We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sometimes you get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
162 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Sometimes you get what you pay for”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Expensive hotel but good service and beautiful property Unfortunately the pool was undergo structure this year and had to make alternative arrangements. I've been staying there or past15 years And will do so next year as well

Room Tip: Breakfast was way too expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrewshka1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    142
    40
    19
    16
See reviews for
105
424
30
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marske U.k.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was the second time I have stayed at this wonderful hotel. However there were a few little issues which 'niggled me' Firstly, this time I booked through Amex Platinum which offered an upgrade to the next level. During my first visit in 2011 I stayed in a Superior room which is basically the cheapest available. Very nice, yes, but small with a view over the hotel courtyard. So this time, having been upgraded to the dizzy heights of a Deluxe room I expected something better. Infact the only difference was the bathroom which was bigger. The actual 'bedroom' area was only 16 sq. metres, the rest of the space taken up by the entrance hall and bathroom. That said, the room was spotless and the bed just the best ! There is no iron or board in the rooms so I had to contact housekeeping to have this done for me. I had three items pressed and was told it would cost 10 Euros each...o.k. I accepted that, only to find on the receipt that 30% was added. Why ? A small case of 'taking the ****' I think ! The last of the minuses relates to 'boy racers' The hotel has a long entrance which is a driveway as well as the way in and out for residents. Why the hell do idiots have to try and impress by using the hotel entrance as a drag strip ? I feared for my life on one particular occassion..and not an F1 driver in sight ! O.K. So now the good bits....and there are plenty : Staff are wonderful in every department of the hotel, very attentative without being overpowering and treat you with total respect.... no matter what size your wallet is. The ambiance is classy but relaxed and the interior design is stunning with wonderful floral decorations throughout the foyer/lobby areas. Finally...the food....WOW, WOW, WOW ! I had two evening meals in the bar area which is served via the Joel Roubuchon restaurant. Oh my God, I have never tasted food so good and I never thought mashed potated or 'puree pomme de terre, could taste in such a way that suitable superlatives fail me ! This is definately something, (£ssss) permitting, lovers of fine food should experience, it is just amazing ! I can understand why this hotel was voted best in the world a few years ago. I will defiantely be back, hopefully with my wife next time when I would love to take her to Roubouchon's and Yoshi ! Better start saving right now !

Room Tip: Ask to see room /s first. I was shown a junior suite in anticipation of future visits which was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CookieMarskeU_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Really Sophisticated ,stylish hotel with out being intimidating. Great value and excellent location in heart of Monte Carlo .
Service was impeccable .shopping centre below has anything you would need . Lovely walk up to the Palace is a must.

Room Tip: I was on the 6 th floor overlooking courtyard . Very quite and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chatham
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stayed here on business for the Monaco Superyacht show in September . I found the location, service and overall experience excellent. he staff were very attentive and I had no complaints.
Cannot comment on food or drink as we did not eat in the hotel.
Location is great both for business and pleasure..just round the corner from the Cafe de Paris.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed in a junior suite at the Metropole, we were told that the pool would probably be finished, as it was advertised Summer 2012, the fact was, this was impossible the scaffolding was still up and there was no chance of it being finished for at least three months after we left. On the first evening we went to the bar before going out two glasses of half full champagne cost 50 euros, a total rip off. The breakfast was the best experience lovely attentive staff, who we recognised from a previous stay. We decided not to use the Spar as it had been relocated to a hotel room on the second floor, but still charging full price, the hotel sadly has moved towards the super rich Russian/Arab market pricing others who are not prepared to be ripped of out of the market.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CambridgeTrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban Philadelphia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We had 5 rooms (Deluxe Jr Suites) in Sept 2012 overnight. Although the hotel is a mere 2 mins from the Hotel du Paris and Casino, it feels far away and secluded because unlike just around the corner, it is not teeming with tourists, cars, etc. the staff are charming and our rooms were beautiful. Very cheery, bright and huge bathrooms. We walked over to the Fairmont ( we considered booking there but thankfully chose the Metropole) and although the view was spectacular and nothing is very "far" in Monte Carlo, the Fairmont felt like a large " conventiony" hotel. The pool rooftop looked very nice. Metropole's is still under redecor but if as nice as the rest of the place, it promises to be pretty amazing. The old world baroque style Metropole feels like the perfect place to be in Monaco. Monte Carlo is expensive so be prepared to pay but wow! What a place. Stunning - the views, the cars, the yachts, the glam!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rimavh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Metropole has completely changed my view of hotels in Monaco. I have had the misfortune of staying elsewhere in the Principality over the last 7 years, and emerged grinding my teeth at the lack of service. The staff at the Metropole were charming, even perhaps a little effusive (definitely not something I'm used to in Monaco), they took the trouble to learn my name, remember the little things, such as the kind of tea or timings of services that I liked. I felt completely at home, and luckily avoided encountering any of the excesses in the lobby referred to by a previous posters. The highlight of the lobby for me were the flower arrangements which were simply awe-inspiring. The rooms were well designed and all enveloping in their luxurious comfort (just like the showers!). Others have praised the bathrooms and I certainly loved the various options in the shower, the separate bath, loo and basins in my bathroom. I look forward to seeing what they do with the swimming pool, which sadly was still under construction. Excess noise (of which there was some during the day) was quickly dealt with by a call to reception. All in all, I shall look forward to my return to the Metropole, it made me feel somewhat better disposed to Monaco, as a result.

Room Tip: I had room 509, a beautiful double aspect suite. The sun moved round during the day and you had a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tixall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monte-Carlo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
Hotel Hermitage Monte-Carlo
#1 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
Hotel de Paris Monte-Carlo
#4 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
790 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
2,085 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
Le Meridien Beach Plaza
#8 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
1,624 reviews
0.3 mi away
Port Palace Hotel
Port Palace Hotel
#5 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo

Property: Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo
Address: 4 Avenue de La Madone | BP 19, Monte-Carlo 98000, Monaco
Phone Number:
Location: Monaco > Monte-Carlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Monte-Carlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Monte-Carlo, this hotel offers elegant accommodation just steps away from the Casino. It features 126 refined rooms and suites, a heated swimming pool and two Michelin-starred restaurants. Guests can enjoy inventive Mediterranean cuisine at Joel Robuchon restaurant, or go to Yoshi for modern Japanese cuisine. The exterior space of the hotel was redesigned by Karl Lagerfeld and includes the hotel's third restaurant, Odyssey, an outstanding swimming pool open year-round as well as landscaped gardens, all of which are only accessible to guests of the hotel and spa. To further enhance this relaxing experience, the Metropole ESPA Monte-Carlo offers an extensive range of well-being and beauty ESPA treatments and a new collection of "a la carte" holistic and therapeutic treatments. With private parking on site, the hotel is 2 km from Monte-Carlo Golf Course. Nice Cote-d'Azur Airport is 19 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Metropole Monte-Carlo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing