We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We expected more but was disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I visited Monaco and booked 2 nights at Le Meridien. The hotel is located near the end of Monaco. Monaco is so small so you don't need to walk that far to get to the casino or shopping area. Some of the staff was friendly but a few were like mute. Walked past us without even looking at us or saying hello. The hotel is located right on the beach so you don't have to go far. Room was average size and very clean. The decor is modern and the rooms are clean. The mattress is very firm so If you enjoy a soft mattress you won't get a good night sleep here. Don't bother ordering room service because the price is cut throat. 30 euros for a hamburger not including tip. You can go to Mcdonalds and get a meal for 7 euros. I would of given this hotel a higher rating if not for the mattress, some of the staff that walks by and pretend not to notice you, and the rip off prices of the menu.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RVD408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManuelDeVasconcelos, General Manager at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments on your last stay at Le Meridien Beach Plaza.

We would like to apologize for your stay with us not being as great as you expected.
Guest experience and service is what matters us most. We truly want to provide the higher satisfaction.

Your comments about the attitude of the staff towards you have been strongly discussed and we will do our best to avoid this in the future.
We also will gladly take in consideration your recommendations regarding food and beverage pricing in the next opportunity.

Concerning the mattress we have two different kinds, so do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next stay in order to provide you the best.

We hope that you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience and that you will give us the opportunity to regain your confidence in our services.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,753)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

672 - 678 of 1,753 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

Noisy Hotel

Sound insulation is the missing factor at the Meridian Beach Resort in Monaco.

The lack of good double glazing means that the constant noise made traffic that passes by at ground level and on a road which passes the hotel several stories up, is constantly heard and is very annoying.

There really is something disturbing about sitting on the lavatory in the bathroom and clearly hearing someone use the same facility immediately above your head. It makes one feel as if you should rush to wear the shower cap.

Corporate robotic staff stick to corporately written scripts when you ask approved questions. Ask non standard questions that are off script they are stuck for an answer.

This is the hotel of extras. You pay for everything as an extra from breakfast to the Internet and even 25 euros for a pair of branded flip flops which are necessary because the room does not come with slippers or even so much as a bath robe.

The Internet costs a staggering 8 euros an hour!

Bottled water in the room costs 8 euros while a beer will set you back 12

The rooms are pleasantly decorated and save for the carpet quite clean

Room Tip: The fifth floor is on a level with a fast road so should be avoided. The double glazing is poor so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BolshyNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManuelDeVasconcelos, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.

Please apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay at Le Méridien Beach Plaza. We are very glad to receive your feedback that will permit us to correct and improve our services.

In order to improve the windows noise insulation in a near future, we are currently planning the necessary changes.

Your comments regarding staff attitude have been deeply analysed and discussed with all involved in order to avoid such impressions in the future, and your feedback related to pricing will also surely be taken into consideration for the next opportunity.

Indeed we do usually provide bathrobes and slippers for usage of all our guests, and we truly apologize for our mistake if that did not happen with you.

We would be very grateful if you could give us the opportunity to regain your confidence by choosing to stay with us again on your return to Monaco.

Please let us know if we can of help with your reservations.


Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We just stayed four nights September 16 though 20, upon check in we were given an upgraded room on the ninth floor with a view. The room and bed was very comfortable,but no shower which was a problem for my husband. The girl that checked us is was great. The overall feel of the staff
In the front lobby was a little snobbish. As this was booked and paid prior to arrival they would not let us change the so called package to include breakfast which was what we really wanted we then
Inquired on the half board offering which we were told when checking in that's was 55 euro per person. we went to sign up the fowling day and were told by front desk it was 79 euro pp per day
And was very limited? What was limited? Also told us adfitional costs if you ordered certain foods like fish Very vague no paperwork to let us know what a person would actually get. All drinks and food were overpriced a hamburger is 30 euros and a cosmopolitan is 17 Eros. Overall it was just too expensive to stay around and enjoy facilities. We were counting on the breakfast and dinner being included. The beach and pool are very nice as well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NanaimoKIm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManuelDeVasconcelos, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments following your recent stay at Le Méridien Beach Plaza.

We deeply apologize for not having been able to provide you with an experience surpassing or according to your expectations.

Your feedback is very important to us as it allows us to maintain and improve the level of services for which we are recognized for.

We were very happy to know that you have enjoyed your room, although you missed a shower instead of a bathtub, and that you have also enjoyed very much the pool and the beach areas. We also took note of your comments praising the girl that checked you in, and the attitude that could have been more accommodating from other members of the Reception.

We have analysed all your comments with all the concerned and will gladly take in consideration your recommendations regarding food and beverage pricing in the next opportunity.

Despite the mixed feelings you now kept from our hotel, we do hope that you will not judge us solely on the basis of this particular experience and that you will give us the opportunity to fully regain your confidence in our services on a next occasion.

Please do contact us directly in order to assist with your booking arrangements and try to improve the image you know kept from us..

Kindest regards,

Manuel de Vasconcelos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed at the Meridien in Monaco for three nights at the end of our trip. The experience was very mixed. Room was average, balcony small, but view was terrific. Their breakfast spread is superb, only to be outdone by their Sunday brunch which is truly extraordinary. The pool and beach is well laid out and staff are terrific. Location is at the end of Monaco and there are only 80 taxis in the City, so be prepared to walk if you are not going to the airport.

Room Tip: Request a sea view, but be prepared to be underwhelmed by the room itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCtoEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienBeachPlaza, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for having shared these comments following your stay with us.

We were delighted to welcome you on the occasion of a relaxing break in Monte-Carlo and happy to learn that you enjoyed our amazing views overlooking the sea, the outdoors areas, the buffet breakfast as well as the Sunday Lunch. We have shared your kind comments with the entire team.

Regarding your disappointment with the room you were allocated, please be advised that we propose several room categories, designed in different styles. Please do not hesitate to contact us for your newt visit to Monaco , we will be happy to assist you with the best option to match your needs.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back and improve further the image that you now kept from Le Meridien Beach Plaza. Best regards,

Manuel de Vasconcelos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We have stayed in the Meridian before (but also in the Hermitage in Monte Carlo). The reason we chose the Meridian this time was that a) we were driving from the UK so secure parking was easy (underground E46 per day) and b) it has a private beach as well as an outdoor swimming pool plus plenty of sunbathing space and sunloungers. We opted for a sea view, slightly upgraded room which was perfectly adequate with a comfortable amount of space. There were a couple of issues with cleanliness from my point of view but the location is not bad (only a short walk to the centre of Monte). Breakfast is ok..with a buffet type arrangement and not a bad selection of food. One gripe I did have, being English, was that I brough my own tea with me but when I asked for hot water only (so I could put my own teabag in it) the water was luke warm each time. Eventually I gave up and had coffee. I would say that the staff are a bit 'up themselves' but apart from that, it's fine for a short stay.

Room Tip: Pay for an upgraded room if you don't want a balcony that overlooks a conference centre. A sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienBeachPlaza, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Jackie,

Thank you very much for having chosen to stay with us on this visit to Monte-Carlo and to let us know your comments. They are highly appreciated as they help us maintaining or improving the quality of our services.

We were very glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and its large outdoor areas even if we would like having been able to make your experience unique instead of only average.

Please accept our apologies for the issues encountered with the cleanliness as well as with the hot water for your tea. These are not reflective of our usual level of standards.

If your travels bring you back to Monaco, we would very much like to have the opportunity to welcome you back and have then a chance to enhance your stay . If so please feel free to contact us directly in order to assist you with your booking arrangements.


Best regards,

Manuel de Vasconcelos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Just came back from a week here, booked a deal via british airways for a standard room city view.
Arrived on 1st Sept, asked for an upgrade to beach front room with balcony - they said not available, i said it was on the net so please look again, yes there was one available at 150 euro a night extra so we upgraded, sent to room 405 with keys and bellhop followed with luggage, opened the door, TV was blaring out and the room looked someone had wrecked it or maybe decided to go for the 5 euros a night discount - more on that later.
Went back downstairs, lots of apologies and sent to room 502, seemed ok so moved in.
Room was very tired not very clean, black mold on tiles, towels the size of a postage stamp and no facecloths.
Very inconsistent room cleaning, strange thing was one BIG flip flop on the shelf under the tv so put it in the bin, after room was service flip flop reappered back on the shelf.
Found out from the manager the flip flops were for sale, but there was nothing to say they were.
A sign by the TV was one "eco friendly one" i had never seen before - if you do not want the room serviced you can get a 5 euro discount - big deal i thought, in the hotel 5 euros would not even buy a cup of coffee.
For the first 3 nights we put up with erratic cleaning and servicing of the room
I wont bore you with the details but then we decided to complain and got the hotel manager up to the room and showed him the mold on the tiles and dust where no cleaning had taken place.
An effort was made to improve things and we thank the hotel for making the effort.
I wonder if other guests bothered to complain?
On checkout we queried the bill regarding the cleaning and obtained 150 euros a night discount for the 3 nights
Here are my overall ratings
Hotel - Bedrooms Very Tired Meridian seriously need to look at this - Beds very comfortable
Public areas ok
Pool area - pool itself some dirt around tiles - virtualy no service for drinks etc- loungers uncomfortable
Beach restuarant - very expensive and food very mediocre
Service from staff - very good when they were around
Buffet Breakfast excellent
Would i stay here again - no









m

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hotman1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienBeachPlaza, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear guest from United Kingdom,

Thank you for having posted your comments regarding your recent stay with us on this website. This helps us enormously and allows us to present you our sincere apologies on behalf of the entire team for the inconveniences caused and the impression that we you kept from us this time. This is clearly not reflective of our usual level of services.

We deeply regret the unfortunate experiences you had and the problems encountered, mostly with the housekeeping services, but also with the quality of the food at our beach lounge bar. We have discussed the points you highlighted with the teams concerned in order to avoid that such incidents may be repeated in the future.

In a more positive note, we appreciated very much knowing that you enjoyed the comfort of our beds as well as the buffet breakfast. I sincerely hope that you’ll be able to give us a chance to regain your confidence in our services by choosing to stay with us again in your next visit to Monaco. If so please do contact us personally.

With best regards,

Manuel de Vasconcelos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Comfortable room and the bonus of having beach access unlike the others would normally make it a full marks review, but unfortunately service is a little bit below par and it's more convenient to stay closer to the main square as you inevitably end up walking there and back on a daily basis

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xiao C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienBeachPlaza, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Xiao,

Thank you very much for the comments you have posted on this website.
We were happy to read about your overall satisfying experience but we deeply regret that you felt a lack of service from our team.

This is clearly not reflective of our usual standards of quality and I hope you accept our sincere apologies and will be able to give us another chance in your next visit to Monaco. In the meantime we have shared your feedback with all concerned. Our guests’ experience reports help us enormously to improve our services.

In regards to your comments regarding our location, it is true that we are at walking distance from the Casino square, but right on the only private beach with amazing outdoor areas , swimming pools, and views of the Mediterranean sea.

Thank you again for having shared your impressions and hoping to welcome you back on a next occasion,

Manuel de Vasconcelos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.2 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,716 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,228 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
#2 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
950 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,410 reviews
1.6 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Beach Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Beach Plaza

Address: 22 Ave Princesse Grace, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Phone Number:
Location: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#6 Spa Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#6 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range: $216 - $664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Beach Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Monte-Carlo, Le Méridien Beach Plaza is the only hotel with a private beach with direct access in Monaco. Le Méridien Beach Plaza offers limitless possibilities to explore the city of Monaco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Beach Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Beach Plaza Hotel Monte-Carlo
Meridien Monte Carlo
Le Meridien Monte-Carlo
Monte-Carlo Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing