We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast ,fabulous view !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Monte Carlo
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stay here twice , the higher floors have a great view, ask for any think you can need, their are very friendly, if you look for a beach time ask in advance for the private beach.
Great time by the pool, day or night , if you want a special spot reserve in advance.
Dinner in the hotel is not worthed, very expensive and not so good, we had a terrible experience, rotten parmesano cheese, old fish.....but presented in a gourmet French appalling way.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 48gatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMC98, General Manager at Fairmont Monte Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for sharing your feed-back on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Monte Carlo.

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I have taken notice of your comment on our restaurant and would like to be able to discuss this with you in detail. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel .

Looking forward to speaking with you soon and to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Louis Starck,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,749 - 1,755 of 3,571 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed here after completing our river cruise along the Saone & Rhone. The room & breakfast was included in our holiday! The beds were so comfortable with excellent linens. Lovely room with excellent bathroom. Breakfast was on the 7th floor was very chaotic. The food was delicious but the service was haphazard. Cost of drinks at the bar by the pool were ridiculous, but we guessed they would be considering where we were!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank JudithAylott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I did not enjoy my stay at the Fairmont Monte Carlo. I stayed in a Deluxe Sea View Room. The hotel aesthetic is cruise ship-inspired and I found the hallways and rooms claustrophobic and dingy. The hotel is also very loud and you can hear the sounds of the guests in neighboring rooms and the noise outside in the hallways.
This hotel really needs to upgrade its accommodations or adjust its prices accordingly, in my opinion.
The Fairmont has a serious technological deficiency. You can only get wifi internet access in the hotel lobby and in common areas of the top floor, yet you must PAY 20 euro/day for this limited access. You can also get in-room internet access with an ethernet cable-- only one computer can be hooked up per room and you must remain tethered to the small desk in the room. This also costs 20 Euro. If you want wifi access in the lobby and in-room cable-based access you must pay for each-- 40 euro, per computer/day. I find this unacceptable.

The rooftop pool is wonderful and definitely the best part of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trvlr1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMC98, General Manager at Fairmont Monte Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about the Fairmont Monte Carlo on TripAdvisor. I am glad to announce that, as from 28th September 2012, the WIFI is now available in all the rooms aand public areas. Internet is free of charge by registering to our Fairmont President's Club loyalty program which is complimentary. We were aware that this was becoming increasingly important for our guests and have made our utmost to adopt this feature as fast as possible.

Regarding your comments on our establishment's design, I inform you that we did complete a 5 year-plan renovation of the whole building that finished in 2009. We will take your suggestion for a next phase of renovation and regret not having met your expectations at this stage.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Monte Carlo.

Sincerely yours,

Louis Starck,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just come back from the FAIRMONT HOTEL... which is on the GRAND PRIX" HAIRBEND !!!" This Hotel is very modern, and spacious . You will feel very special here. Breakfast is served on 7th floor, and overlooking med... spectacular view , and was a wide and varied menu. There is a champagne bar next to it ( If you are lucky enough to afford it ! )

The swimming pool is on the roof and is quite large with a lifeguard ! Drinks here are also expensive !!! You wont need to pack towels are they are provided. Plenty of loungers.. and if you are feeling "flush" you will be able to reserve circular shaded couches , think that would be 20 euros.

Bedrooms are spacious, and really comfortable beds.

Monaco is really expensive , and eating out and drinks.. will " break the bank" !

Didnt understand how to play the casinos !!! seemed complicated .

However loved monaco ... do go to Prince Allberts palace , and watch the changing of the guard . The Aquarium is well worth a visit.

Weather was fantastic. Have a "cocktail" at the Cafe de paris
and watch the posh cars whizz by , and watch the " pretty people " an their high heels !!! If you are young visit BUDDAS BAR !!!

Room Tip: Take plenty of money ! "(enquire if there is a room overlooking the grand prix hairbend.) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kezziedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMC98, General Manager at Fairmont Monte Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Fairmont Monte-Carlo on Trip Advisor.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your holidays with us as much as the destination.

Your very positive comments are our best reward and certainly highlight the constant engagement of our colleagues for quality and a warm and genuine service.
I look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Fairmont Monte-Carlo.

Sincerely yours.

Louis Starck
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This was a very nice hotel in a great location. Withing walking distance to all of the action. Make sure to take a bus for 2 euors to the Prince's palace, it will be worth the ride. Nice and spacious rooms. Be careful of the step up floor in the bathroom...it could be dangerous if going to the bathroom at night. Comfortable beds, friendly staff, and an outstanding breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shakcherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Spent 4 nights at the Fairmont first week of September. Can't understand previous reviews saying the hotel staff were rude and didn't care, we didn't find this at all, everyone was very polite and couldn't do enough for you. Had a garden view room on the 6th floor, excellent. Only one thing to use the fridge in the room the cost was 20 euro! needless to say we didn't bother, got some ice from the bar before we went up to the room. Breakfast was very good on the terrace overlooking the Med, plenty of choice and again the staff we very attentive. Had a snack one evening in the Saphir lounge, again very good and staff very pleasant. A bit special was a film crew filming outside the hotel one evening. Lovely place to visit for a short break and would recommend the Fairmont, we booked with Cresta holidays and the icing on the cake was a complimentary helicopter trip back to Nice airport!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mags2plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed three days end of August prior to boarding cruise. Location of hotel great...within walking distance to Grand Casino, shops, beach. Hotels has great sea views. Pool on the rooftop, great views. Collette at concierge was extremely helpful in providing info and calling Le Grill at Hôtel de Paris Monte-Carlo to ensure we had a great table.

The room was average. I was disappointed with the terrace...the garden view was fine but the lounge chair cover was dirty...patio chair had no cushions. The was no power plug adapter for US devices(cell phones/laptop)...I had to leave my iphone with the desk to charge until I was finally given a converter(on the house). On the second day there was a 10-15 minute downpour of rain which left the hotel lobby was flooded...towels everywhere...find it hard to believe there has never been hard rain before in Monte Carlo and this would happen.

Not sure if I would stay at Fairmount again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cishawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMC98, General Manager at Fairmont Monte Carlo, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for sharing your comments following your stay at the Fairmont Monte Carlo.We have taken notes and shared it with all departments concerned. Some of the experiences that you’ve described do not reflect the image and the service we want to deliver to our guests and we apologize for this.

You have mentionned heavy rain in your comment, and they were indeed very unusual in their intensity, cauisng the damages you witnessed. While we are very sorry for the inconvenience this this may have caused, I would like to specify that the service of the hotel did not stop and was delivered with the appropriate standards in all outlets and departments. Towels and diversion were in place in order to avoid further aggravtaion and accident to guests and colleagues.

One more time, thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will reconsider us again on your next travel.

Yours sincerely,

Louis Starck,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.8 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,737 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,424 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#6 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,763 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel De Paris
Hotel De Paris
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
880 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
#2 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Monte Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Monte Carlo

Address: 12 Avenue des Spelugues, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Phone Number:
Location: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#5 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Spa Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range: $233 - $985 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Monte Carlo 4*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Monte Carlo hotel is a unique four-star luxury convention resort located in the heart of the Principality of Monaco in between the Mediterranean Sea and the legendary Casino. It offers an unique view of the blue horizon, the famous Casino of Monte-Carlo and one of the best views on the Formula 1 circuit, the famous Fairmont hairpin.Spacious, comfortable with private terraces, its 602 rooms and suites decline perfectly the Riviera style.Fine dining at Nobu Fairmont Monte Carlo,amazing cuisine, mixing traditional Japanese dishes and South American spices and aromas; delicious and local Mediterranean cuisine at the Horizon-Deck, Restaurant & Champagne Bar, with breathtaking sea views; and non-stop service in a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere in front of the Mediterranean Sea at the Saphir 24, lounge & bar, open 24h/7d.Not to be missed, the award-winning 900 sqm Willow Stream Spa bathed by natural light, its ultra-modern Fitness Centre and its all year round heated pool between sea and sky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Monte Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Monte Carlo Hotel Monte-Carlo
Fairmont Hotel Monte Carlo
Fairmont Resort Monte Carlo
Monte-Carlo Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Monaco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing