We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit in last twelve months and its got better..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Monte Carlo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairmont Monte Carlo
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Second visit in last twelve months and its got better..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We repeated our visit with family of five in two garden rooms ( twin with roll- away and a double). Hotel unchanged from prior year but the staff seemed to be making more effort which made a good experience a great experience - small things like room service using your name to address you. Monaco is an outrageously decadent and lavish place and we find the Fairmont is perfectly placed for you to fully experience this opulence without being overwhelmed. I'd previously commented on the high poolside food & beverage prices, these remain but for some reason didn't "seem" as high - maybe I'm just getting conditioned to it. Overall we had a fabulous stay and our experience had got even better than our first visit.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are fab but the garden rooms are perfectly good ( we've had them twice) and are q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bart0nFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMC98, Directeur général at Fairmont Monte Carlo, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Madame, Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us at the Fairmont Monte Carlo. We were delighted that you ejoyed your stay with us, our goal is transform moments into memories for our guests, and we are consantly aiming to improve our service and product. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed the poolside food and beverage service.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the Fairmont Monte Carlo in the future.

Sincerely,
Louis Starck - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,607
    917
    340
    120
    63
See reviews for
449
1,197
106
717
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arendal, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

The whole stay developed to be an endless row of troubles. The best thing about this hotel was to leave.

- We were going to stay for 3 nights (late arrival) and ordered "Beach package" for the two full days. That was supposed to include "daily access to one of four private beaches with lounge beds, shuttle transfer and a beach bag" as stated on the Fairmont web page. This however turned out to be a big disappointment. The beach was already full and the Fairmont receptionist explained this as our fault since we hadn't reserved beds. Why weren't we informed that we needed to reserve in advance? Why didn't Fairmont just reserve beds when we ordered? We wanted to get the money back for the beach package that day, but that was also impossible. Needless to say, this was horrendous customer service. During all this the staff was unhelpful and unwilling to understand our view of the matter. The next day we luckily got a place at the beach, but at checkout we were charged with 90 euros extra for this, since the beach package was set up on the first day (when we arrived late), the next day that we didn't get any beach place and not the day we actually ordered and stayed at the beach. This too was a big problem for the man in the counter, just time after time repeating this explanation with an arrogant attitude. Luckily the manager was nearby and sorted out the matter, but this should not be necessary.

- Other than this the hotel was swarmed with staff: You had to talk and "check in" with some people just to go to breakfast. When we moved table at the breakfast because of lack of shadow, they were obviously annoyed. The breakfast itself was not anything special, a bare minimum of what to expect at any hotel.

- The rooms were ok, I slept well the nights we stayed there, but in general they looked out-dated.

Also taking into account the steep pricing I think this is bad value, and I will not recommend this hotel to anyone. It was not a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GnusNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I go to Monaco every June for a conference. Previously, I have stayed at the Hermitage which I love but it was a long and hot walk away from the Grimaldi Forum. This year I decided to try the Fairmont as it is closer to the action. It is a smart hotel but I had two problems - one was that it is huge and the walk to my room took far too long and I felt uncomfortable walking the corridors late at night. Secondly, there are lots of 'girls' hanging around the lobby, presumably because of the in- house casino. There is a wonderful terrace restaurant overlooking the bay and the position of the hotel is pretty good. However, I won't be staying again - it took over an hour and a 'phone call for my bags to reach my room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minnie12359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMC98, Directeur général at Fairmont Monte Carlo, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Madame, Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us at the Fairmont Monte Carlo. I apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. While it is true that we have a large hotel, please note that we are happy to accomidate requests for rooms located close to the elevators. When making your next reservation, please inform the reservations department of your preference and we will insure that your request is met.

I would be happy to discuss the other details of your stay; please do not hesitate to contact me directly at louis.starck@fairmont.com. I remain at your dispostion for any further information you may require. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the Fairmont Monte Carlo.

Sincerely,
Louis Starck - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the Fairmont in Monaco in June. I admit after reading some lukewarm reviews I was a little nervous staying here, but I didn't have to be. My husband and I had a wonderful stay here. We checked in around 2 pm; check-in was efficient and quick. When we were done checking in, we turned around and the manager was standing there to take us to our hotel room. He was very nice and courteous, telling us about the hotel and the area without trying to sell us anything.

Our room, #5022, had a sea view, and what a view! We saw all kinds of cruise ships and mega yachts right outside our balcony. It was one of the most amazing views I've ever had at a hotel.
The room was clean and had a king size bed. The bathroom was also clean and even spacious with 2 sinks and a separate toilet room. The shower stall was small but good water pressure and lots of hot water.

We stayed 2 nights and spent a good amount of time on the balcony just watching the boats go by and enjoying the sun. At night there were fireworks over the beach.

The exercise room on the 7th floor had lots of weights and aerobic machines for working out, and a panoramic view of the eastern half of the country and sea. The attendant was very nice, bringing me 2 bottles of water and a towel (didn't have to ask for them!). We didn't use the spa so can't comment on that.

We had breakfast delivered to our room one morning. We asked for a 9:30 am delivery and they arrived promptly. We had pastries and fruit and it was all delicious. We didn't eat in any of their restaurants so can't comment on those.

The entire staff was very friendly and very efficient, from the concierges to the bellmen who gave us directions and helped us find souvenir shops. The location is terrific, kinda in the middle of the country, an easy walk to the casino, beach, marina and king's palace.

We highly recommend this hotel and hope we can come back some day.

Room Tip: Room 5022 has a panoramic sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheZackClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at the hotel and enjoyed our stay. The staff a very friendly and helpful in all areas of the hotel. The pool area is beautiful with magnificent views over the sea but at busy times its necessary to pay to book a space. The restaurants are stylish and food very good but expensive. Our room was nice, fairly standard decor with a lovely comfortable bed - views from garden rooms are not very inspiring ! I was surprised that wifi was almost 20 euros a day !
Gym is good with nice changing area and spa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Fairmont is a very nice luxurious hotel that is perfectly located near the Casino. Our room was very well equipped, spacious and comfortable with a balcony overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. A lovely buffet breakfast at the Horizon restaurant was included in our stay. The staff were very friendly and I would definitely not hesitate to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lajic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Hands down one of the best hotels i have visited.
This hotel is in a perfect location, close to many things in Monaco, it's lobby is also right in front of one of the Formula One Grand Prix's curves. A huge lobby with spacious rooms and prompt room service, house keeping as well as a perfect concierge.
The view from the pool on the top floor is extraordinary and extremely relaxing. This hotel also has a decent sized casino in the lobby hence there is always some 'action' in the lobby. The hotel itself is not a resort however there is a beach just one minute away therefore that adds a few hours to your activities.
Very relaxing and great for vacations.

Room Tip: Sea view or track view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billal Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMC98, Directeur général at Fairmont Monte Carlo, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Madame, Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us at the Fairmont Monte Carlo. We were delighted that you ejoyed your stay and the unique location of the hotel, situated right on the Formula One Hairpin turn. It is also a pleasure to see that you were able to enjoy the other services that the hotel has to offer including in room dining.

We very much look forward to welcome you back to the Fairmont Monte Carlo.

Sincerely,
Louis Starck - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.7 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#8 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
#2 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Monte Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Monte Carlo

Property: Fairmont Monte Carlo
Address: 12 Avenue des Spelugues, Monte-Carlo 98007, Monaco
Phone Number:
Location: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#5 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#6 Spa Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Monte Carlo 4*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Monte Carlo hotel is a unique four-star luxury convention resort located in the heart of the Principality of Monaco in between the Mediterranean Sea and the legendary Casino. It offers an unique view of the blue horizon, the famous Casino of Monte-Carlo and one of the best views on the Formula 1 circuit, the famous Fairmont hairpin.Spacious, comfortable with private terraces, its 602 rooms and suites decline perfectly the Riviera style.Fine dining at Nobu Fairmont Monte Carlo,amazing cuisine, mixing traditional Japanese dishes and South American spices and aromas; delicious and local Mediterranean cuisine at the Horizon-Deck, Restaurant & Champagne Bar, with breathtaking sea views; and non-stop service in a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere in front of the Mediterranean Sea at the Saphir 24, lounge & bar, open 24h/7d.Not to be missed, the award-winning 900 sqm Willow Stream Spa bathed by natural light, its ultra-modern Fitness Centre and its all year round heated pool between sea and sky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Monte Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Monte Carlo Hotel Monte-Carlo
Fairmont Hotel Monte Carlo
Fairmont Resort Monte Carlo
Monte-Carlo Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Monaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing