We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking location, friendly staff, good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Fairmont Monte Carlo
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Breathtaking location, friendly staff, good value for money”
Reviewed December 23, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for two nights on a business trip, The main attraction of this hotel is the amazing bar which directly overlooks the sea. The views are spectacular and probably some of the best I have ever experienced in any hotel. The staff here are very friendly and even gave me a free lunch since it took rather long in arriving. There is an in-house casino, which is a little bit on the seedy side, but still fun all the same. I had a room in a quite, secluded courtyard which was pleasant enough, and to be expected given the special conference room rates. Unfortunately the hotel upper floors were being renovated so the restaurants located there were closed. The hotel is ideally located for main casino, walks along the sea front and trips into town. The best way into Monaco is the helicopter from Nice airport. Make sure that you do this at least once! It costs about 110 Euros per person and is well worth it.

  • Liked — Fantastic location and bar
  • Disliked — Renovations meant that some facilities were closed
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank karate_boss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,699
    979
    366
    135
    75
See reviews for
484
1,287
110
761
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2008

I spent here 2 nights for work reasons. My room was very wide with the view on the road and just a small view on the sea. Lobby and common spaces are great, good brakfast (crepes unforgettable) but I didn't like the workers behaviour. It looks like they have too many clients and there is no care about the guests. for example 2 waiters were fighting in the breakfast room without taking care of guest who were looking to them. Food is great but another weak point is internet. for 15 minutes 8 euros, for 24 hrs 19,90 euros. ok it is a deluxe hotel and price must be 5 stars, but I found it very bad to pay so much money for this.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — internet price
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank teresabattista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2008

I spent 3 nights at the hotel as part of a South France tour. The hotel was all I was expecting from a Fairmont. Lovely rooms and I couldn't ask for anything more. Big bathrooms. The hotel is upgrading and expect to be complete before May, 09. If your not prepared, you will find Monaco to be very expensive.

The hotel does have a casino off the lobby. No charge to enter. To go to the Monte Carlo Casino the cost is 10 euro's and within walking distance. I was told it's not worth the cost to enter. The breakfast that was offered at the hotel with our room was very good and many options to pick from. To purchase the continental breakfast separately was 22 euro's. If your planning on walking anywhere from the hotel, it is very hilly. There is a bus stop in front of the hotel. I did not use the public service within Monte Carlo. If needing a ride to the Nice airport, a bus picks up hourly in front of the hotel. Makes a few stops within Monte Carlo then direct to the airport. Cost was 16 euro's. I did this and it worked great. Tickets purchased on the bus. A taxi is 90 euros.

Suggestion: If you want to see some of the local area's outside of Monte Carlo take the train. I took the train from Monaco to Nice one day. Cost is about 8 euro's round trip and worth every penny. Ride was about 20 minutes. Also do the same and visit Villa France. I just LOVED these area's. Things are not as expensive in these locations and the ride is really nice. The views are just beautiful. Worth your time to visit these area's and it's easy to get there. Both are located along the ocean. The train station was about a 15 minute walk from the hotel. I would also suggest walking the harbor just below the hotel. The yachts are beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Anggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2008

We only stayed one night and we enjoyed every minute. Monaco itself is fantastic and the hotel is just as good. The seaview and balcony were worth every penny especially at sunrise. The service was impeccable. We booked direct and I mentioned it was my 'other halves' 40th Birthday and within minutes of checking in, a complimentary bottle of champagne arrived - I know we paid a lot for staying there but thats still nice! Couldn't fault the cleanliness and helpfulness. The breakfast was good, every taste I would've thought is catered for from a cooked breakfast to a full fresh juice bar and you can only imagine the pastries and cheeses etc. I hoping we get to return for my 40th and stay a little longer.......

  • Liked — that it couldn't be faulted. every effort was made to make our stay great.
  • Disliked — I'd like to be able to afford to go more often
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank pollydog100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2008

Whilst I agree with all the positive review below it is worth noting the hotel is undergoing major refurbishment work, which I understand will continue till May 2009. During our four night stay in early October 2008 the roof terrace including the pool and fitness centre were all closed. Throughout the day (8:30 - 5:00) there was drilling and banging from the work on the upper floors. If you are planning on being out during the day I guess none of this will be of much consequence and I would still recommend this hotel, however if you are planning a relaxing by the pool trip you may want to reconsider your plans.

  • Liked — Bed, and location.
  • Disliked — Building work.. No pool or outside space... Guess this will be sorted by spring 2009
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Magpie1862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2008

I attended a work retreat at the Fairmont Monte Carlo. The rooms were very comfortable and the food quite good (which was no mean feat, as we had over 200 attendees). My room (on the first floor, which is actually below the lobby level) was very sunny and bright, with a comfortable bed and nice furnishings. The best part was the fantastic balcony overlooking the Mediterranean, and it was heavenly to listen to the waves while lying in bed. The service was superb -- when I asked for new pillows, they were brought immediately, and the concierge happily provided maps and advice whenever asked.

  • Liked — Seaview balconies
  • Disliked — Expensive
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thompso2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2008

3 nights here for business in Jan 2008.

Things I liked:
nice reception
location/views
breakfast
free wrireless internet in reception

Things I didn't like:
expensive
about $60 for a breast of chicken
smokey everywhere
old fashioned/tired bedroom
small beds

  • Liked — nice buffet breakfast
  • Disliked — smells of smoke in all public areas
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel4workandplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.8 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,611 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
#2 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,326 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#8 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Monte Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Monte Carlo

Property: Fairmont Monte Carlo
Address: 12 Avenue des Spelugues, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Phone Number:
Location: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#2 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#5 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#6 Spa Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Monte Carlo 4*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Monte Carlo hotel is a unique four-star luxury convention resort located in the heart of the Principality of Monaco in between the Mediterranean Sea and the legendary Casino. It offers an unique view of the blue horizon, the famous Casino of Monte-Carlo and one of the best views on the Formula 1 circuit, the famous Fairmont hairpin.Spacious, comfortable with private terraces, its 602 rooms and suites decline perfectly the Riviera style.Fine dining at Nobu Fairmont Monte Carlo,amazing cuisine, mixing traditional Japanese dishes and South American spices and aromas; delicious and local Mediterranean cuisine at the Horizon-Deck, Restaurant & Champagne Bar, with breathtaking sea views; and non-stop service in a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere in front of the Mediterranean Sea at the Saphir 24, lounge & bar, open 24h/7d.Not to be missed, the award-winning 900 sqm Willow Stream Spa bathed by natural light, its ultra-modern Fitness Centre and its all year round heated pool between sea and sky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Monte Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Monte Carlo Hotel Monte-Carlo
Fairmont Hotel Monte Carlo
Fairmont Resort Monte Carlo
Monte-Carlo Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Monaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing