We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, near everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont Monte Carlo
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We spent five days here and loved it. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a "hair pin turn" room on the fourth floor and it was incredible! Our balcony room allowed us to people/tourist watch all day and night. The beds are super comfy and spacious. There are no vending machines, so you must call room service for ice. The bus stop is across the street, along with a McDonalds (try the banana bread cake at breakfast for 2.50 euros). The city bus comes every five minutes, is easy, and stops at the tourist spots. If you ever get lost, no worries...every city bus comes past the Fairmont! An exclusive mall is at the top of the hill. Banquet food served at this hotel was fabulous! When we ordered from the menu in the restaurant, we got an excellent hamburger and BLT with sodas and fries for about 62 euros. Robes and slippers come with the room. Taxis are readily available. A casino inside the hotel is nice and they even have a one cent machine! There are two other casinos next door and they are walkable! For a large selection of souvenirs, go to the Prince's palace where there are lots of shops and restaurants near the sites (Cathedral/oceanic museum, Napolean museum). Whatever you do here, bring a camera! The sites are breathtaking...even inside and outside the hotel! Join the Fairmont's presidents club loyalty program before arriving. It has several perks, including upgrades and using their locked business center to print boarding passes and check your email. The Nice, France airport is about 30 minutes away and costs about 90 euros one way. Make sure you have cash! Taxis are NOT equipped with credit card machines. Also, shops are closed on Sunday, but all the tourist spots are open on Sunday! US dollars can be exchanged at the front desk for Euros at no charge.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMC98, General Manager at Fairmont Monte Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Fairmont Monte Carlo in a such precise way. The fact that you enjoyed your stay with us is the best reward we can get and it strengthens our commitment to offer our guests the best. I have already shared your satisfaction with all my teams who were delighted about it.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Monte Carlo.

Sincerely yours,

Louis Starck,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,715 - 1,721 of 3,527 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

I booked the Fairmont to celebrate my 40th birthday with 3 friends. We had booked well in advance with a request for 2 twin rooms close to each other. When we arrived to check in we were told it was not possible to have twin rooms close to each other and bearing in mind the size of the hotel we found this ridiculous. After several hours (and a rather pleasant but hugely expensive lunch in the roof top restaurant) we were finally allocated 2 twin rooms next door to each other - not so hard really surely?
The twin rooms were a good size but the bathrooms a little on the small size - just a bath with shower over, however everywhere was clean and the housekeeping generally good.
The hotel itself has a series of "rules" which we were aware of before our visit thanks to trip advisor. I must say I have been lucky enough to stay in some first class hotels worldwide and have never come across corkage charges for any water/soft drinks/alcohol not purchased from the hotel. Other "rules" included charging to reserve sun loungers in the fabulous roof pool area, however to be told this and see many empty loungers that seemed to stay empty was very frustrating. Money talks I guess.
The breakfast was fantastic with amazing views over the ocean, just a shame the ladies at the front desk approach you in such an accusing manner when you come out of the lift.
The service throughout the hotel was mixed, the bar staff at the Billionaires Club were great, but try getting a taxi from the bellhops outside? Forget it unless you are top to toe Stella McCartney, one of them just walked away from me as I was mid sentence which I don't tolerate from my husband so I certainly didn't tolerate from him!! I did mention this to the management as I left and in fairness the manager was straight outside to speak to the person in question. The overall feeling here is that they are doing you a favour rather than the fact we've all paid good money to stay.
In summary, this place has a perfect location and should be fantastic but it is just a little bit up itself and money definitely talks. However my advice to them is you should never judge a book by its cover......

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grasmere4033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMC98, General Manager at Fairmont Monte Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to report your experience at the Fairmont Monte Carlo on TripAdvisor. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel's situation. I have taken notice of your remark and would like to assure you that we pay very particular attention to offer our clients the best services possible. The hotel is offering a wide choice of restaurant, bar and In Room dining experiences that are available for our guests. Food coming into the hotel should be delivered to your room through the in room dining and a corkage fee should indeed apply. This is a food security and hygien procedure and is common in many hotels throughout the world.
Finaly, In order to guarantee the best experience possible, we offer the possibility to reserve swimming-pool transat in advance at a daily cost. Patrons may choose not to book them in advance and can of course enjoy the swiming pool and the transat, pending they are free ones upon arriving. I am available should you you wish to discuss your experience with me at your convenience.
I look forward to hearing from you and to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Monte Carlo very soon.

Sincerely yours,

Louis Starck,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I've stayed in some very nice hotels and some very bad ones. I won't say that the be at the Fairmont was as bad as the cheap motels I've stayed at but it's not much better. Very surprising and disappointing. Hotel staff confirmed all the rooms have the same style bed. On the upside I stayed in one f the rooms overlooking the hairpin turn of the formula one track. Just without the formula one cars.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gibscreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMC98, General Manager at Fairmont Monte Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to report your experience at the Fairmont Monte Carlo on TripAdvisor. I regret to hear about your bad experience. It is of course not the kind of experience we would like to offer our guests.
I would really appreciate if you could contact me directly at the hotel at your convenience so we can discuss this episode.

Sincerely yours,

Louis Starck,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The see view room is a must , the hotel is pricey but it is a walking distance from the Monte Carlo casino and the a famous bar is right next door,the Stuff was quite friendly, Loved the rooftop pool area and Breakfast was delicious , although the hallway leading towards the room got a bit smelly in the evening.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Good hotel. AMAZING ROOFTOP!!!!

1. Rooms -- Clean, well kept, in beachy feel. Soft/comfy beds. Good, clean bath.
2. Service -- check in was a bit of a hassle because they make you fill out a lot of paperwork, but I guess that's just a part of being out of the country.
3. Pool - AMAZING! It's on the roof overlooking the mountains. At night it becomes a lounge called "Billionaire" with a DJ/lights/etc. SOOOOOO NICE!
4. Food -- Great food! They have a rooftop restaurant with a great breakfast buffet and good food for the other meals. The best part is the view!
5. Casino -- typical casino. Flashy/lights/typical games.

Would 100% stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 357JenniferB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I was in Monte Carlo because of a Conference held at the Fairmont: the location behind the Casino on the hairpin curve is great. Staff at the front desk is very friendly, special requests made before arrival, in connection with the room, were met perfectly. The hallway leading to the room was rather smelly, the closer I got to the room, probably due to some water damage. The room however was spotless and of adequate size with a balcony overlooking part of the harbour and the helipad. The ironing board and iron supplied was a welcome commodity. The toiletries were of excellent quality – wish I knew where to buy the body lotion, which is outstanding. The costs for accessing the internet are too high, as in all the better hotels. I still fail to understand why low price chains can offer free internet while the expensive places overprice the service. The view from the roof top terrace restaurant, where we had a welcome reception, was spectacular, the appetizers tasty but the warm mains served on the buffet only lukewarm and rather bland – had expected better since this was a Fairmont. Desserts offered however were very good. Breakfast was served away from the regular guests in a separate room with a spectacular view over the Mediterranean, alas the choice of bread minimal and the scrambled eggs totally tasteless. Luncheons were served in the same room but the wait to get to the only two buffets set up lengthy, as more than 200 people attended, and the seating was very cramped. Staff was mostly helpful and pleasant. Drinks at the bar were pricy, as expected. All in all, a good experience but not affordable for everyone. A word of advice if you want to go to the Casino outside the hotel: dress appropriately – I saw some tourists trying unsuccessfully to enter in shorts and flip flops…

Room Tip: Many of the rooms have a courtyard view and are more quiet, but of course one is usually willing to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMC98, General Manager at Fairmont Monte Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on your recent stay with us on trip Advisor. We are delighted to recevive such positive comments. I have shared them with my team and all are very proud to have exceeded your hopes.

We consider your comments to be our best reward. We will continue working on the facilities and service improvement, such as the breakfast service, which unfortuntely seems not having met your expectations.

Moreover, and making reference to your comment about the price of the WIFI, please note that it can be free of charge by registering to our Fairmont President's Club loyalty program which is complimentary.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back soon to The Fairmont Monte Carlo.

Sincerly yours,

Louis Starck,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

In Monte-Carlo, you do feel like you're in a fairy-land or some time of other world. Approaching the Fairmont which is the site of the Gran Prix Hairpin Turn, you know you are arriving at somewhere different. Yes, it costs but you have accommodating staff trying to satisfy you in every way. We had a sea and town view and it was so beautiful to look at from our balcony. The roof top Horizon Restaurant served up delicious meals. We had a great hamburger at the poolside restaurant. Yes, it costs but it was so worth it. The property is just behind the Grand Casino, it is near a bus stop, and shopping malls. The waves were loud??? You're in a hotel that is built on pilings in the water--of course the waves are loud but what would you expect? Would love to return. It was wonderful.

Room Tip: If you don't have a seaview room, you may be overlooking an interior courtyard or the helipad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AClarke625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.8 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,719 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#6 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,754 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
#2 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Monte Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Monte Carlo

Address: 12 Avenue des Spelugues, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Phone Number:
Location: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#5 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Spa Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range: $223 - $702 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Monte Carlo 4*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Monte Carlo hotel is a unique four-star luxury convention resort located in the heart of the Principality of Monaco in between the Mediterranean Sea and the legendary Casino. It offers an unique view of the blue horizon, the famous Casino of Monte-Carlo and one of the best views on the Formula 1 circuit, the famous Fairmont hairpin.Spacious, comfortable with private terraces, its 602 rooms and suites decline perfectly the Riviera style.Fine dining at Nobu Fairmont Monte Carlo,amazing cuisine, mixing traditional Japanese dishes and South American spices and aromas; delicious and local Mediterranean cuisine at the Horizon-Deck, Restaurant & Champagne Bar, with breathtaking sea views; and non-stop service in a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere in front of the Mediterranean Sea at the Saphir 24, lounge & bar, open 24h/7d.Not to be missed, the award-winning 900 sqm Willow Stream Spa bathed by natural light, its ultra-modern Fitness Centre and its all year round heated pool between sea and sky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Monte Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Monte Carlo Hotel Monte-Carlo
Fairmont Hotel Monte Carlo
Fairmont Resort Monte Carlo
Monte-Carlo Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Monaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing