We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot in Monte Carlo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed in the Le Meridien Beach Plaza for one night on October 30th last and I absolutely loved my stay there.

Monte Carlo is a small place, but without a car (and I wouldn't recommend bringing one, if you can avoid it; parking is so expensive) getting around can be a bit of a trek what with there being a hill around every corner. But the Meridien is perfectly placed for easy access to all of Monte Carlo's attractions. We took the No. 6 bus (green line) from right outside the train station at Saint Devote (direction: Larvotto) which took us to the door of the Le Meridien, practically; the stop is Carmes Inferieur. To get to Casino Square it was a short walk of about 10-15 minutes, or you could take Line 6 back there (stop: Place de la Casino), and you could also change buses there to Line 1 (red, direction Monaco Ville) which took you right up into Monaco Ville, steps from the Palace, Oceanographical Museum, etc. and of course, back again. A trip on a Monte Carlo bus is €2.

As for the hotel, the rooms were beautiful and very, very comfortable. We had a lovely balcony area with a partial sea view; if you can, request a room with a sea view as some of them face the street behind the hotel and I'd presume this might get noisy. Although the sliding doors onto the balcony were so heavy they were difficult to slide open and closed; perhaps this is to keep the noise out. Although it wasn't exactly beach weather when we were there the pool area seemed very attractive and there is a private beach.

Where this hotel really excelled for me was the food and the service. We had lunch shortly after we arrived on the patio overlooking the sea, dinner in the bar that night and the buffet breakfast in the restaurant the following morning. I'm a little perplexed to see other reviewers complaining about the prices—you *do* know this is Monte Carlo, right? Okay, if you're a business traveller attending a conference you may not have had a choice in your destination, but for everyone else I would warn you that Monte Carlo is staggeringly expensive compared to most everywhere else—including towns like Nice and Cannes which are only up the coast from it.

At the Le Meridien, a club sandwich was €29, a cocktail was €11-18 and the breakfast buffet was €35 (at the time of my stay). This might give you a minor heart attack, but this is quite standard for Monte Carlo—and in the Le Meridien, you're getting great taste and great service in exchange for your money. The breakfast buffet in particular was delicious: a huge spread of hot and cold food, French pastries (of course) and a number of signature dishes you could order from the chef, including espresso-steamed eggs (whatever they are—I wasn't brave enough to try!) The staff were exceptional and very friendly and pleasant; they had absolutely the right attitude and made our stay all the more enjoyable.

We had a small problem with our room—the in-room movies didn't work—and although we weren't at all bothered by it, we were apologized to by the member of staff who came to try and fix it, again by a front desk agent via telephone and then five minutes later, room service arrived with some complimentary bottled water. And all for a minor problem we had told them didn't bother us in the slightest, a problem they themselves couldn't control. Now *that's* service.

All in all I highly recommend the Le Meridien, and hope to return again for a longer stay. It's perfectly placed to enjoy all Monte Carlo has to offer and although it's a beautiful hotel it won't break the bank like some of the famous MC hotels, such as the Fairmont for example. (Incidentally the famous Fairmont Hairpin, F1 fans, is only a short walk from the Le Meridien.) Yes it is expensive, but it's only in line with other properties in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherineh1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManuelDeVasconcelos, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear guest,

A warm thank you for taking the time to write a review about your last stay at Le Méridien Beach Plaza.
Guest satisfaction is essential to us and it is really rewarding to read that we manage to achieve it to a great extend.
The location of the hotel is indeed quite convenient, allowing to visit Monaco whether by bus or walking.

Your comments about the food and the service have been communicated to all the involved, and we are thrilled to read that we managed to make you live a remarkable experience.

We apologize for the sliding doors on the balcony being too difficult to open, and please be assured that your remarks have been deeply analyzed and we will make the necessary changes in order to avoid this problem.

In closing, may we thank you, once again, for taking the time to write. We are grateful for your support and look forward to welcoming you at Le Méridien Beach Plaza in the future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,707)
There are newer reviews for Le Meridien Beach Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

634 - 640 of 1,708 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

Did a roadtrip from France to Italy and drove along the french riveria and decided to stop in monaco for a couple of days and as a starwood hotels fan, we decided to stay here since it is a ocean front property.

We got a seaview room with cute balcony, i totally love the bathroom, cute character and fully equipped. The room was nice and spacious for us, bed was pretty comfortable so no complain about it.

We didn't get a chance to dine at the restaurants since we were out exploring. The pool was excellent and when i was there in summer, it wasn't crowded at all and they have another section right by the beach for topless suntanning which was norm there.

I remember parking wasn't cheap so we parked at a garage nearby within walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loracny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManuelDeVasconcelos, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on your last stay at Le Méridien Beach Plaza.

Our aim is for our clients to feel comfortable as they would be at home, so it is really rewarding for us to read that we succeed.
It is true that the pool is normally not too crowded in order for our guest to enjoy it at its best.

Once again, thank you for your trust, and we hope to welcome you back in a near future and then you might be able to try the restaurants maybe.

Do not hesitate to contact us directly, should you need any help with your booking.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

OK, I was during the "Luxpack" fair, but really this hotel is not worth the price. A dinner at the restaurant is so expensive (60€ for a one course meal + one glass of wine + an espresso...). But the worse was to be allocated a smoking room when you are a non smoker and that the hotel could not make any other arrangement. The result was that I had to choose between the bad smell or the noise from the street as my room was overlooking a very busy road. As for the breakfast, count 35€ for a buffet with no fresh bread or fresh fruit salad not so fresh...
So definitely, never again, if I can avoid it...

Room Tip: As the hotel still runs smoking rooms, if you're a non smoker, do specifically mention that you...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leydixa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManuelDeVasconcelos, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments about your recent stay at Le Méridien Beach Plaza, and please apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay.
We appreciate highly your feedback that will allow us to correct and improve our services.

We are truly sorry to read about the problems that encountered during your stay.
It is indeed not acceptable that your preferences about the room type have not been taken into account and please be assured that it has been strongly discussed and we will do our best to avoid this in the future.
We also will gladly take in consideration your recommendations regarding food and beverage pricing in the next opportunity.

We hope that you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience and that you will give us the opportunity to regain your confidence in our services.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed here during a business trip, when we had a conference in the grimaldi forum. The location, reception area, lounge, and breakfast are great. The rooms are okay, but particularly the bathroom can soon be refurbished. Try to ask for a room on the side or see view, or at least not lower than floor 5 (noise from the street is quite strong.

I think this hotel is good for a bit more older people. If there is no big price difference I would stay at the Monte Carlo Bay Hotel.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank Baron_wick_de_l_eau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManuelDeVasconcelos, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the review you took the time to write about your last stay at Le Meridien Beach Plaza.

We appreciate highly your feedback that helps us to improve our services.
It was a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our location, the reception and hall areas as well as the breakfast.

Concerning the condition of the room and the noise, please be assured that your comments will indeed help us plan the next regular yearly maintenance program, in order to avoid such problems as the ones you encountered .

Thank you again for your comments, and we hope to welcome you back in a near future at Le Meridien Beach Plaza.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, shall you need any assistance with a further reservation.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Have always wanted to stay here if ever I have the chance to visit Monaco, and that just came through last month. We arrived in Nice airport and bought the bus tickets to Monaco at the counter just outside the airport (45mins journey). The bus conveniently stops right outside Le Meridien which was fantastic of course! Front desk and concierge service was good, I wouldn't say the same about the restaurant staff though. Decided to have a late lunch after checking in and we weren't properly attended to and service and food wasn't the best. The room was great otherwise, it was spacious and clean. Only downfall was the main road in front of our room, you may try hard not to hear the occasional cars passing through by dreaming of winning big at the casino, but that dream can sometimes be dashed by a big truck dashing through! True story!

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms facing the main road especially level 4 & 5 which is about the same level wit...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ro9do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManuelDeVasconcelos, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments about your recent stay at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, and please apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay.
We appreciate highly your feedback that will allow us to correct and improve our services.

In order to improve the windows noise insulation in a near future, we are currently planning the necessary changes that we hope will address it.

Your comments regarding staff attitude at the restaurant have been deeply analysed and discussed with all involved in order to avoid such impressions in the future.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your room as well as the reception and concierge services.

We would be very grateful to be able to welcome you back in a near future and please do not hesitate to contact us directly should you need assistance with your reservation.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed here for a few days in Novemeber 2011 - i know its taken me a while to get the review written. I was here for a conference and the hotel was spot on to have the conference at. The room we had over looked the private beach.

The hotel room was as expected, luxurious and had everything i needed. Location wise the hotel is towards the end of Monte Carlo but it is only a short walk back into the Centre where i had a few cups of coffee at Cafe de Paris watching the people and the cars go by.

My third time to Monaco and this was my best experience hotel wise.

If you close your eyes at the bar menu prices then everything else is A-OK. Couldnt beleive they charged £25 for a club sandwich!!haha monaco pricing gone mad.

A large group of us went to a great Irish bar not far from the hotel which was one of my best nights out. Instantly removed from the pretentious rubbish of Monaco and went to a bar where people really wanted to enjoy themselves!

If/when i return to Monaco i will consider Le Meridien for accomodation.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Sheriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManuelDeVasconcelos, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review you took the time to write on Trip Advisor.

Guest satisfaction is essential to us and it is really rewarding to read that we manage to achieve it to a great extend.

Your remarks concerning the food and beverages prices, will surely be taken into account for the next revision to be held.

Thank you again for your trust, and do not hesitate to contact us directly shall you need any help with a further reservation.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed there for only 2 days and had a great time. Rooms are comfy and the design is great (especially in the elevator!) Also, our dinner at the restaurant was excellent, and it was so nice to be seated outside by the sea!The pool and the private beach are nice as well, especially since it wasn't crowded at all at this time of the year. Overall great experience, Definitely recommend it for a romantic getaway!

Room Tip: Avoid smoking rooms and ask for a sea view (the other rooms are facing the streets and it can be noi...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herceg_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManuelDeVasconcelos, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Le Meridien Beach Plaza.

Guest experience is very important to us, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.
September is indeed a very good period of the year to enjoy the outdoor facilities with a little less people.

For information, the architectural design of the hotel has been done by Mr Michel Chiappori and the decoration of the elevator has been created by Christine Tacer.

Thank you very much for your trust, and we hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.2 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,665 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,167 reviews
1.6 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
#2 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
896 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,359 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Beach Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Beach Plaza

Address: 22 Ave Princesse Grace, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Phone Number:
Location: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#6 Spa Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range: $232 - $785 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Beach Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Monte-Carlo, Le Méridien Beach Plaza is the only hotel with a private beach with direct access in Monaco. Le Méridien Beach Plaza offers limitless possibilities to explore the city of Monaco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Beach Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Beach Plaza Hotel Monte-Carlo
Meridien Monte Carlo
Le Meridien Monte-Carlo
Monte-Carlo Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing