We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great but Dated!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Monte Carlo
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great but Dated!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Yes it's nice, service is great but it is a little dated.
Pool and spa was good
Food was great too
Rooms nice size and clean
All items dated but floors vary, mine was not as good as a friends room or floor decoration.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,639
    934
    350
    123
    66
See reviews for
459
1,225
107
734
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Augie101898
Level Contributor
70 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Outside it is great, the cars, yahts, ocean. the rooms are not fancy but well done. Roomy by standards in Europe. Hallways are VERY long. It is a hike if you are at the end away from elevator. Did room service a few times and it was very good. Heck it is Monte Carlo, Just have fun and enjoy the view!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Augie101898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia area
Level Contributor
434 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were on a tour so I don't know what the room cost, but it was a truly fine experience--great bed, great shower, fine atmosphere in all the rooms. The dinner was one of the best "group" dinners we've had--interesting and fresh salad, fine breads, excellent service, great entree with accommodations for those with dietary needs that looked fine as well--no rubber chicken here!!
And, the breakfast that came with the room was one of the best--omelet to perfection, amazing variety of breads, fruits, yoghurts--just about anything one could wish for.
The only negative is the one all upscale hotels share: charging for internet use. I think it was $19 a day, but even $1 is too much for people already paying premium prices for 5 star rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get near an elevator. The size of this place means a very long walk between them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorthArrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMC98, Directeur général at Fairmont Monte Carlo, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay and our restaurants. Please note that there is complimentary internet provided for all Fairmont Presidents Club members and we invite you to join so you can receive all of the advantages the club has to offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont Monte Carlo in the future.

Sincerely,

Louis Starck, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Fairmont sits on prime Monaco real estate overlooking the harbor and is quite literally built into the cliffs. One should expect it to be expensive and grand. The price and the lobby filled the bill. Rooms are spread out horizontally and the walks are long. The rooms were nice but not up to the price in space. Naturally, amenities are extra including $19.95 for internet in rooms and even the lobby. Cell phone and cell data reception was problematic in many areas. Do not miss the Japanese Gardens!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MountainTopTrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMC98, Directeur général at Fairmont Monte Carlo, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am delighted to see that you have enjoyed your stay to the upmost. We are continuously trying to improve in order to create an unforgettable experience for our guests.
We are looking forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont Monte Carlo again!

Sincerely,

Louis Starck, Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Arrived her for 1 night prior to cruise, well what can I say the hotel looked lovely inside
with a singer and pianist but we had to wait 1 hour before we finally had to call a waiter over to take our drinks order.

A waiter dropped a glass bowl of pasta on the floor which broke it was left there for 10 minutes until "A little Black Boy" cleared it up , DISGUSTING.

The following morning breakfast was served not nice, well below par and again same ignorant waiter ignored us until I called another over and spoke in French.

Really wouldn't stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank tigerwoman1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMC98, Directeur général at Fairmont Monte Carlo, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience at the Fairmont Monte-Carlo on Trip Advisor.

On behalf of the food and beverage department, I apologize for the experience that you had encountered at the restaurant. Please note, this is not the quality service that we pride ourselves on having. I would be happy to discuss this issue in further detail with you and I invite you to contact me directly at : louis.starck@fairmont.com.

I hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to the Fairmont Monte-Carlo.

Sincerely,

Louis Starck
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Nothing special about this hotel, the rooms are tired and not well serviced the numerous cigarette butts left by someone prior to us on the balcony floor remained for our entire visit.
Visited the hotels casino for the first time, the drinks water after delivering our drinks began saying something in French and aggressively thrusting his tray at me. Assuming he wanted payment for the drinks I placed a €25 chip on the tray, only after this did the roulette croupier advise me that drinks in the casino are free and I had just tipped the waiter £25. I noticed the same waiter doing the same thing to other customers during the evening, so beware.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to elevators or you can be in for a substantial walk to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Murrste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Was staying with friends in the end of July, 2013.

The location of the hotel is good. The rooms were nice.
The hotel was almost full, therefore there was a need to book sun beds at the pool. But even when we booked, there was no our reservation: not for sun beds as well as for umbrellas. And the personal of the hotel didn't care about this much. All we were told " we could not help you with this" or " we can do nothing". I have hospitality background and I don't think that phrases like these are appropriate in such hotel chain like Fairmont.

What I really liked about the hotel was russian speaking man from Kazahstan from concierge department. He did his job very well.

Apparently there was my birthday during this period of time, and hotel presented for me a cake, which was also nice.

One day there was a storm and they change the place for breakfast. I understand that weather conditions are hard to prevent. But when I ordered oatmeal, I was waiting it for one hour. During this time I reminded them several times about it, but waiters weren't really attentive not only for me, for all guests. But the woman who was responsible for dress code always doesn't like how I was look like at the breakfast (because under my clothes was swim suit) and always made some comments about it. But when I wasn't happy with the service she always dissapeared.

Noticeable thing: when we arrived, the greeting letter was on the name of Mr. Vovchenko. But my friend is a woman ;)

The overall expression of the hotel was good. But I am in doubt would I stay there next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nataliya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.8 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#8 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
#2 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Monte Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Monte Carlo

Property: Fairmont Monte Carlo
Address: 12 Avenue des Spelugues, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Phone Number:
Location: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#5 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#6 Spa Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Monte Carlo 4*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Monte Carlo hotel is a unique four-star luxury convention resort located in the heart of the Principality of Monaco in between the Mediterranean Sea and the legendary Casino. It offers an unique view of the blue horizon, the famous Casino of Monte-Carlo and one of the best views on the Formula 1 circuit, the famous Fairmont hairpin.Spacious, comfortable with private terraces, its 602 rooms and suites decline perfectly the Riviera style.Fine dining at Nobu Fairmont Monte Carlo,amazing cuisine, mixing traditional Japanese dishes and South American spices and aromas; delicious and local Mediterranean cuisine at the Horizon-Deck, Restaurant & Champagne Bar, with breathtaking sea views; and non-stop service in a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere in front of the Mediterranean Sea at the Saphir 24, lounge & bar, open 24h/7d.Not to be missed, the award-winning 900 sqm Willow Stream Spa bathed by natural light, its ultra-modern Fitness Centre and its all year round heated pool between sea and sky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Fairmont Hotels, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairmont Monte Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Monte Carlo Hotel Monte-Carlo
Fairmont Hotel Monte Carlo
Fairmont Resort Monte Carlo
Monte-Carlo Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Monaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing