiny little spot of grass.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

I guess this little fountain is worth a glance, but it's certainly not a destination. It's basically a bit of grass, a few sidewalks, and a fountain, surrounded by streets where even the crappy cars are nice.

Helpful?
1 Thank JPMORGANN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice View - But A One-Time Thing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Certainly a good place to look at fancy cars and to people-watch, because it's jammed during the day. The Square is anchored on one side by the Casino, another by the Hôtel de Paris, the third by a cluster of buildings whose names escape me and the fourth by a view of Monte-Carlo backed by the mountains--very postcardesque.

If you have the opportunity, you can go around behind the casino and opera where you will get a spectacular view of the Mediterranean. And the rear of the casino is actually much more ornately decorated than the front.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank WildCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casino Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing