We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Service on arrival was wonderful - with the car, luggage, reception and concierge. The room was very nice, spacious, cool, comfortable bed although odd marks and chips in the paintwork. The interior and communal areas of the Hermitage are fantastic as are the views of the harbour and sea.

Location is great, a short walk to most places - casinos, Buddha bar, harbour etc. The hotel and the areas around it have an interesting mix of characters - great to sit and watch the world go by.

Only downside was the service at breakfast; we were greeted by a lovely, cheerful lady but the speed of service and attitude of the waiting staff on the tables outside left something to be desired which was disappointing.

Overall, this is a lovely hotel with good service. It is expensive but that's only to be expected in this location and as a one-off or occasional treat it's a good experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CloverClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

532 - 538 of 1,411 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

In the heart of Monte Carlo, perfectly located overseeing the bay. The hotel is walking distance from the main attractions of this very small luxury city. Service is impeccable, the rooms are spacious and always pretty well kept. It is pricy but worthwhile experience. Highly recommended at least once!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HugoD33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located in the heart of the city overlooking Port Hercule. You are a short walk to the world famous Monte-Carlo Casino and it's possible to walk up the hill to the Palace as well. The hotel staff cater to your every need and the accommodations are first rate. There is nothing about this hotel that you will not enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the dining patio which still has a view of the port, and it's less ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimg1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Monte carlo was the final stop if our cote d' azur trip last summer. This hotel delivered exactely what we expected: luxury, impeccable service, great location. Hotel itself is a true gem, simply stunning and the rooms where very classy. I really liked the marble bathroom and the breakfast area. Gym and pool area which is shared with other hotels around the casino is the best i' ve ever been to. Staff was very kind a helpful. One minor thing, we asked for tips at the recption regarding a nice not touristic place for lunch, somewhere locals would go and were sent to probably the worst italian restaurant (how can you go wring with italian?).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zefi18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you want to spend a few nights in Monte Carlo and not break the bank, this is a terrific option. We stayed 2 nights in August of 2013 - first time in Monte Carlo. Hermitage has a gorgeous lobby, perfect location and helpful staff. When I checked us in -- Alessandro gave me a mini walking tour of the hotel -- very sweet and helpful.

Room was fabulous, king bed was comfortable and plenty of closet space. Bathroom was updated. (Considering, my friends that paid $200.p/night more at the de Paris, and their room bathroom design and fixtures were from 1965) Hermitage - I like the option to open window vs. air-conditioning. It was quiet and relaxing. The pool area was wonderful and the sauna and the gym were both great. Service by the lounging/pool areas was also top notch. Free Wi-Fi in the lobby of the hotel was a nice feature.

The roof-top bar was splendid too. If you don't have a car, and need a lift to the train station, I would suggest asking them in advance ... like hours in advance. Rather funny that a city full of autos, and you cannot find taxi when you need it. Overall a pleasant stay in a city that is vastly over-priced. [The Hotel de Paris is so over the top and obnoxious -- Hermitage is better, I think.]

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NHFreezing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

It's a truly wonderful experience to be able to pull up to the valet service with all the super cars and stay in such a magnificent building. Great service - very welcoming and relaxed. A few little things really got to us though;

1. There is no iron in the rooms (due to a potential fire hazard) which means you have to use their obscenely expensive ironing service.
2. No free wifi in the rooms and patchy reception for the 'free wifi' elsewhere.
3. The automatic minibar with no additional space in it.
4. Our room was tired and overdue for a refurb.

If these small details were addressed and we didn't feel so cheated we would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brammmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had an amazing three nights at this perfectly situated hotel. The Hotel de Paris seemed too ostentatious, whilst here at the Hermitage none of the elegance is lost, and the atmosphere is relaxed and friendly yet still very special. Staff were wonderful and our rooms (an executive seaview and a deluxe room with courtyard view) were quite beautiful, despite the latter showing a few signs of wear and tear (stain on carpet and loose fittings in smallish bathroom). Yes, the hotel is widespread, but one soon gets the hang of it. The free shuttle to the beach club is perfect, as there is not a lot to see and do in Monaco itself. Would definitely stay here again. The Monte Carlo Experience package was a good deal. P.S. I would have given the sleep quality a higher rating, had it not been compromised by a screaming baby next door...

Room Tip: harbour view room was beautiful, but engines of nearby yachts could cause disturbance. Courtyard vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FamilytravellerTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
871 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
#2 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
950 reviews
1 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,229 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#6 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,754 reviews
0.8 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo

Address: Square Beaumarchais, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Location: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#1 Spa Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monte-Carlo
#1 Family Hotel in Monte-Carlo
Price Range: $376 - $1,081 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxation, the art of true living, an unmistakable sophistication – such is the spirit of the Belle Epoque which brings the Hotel Hermitage to life. A century later, the same spirit is still intact in the Eiffel Hall, the salons, the guest rooms, each with an individual, intimate atmosphere where discreet luxury joins with classic pleasures from times pasts.Overlooking the Mediterranean, the Hôtel Hermitage cultivates elegance at its highest level. Born with the 20th century, this historic palace imparts an intimate, relaxed atmosphere in which serenity is re-invented with each new day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Monte Carlo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing