We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night stay on a trip along the Cote D'Azure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Two night stay on a trip along the Cote D'Azure”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We have stayed in the Meridian before (but also in the Hermitage in Monte Carlo). The reason we chose the Meridian this time was that a) we were driving from the UK so secure parking was easy (underground E46 per day) and b) it has a private beach as well as an outdoor swimming pool plus plenty of sunbathing space and sunloungers. We opted for a sea view, slightly upgraded room which was perfectly adequate with a comfortable amount of space. There were a couple of issues with cleanliness from my point of view but the location is not bad (only a short walk to the centre of Monte). Breakfast is ok..with a buffet type arrangement and not a bad selection of food. One gripe I did have, being English, was that I brough my own tea with me but when I asked for hot water only (so I could put my own teabag in it) the water was luke warm each time. Eventually I gave up and had coffee. I would say that the staff are a bit 'up themselves' but apart from that, it's fine for a short stay.

Room Tip: Pay for an upgraded room if you don't want a balcony that overlooks a conference centre. A sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienBeachPlaza, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Jackie,

Thank you very much for having chosen to stay with us on this visit to Monte-Carlo and to let us know your comments. They are highly appreciated as they help us maintaining or improving the quality of our services.

We were very glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and its large outdoor areas even if we would like having been able to make your experience unique instead of only average.

Please accept our apologies for the issues encountered with the cleanliness as well as with the hot water for your tea. These are not reflective of our usual level of standards.

If your travels bring you back to Monaco, we would very much like to have the opportunity to welcome you back and have then a chance to enhance your stay . If so please feel free to contact us directly in order to assist you with your booking arrangements.


Best regards,

Manuel de Vasconcelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    557
    264
    84
    62
See reviews for
285
511
48
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Just came back from a week here, booked a deal via british airways for a standard room city view.
Arrived on 1st Sept, asked for an upgrade to beach front room with balcony - they said not available, i said it was on the net so please look again, yes there was one available at 150 euro a night extra so we upgraded, sent to room 405 with keys and bellhop followed with luggage, opened the door, TV was blaring out and the room looked someone had wrecked it or maybe decided to go for the 5 euros a night discount - more on that later.
Went back downstairs, lots of apologies and sent to room 502, seemed ok so moved in.
Room was very tired not very clean, black mold on tiles, towels the size of a postage stamp and no facecloths.
Very inconsistent room cleaning, strange thing was one BIG flip flop on the shelf under the tv so put it in the bin, after room was service flip flop reappered back on the shelf.
Found out from the manager the flip flops were for sale, but there was nothing to say they were.
A sign by the TV was one "eco friendly one" i had never seen before - if you do not want the room serviced you can get a 5 euro discount - big deal i thought, in the hotel 5 euros would not even buy a cup of coffee.
For the first 3 nights we put up with erratic cleaning and servicing of the room
I wont bore you with the details but then we decided to complain and got the hotel manager up to the room and showed him the mold on the tiles and dust where no cleaning had taken place.
An effort was made to improve things and we thank the hotel for making the effort.
I wonder if other guests bothered to complain?
On checkout we queried the bill regarding the cleaning and obtained 150 euros a night discount for the 3 nights
Here are my overall ratings
Hotel - Bedrooms Very Tired Meridian seriously need to look at this - Beds very comfortable
Public areas ok
Pool area - pool itself some dirt around tiles - virtualy no service for drinks etc- loungers uncomfortable
Beach restuarant - very expensive and food very mediocre
Service from staff - very good when they were around
Buffet Breakfast excellent
Would i stay here again - no









m

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotman1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienBeachPlaza, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear guest from United Kingdom,

Thank you for having posted your comments regarding your recent stay with us on this website. This helps us enormously and allows us to present you our sincere apologies on behalf of the entire team for the inconveniences caused and the impression that we you kept from us this time. This is clearly not reflective of our usual level of services.

We deeply regret the unfortunate experiences you had and the problems encountered, mostly with the housekeeping services, but also with the quality of the food at our beach lounge bar. We have discussed the points you highlighted with the teams concerned in order to avoid that such incidents may be repeated in the future.

In a more positive note, we appreciated very much knowing that you enjoyed the comfort of our beds as well as the buffet breakfast. I sincerely hope that you’ll be able to give us a chance to regain your confidence in our services by choosing to stay with us again in your next visit to Monaco. If so please do contact us personally.

With best regards,

Manuel de Vasconcelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Comfortable room and the bonus of having beach access unlike the others would normally make it a full marks review, but unfortunately service is a little bit below par and it's more convenient to stay closer to the main square as you inevitably end up walking there and back on a daily basis

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xiao C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienBeachPlaza, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Xiao,

Thank you very much for the comments you have posted on this website.
We were happy to read about your overall satisfying experience but we deeply regret that you felt a lack of service from our team.

This is clearly not reflective of our usual standards of quality and I hope you accept our sincere apologies and will be able to give us another chance in your next visit to Monaco. In the meantime we have shared your feedback with all concerned. Our guests’ experience reports help us enormously to improve our services.

In regards to your comments regarding our location, it is true that we are at walking distance from the Casino square, but right on the only private beach with amazing outdoor areas , swimming pools, and views of the Mediterranean sea.

Thank you again for having shared your impressions and hoping to welcome you back on a next occasion,

Manuel de Vasconcelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

A definite bonus of being the only hotel with beach access in MC. Service at the pool and poolside restaurants is excellent, everyone really hustling. A major minus is poor front desk comprehension, all the clerks are below average trained, and every minor adjustment needs a manager's involvement.
At breakfast, the buffet is on and off, some stuff is past its prime, so be careful not to get sick as we did on several occasions. Egg cook is arrogant and rude, on the 4th day we decided to skip the eggs as this guy would only make it the way he wants it, not the way the guest orders it. I'm a Lifetime Platinum at Starwood, and was appalled at complete lack of supervision on the part of management when it came to rogue employees.
Beware of parking fees, it's 46 Euro/night, so you're better off in a city garage right next door that's less than half that.
Finally, pick your seasons carefully, as July and august this place is mobbed by the ex-Soviet central asian states, so unless you have your Chanel or Gucci beach bag and loafers, you will feel underdressed ))

Room Tip: Towers on either side facing the sea have more modern bathrooms but no balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hi_stick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienBeachPlaza, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear guest from California,

Thank you for having chosen our hotel to stay in Monte-Carlo and thank you for your feedback posted on this website.
I was sorry to hear about the disappointing experience you had with us, and especially as you are a frequent guest of Starwood Hotels & Resorts who use to visit our properties all over the world.
I must say that I am very surprised about your comments regarding the breakfast quality, especially as Le Méridien has a very strict food safety policy which requires high standards of food and hygiene. Please come back to me personally if you have any further concern regarding this.
Otherwise, I have discussed your comments regarding the employees at Front Desk and at the restaurant with the managers concerned in order to proactively resolve these situations and avoid similar inconveniences in the future.

I sincerely do hope that this experience will not affect your confidence in our services and in Starwood Hotels & Resorts.

Sincerely Yours,

Manuel de Vasconcelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Just a great place. Private beach, swimming pool, beautiful view if you get a sea-view room, friendly staff and good food.

If you're travelling with your pet, beware. We went there with our great Dane. Ok, she ways 65 kilos and is an impressive animal. We were told we had to take a different room without carpeting because of dog hair. Of course those rooms are considerably more expensive. If you take the "dog-package" on top, you're in for a rip-off. This being said, the staff is dog-friendly, and necessary amenities for the dog's comfort were provided. You can even call up for an in-room dog dinner, served on a platter with a white-gloved staff-member !

Parking across the street, taxis available, everything you need for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loverly4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeMeridienBeachPlaza, Directeur général at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear guest from Switzerland,

Thank you so much for the great comments you posted on this website following your stay with us.
We are glad to hear that you keep good memories of your experience at Le Méridien Beach Plaza and that you were satisfied with the special services provided to Dane.
It is right that if you are travelling with a dog, we prefer to accommodate you with a room without carpet for hygiene reasons. In any case, we suggest you to contact us directly may you have any special wish or request before staying with us, in order to allow us preparing as well as possible your arrival.

Hoping to welcome you back with Dane in a near future and with best regards,

Manuel de Vasconcelos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

I booked a sea view room and got a room where the view was 90% overlooking other buildings and busy roads with the sea partly visible if you stood on the balcony. This despite being a Diamond Level SPG card holder. Misleading description at the extreme! Further, the management act like 'Basil Fawlty' trying to defend the undefendable that because you can see the sea if you do acrobatics on your balcony then the room has a sea view! Unbelievable, but true. Also, the rooms are very tired and the bathrooms are in dire need of maintenance and the WiFi is a joke. The beach and pool facilities are, however, very nice, and I thoroughly recommend the BBQ on the beach for dinner - very good indeed. This has been my 4th stay here and, sadly, maybe my last trip. I don't like being cheated and this time I feel I have.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manhatten56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lm-nice, Manager at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments. We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed our pool and beach facilities but are very sorry to hear that you did not get the room you were expecting and would like to apologize for that. We truly value all our guests preferences and those of our special SPG members in particular.

We appreciate very much your comments and will surely take them into consideration for a revision of our room type descriptions and for our regular yearly plan of rooms maintenance during the lower season.

We would very grateful and honored if you would give us another chance and be able to meet you personally in your next trip to Monaco.

Kind regards,

Manuel de Vasconcelos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had been on a multi-city vacation, hotel to hotel, when we arrived in Monte Carlo, i was a little unsure how this would go. We were impressed all around..

The staff was very friendly, the rooms were 5 star.. But the best thing was the private beach.. the private beach / pool is configured for a full day of fun in the sun !. The beach is well maintained, clean, ocean water in August was perfect, the pool was equally as refreshing.

We travelled with our kids, they really did not want to leave this hotel !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AaronsAccount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lm-nice, Manager at Le Meridien Beach Plaza, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Aaron S,

Thank you very much for your kind comments – we were delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Le Méridien Beach Plaza.

We are very proud to have the only private beach with direct access in Monaco and glad your children had a fabulous time.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Manuel de Vasconcelos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.2 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,610 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#8 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,115 reviews
1.6 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
#2 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
870 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,326 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Beach Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Beach Plaza

Property: Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Address: 22 Ave Princesse Grace, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Phone Number:
Location: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Spa Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#7 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#8 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Beach Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Monte-Carlo, Le Méridien Beach Plaza is the only hotel with a private beach with direct access in Monaco. Le Méridien Beach Plaza offers limitless possibilities to explore the city of Monaco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Beach Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Beach Plaza Hotel Monte-Carlo
Meridien Monte Carlo
Le Meridien Monte-Carlo
Monte-Carlo Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing