We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Great View...pricey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien Beach Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
1 review
“Great Hotel, Great View...pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here during the Monaco Grand Prix, so it was a very exciting and busy week. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was a bit small but we had great views of the city and the sea. It also had nice contemporary furnishings. The food was always delicious but a little pricey. As it was Grand Prix, we didn't have to go far to enjoy ourselves...the exclusive Amber-Lounge is held over three nights at this stunning hotel!! I would recommend this hotel; however, bear in mind that it is quite pricey (from room rates to dining).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManuelDeVasconcelos, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Megan,

Thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at Le Méridien Beach Plaza, in such an exciting period. We do indeed host The Amber Lounge every year, and had some very special guests present this year, and many more to come this coming year. We hope to welcome you back for the GP Season 2014!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    519
    253
    82
    58
See reviews for
264
478
45
443
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We've just returned from Le Meridien Beach hotel in Monaco. I booked a couple of nights for my partner's 50th birthday as a surprise. OK, it wasn't cheap, but if I wanted cheap I wouldn't have gone to Monte Carlo!

This hotel, while not in the 'heart' of things, is only a 15 minute walk from the marina. As the weather in October in Monaco is nice, this was no problem. It has its own small shingle beach, very very clean everywhere. The pool area is beautiful and again spotless.

I agree with previous comments about reception - staff not particularly friendly or smiley, but very professional. During our stay there was obviously a very large conference being held as they have a conference centre attached to the hotel. This wasn't a problem for us, but I think the staff were run ragged!

Breakfast is served until 10.30am every day which was a good point for us, not having to get up early. It's buffet style with hot and cold options - if you don't book B&B you would have to pay from 35 euros for this priviledge (or same price for room service) - and it is NOT worth that money! However, it was lovely sitting outside overlooking the sea having breakfast and coffee. Another nice touch was the voucher in the room for a free coffee each per day, so if you do miss breakfast you can at least get a drink in the morning as they don't provide a kettle in the rooms.

Each room has a mini bar - they ask for your credit card and provisionally put 200 euros on it in case you clear the bar! We used two bottles of Evian - and I was charged 16 euros on check out! I would therefore recommend you buy water from the Casino supermarket down at the marina. They do provide you with a small complimentary bottle of water each day but that is just not enough really.

The beds are very comfortable. The room was furnished beautifully and modern. We had a balcony but because we overlooked the main road (also had a sea view) it was a bit noisy so had to use the air conditioning of a night time instead of leaving the balcony doors open. They provide all the usual toiletries including shampoo and conditioner - perfect for us ladies with only hand luggage! Hairdryer is also provided. We had a rather nice wide screen TV in the room with a variety of channels including some English ones.

Apart from breakfast we didn't eat at the hotel. Monaco is expensive but there are lots of restaurants and bars on the marina. There was a lovely italian where we had a meal on the first night which was about 10 minutes from the hotel. Quite reasonably priced. A bottle of Orvieto cost 20 euros.

I would warn people that drinks in Monaco are stupidly priced. Three pints of beer on our first day cost us 18 euros on the marina. Round the back streets is no better - 13 euros for a beer and a small coffee!! Food I would say is priced similarly to the UK, so no real shock.

If you enjoy walking, everything is in easy reach of Le Meridien. We walked to the Palace (not for the faint hearted as it is quite a way up a hill but worth it just for the view!), the Aquarium, right round the marina and got the water bus back across for just a few euros (probably the best priced thing the whole stay!) The sights of Monaco are superb - Ferraris go past like Mondeos in the UK! Walking the streets you can clearly see where the Grand Prix is held - road markings and tire marks permanent reminders.

The Marina is also something else. Some of the privately owned yachts are like mini cruise liners.

If you are after a Casino, the Casino of Monaco is worth a visit but they do not offer poker. The Fairmont does, but the buy in was ridiculous! Behind the Meridien is another hotel which also has a casino (we found this out on our last day!) and they hold world poker tournaments there. This casino is also open to anyone.

Casino square is a must see - the Cafe de Paris and Hotel de Paris on either side, with various stores lining the side streets such as Prada, Van Cleef. Be prepared to spend a lot of money! Would I change anything about my stay? Not really - maybe pick a hotel nearer the marina for the time of year we went. All in all, Le Meridien was perfect for a couple of nights to explore Monaco but we couldn't have afforded to stay longer!

Room Tip: Not every room has a balcony. Make sure when you book if you want a balcony you ask for one. We stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cloverwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManuelDeVasconcelos, General Manager at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your stay at Le Méridien Beach Plaza, in such details, as we are sure this will help fellow travelers not to miss the ‘must see’ attractions that the Principality of Monaco has to offer.
It is with great delight that we read that you enjoyed our outdoor areas and breakfast, as well as the complimentary coffee. Our barista invites you to discover a selection of Cocktails with Illy Coffee, where you can choose from a wide variety of flavours such as our « Café à la rose ».
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon, maybe for your birthday this time!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 511 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed there during the Top Marques Exhibiton at the Fürst Albert Center. The staff is not really friendly - quite arrogant - but the Hotel is really nice and we had a very nice Junior Suite. The Spa is ok, the room-service very slow. But the Location is not bad. The Concièrge was so busy that we couldn't get a restaurant reservation. Too bad. I can recommend it as a Hotel, but nothing more. I will not go back anymore. There are cheaper hotels with better Service. It was very clean and the beds are very confortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sammarste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManuelDeVasconcelos, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Greetings from Monte Carlo !

Thank you for taking the time letting us know about your experience at Le Méridien Beach Plaza. We were appalled to read your remarks regarding the members of our team. Our guests are our priority and your description does not fit the standards we impose our staff on a daily basis. We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for your ordeal.
On the bright side, we are delighted that you appreciated your Junior Suite, they are indeed ideal in terms of the view on the sea and the Principality of Monaco, but also for its comfort.
We do hope that, you will change your mind, and allow us to welcoming you back to Le Méridien Beach Plaza, during your next visit to Monaco. We will do our utmost to change your perception of our service and make your stay memorable.
Please, do not hesitate to contact us directly, would you need any assistance or to further discuss this.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a very nice stay in this hotel ( beautiful, quiet location), however, the room rates were very high and the customer service was average for a 5 star hotel.
In the past I also stayed in Novotel in Monte Carlo and it offered great standard, stunning views over the city and central location (very close to the famous Casino) and much lower room rates than Le Meridien.

Room Tip: Only beach view rooms/ stayed in this hotel in October 2011
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManuelDeVasconcelos, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were very sorry to read your comments regarding our customer service. We tend to receive excellent remarks regarding our staff, and would like to apologize if this was not the case, this time around.
Novotel is a very nice hotel, but the properties cannot compare. We offer a private beach, a separate business center and a breathtaking sea view.
Would you wish to renew the experience, and give us another chance, it will be my pleasure to assist you for your future bookings. It goes without saying that we will make sure your stay remains unforgettable.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersville, Maryland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is over priced and needs a over haul. We were on one of the tower rooms and the view was great but the room was not functional. It is an out if the way location by Monaco standards. I should have stayed at the Fairmount.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManuelDeVasconcelos, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Greetings from Monte Carlo!

We were surprised to read that your comments about the location being out of the way. We are located on the beach, a hotspot for residents and tourists. We are also a 7 min walk from the Casino. We also would like to inform you that there is a bus stop, right in front of the hotel, allowing you to reach anywhere in Monaco, in just a few minutes as The Principality of Monaco is only 3km².
As for the rooms, we are very sorry that the room was not up to your standards. It would have been a real pleasure to accommodate you to a different room, if you would have informed us about your ordeal during your stay.

Do not hesitate to contact us directly, if there is anything we can do for you.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palma
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

For the last time we have stayed in this hotel for the Monaco yacht show.
My company are moving to another hotel ( along with many other companys it seems)
This hotel is overpriced 8.00 euros for a small botte of water ! purchased for 80 cents in the town.
The staff are rude & incompitant the rooms are scruffy & dated & deperately in need of refurbishment.
Our bathroom didnt even have a proper shower ,just a step into the bath version & plastic curtain.
The toilet was cracked
There is little hanging space for clothes.
They are VERY quick to take money ,5 minutes on the phone to a french number for 10.00 & 25.00 euros per day for internet but extremely reluctant to return any when due.
We had the half board option for our final night, on sitting down to dinner we enjoyed a 3 hour power cut , not the hotels fault I realise but after an hour of waiting requested some cheese & biscuits ,this came beautifuly presented along with a bottle of complimentry house wine but was not the 3 course meal we had expected & paid in our package for our last night.
After 15minutes of discussion on checking out as to what we were due as a refund we were credited with 50.00 !!! we had already paid 24.00 for the half board package upgrade ,so the price of all this inconvience the hotel put as 26.00, a bottle of house wine & bread & cheese for 2 ! We are talking 534.00 euros per night here ( only boat show week of course)
Well they have blown it this time ,we will not be booking again & will be joining fellow yacht show viewers in the centre of Monte Carlo

Room Tip: Design rooms in the towers are dark & dated & have no balcony. Deluxe rooms are small &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magic71421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManuelDeVasconcelos, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for taking some time to inform us about your experience at Le Méridien Beach Plaza
We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the power supply interruption. We can certainly understand your frustration and how this would leave a lasting impression.

As for the issues you encountered in your room, we regret not having been informed about your ordeal during your stay. As it would have been a pleasure allocating you into a different room.

It is unfortunate you were left with a bitter impression, but we hope you will reconsider and realize we offer one of the best views for the Yatch Show and private boat transfers to and from the Yatch Show.

We look forward to welcoming you and your fellow travelers on your next stay in the Principality, so that we may have the chance to fully regain your trust in our hotel.
Please let us know should there be anything further we can assist you with

With our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Merdian with my Daughter. This was my first trip to Monaco and I have to say everything about our trip was wonderful. We found the staff in the hotel very efficient and friendly from check in to departure. We enjoyed a fabulous meal in the restaurant on our first evening and loved the Sunday Buffet Champagne Lunch before we left. We enjoyed the complimentary iced lemonade, macaroons and iced water that were delivered to our room just after we checked in. Having registered to be a Starwood Preferred Guest on one of our regular visits to the Swan and Dolphin in Orlando, we were entitled to a 20% discount in the restaurants which was very useful. The Beach and Pool areas are fabulous.

Having read some of the recent reviews I thought I would write my comments. We found our room was fabulous, very spacious, including a large enough wardrobe! with a light inside. We did make use of the internet in the room and had no problems with it at all! Yes there is a charge for this facility, but you are in Monaco so we had no problem with the charge. We certainly didn't incur any other hidden charges mentioned in another review. There is some building works going on along side the hotel, however no work went on during the weekend and all we heard chilling by the pool each day was the sound of the waves and the sounds of the swimming pool!! The hotel is about a 15 minute walk into the town but that was a very nice walk either along the beach front or along the street past the Car Showrooms and along past the restaurants. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel door if you don't fancy the walk, the Monaco buses being very simple to use.

We enjoyed dining at two very fabulous restaurants at the suggestion of a very nice Gentleman Concierge, he suggested the MayaBay right next door which was a lovely Thai Restaurant. Also his other suggestion took us to the Le Saint Benoit which was an amazing Seafood Restaurant with amazing views over the harbour. We choose to eat here twice as the food, service and views were so good.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and hope to return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenR1682013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManuelDeVasconcelos, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Greetings from Monte Carlo KarenR1682013!

It is with a warm heart that we shared your comments with our team. We were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Le Méridien Beach Plaza.

We are eager to welcome you back as soon as possible! If there is anything we can do to assist you, do not hesitate to contact us directly.

With Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.1 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
#2 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Beach Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Beach Plaza

Property: Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Address: 22 Ave Princesse Grace, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Phone Number:
Location: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Spa Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Beach Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Monte-Carlo, Le Méridien Beach Plaza is the only hotel with a private beach with direct access in Monaco. Le Méridien Beach Plaza offers limitless possibilities to explore the city of Monaco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Le Meridien Beach Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Beach Plaza Hotel Monte-Carlo
Meridien Monte Carlo
Le Meridien Monte-Carlo
Monte-Carlo Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing