We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful Service, Never Again!”

Cafe de Paris Monte-Carlo
Reserve with
Cafe de Paris Monte-Carlo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 130 Restaurants in Monte-Carlo
Price range: $17 - $56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Scenic view, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A famous meeting-place, the Cafe de Paris lights up the Place du Casino. A chic and stylish brasserie where you can enjoy seafood, fun dishes and traditional foods. With its high-tech decor, the recently renovated Bar des Jeux is the place to meet up at the start of trendy evenings. To the tinkling of the jackpots in a gambling ambiance, discover one of the many cocktails on the menu.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dreadful Service, Never Again!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I visited here with a few girl friends on a day trip from Nice. We were all so excited but this place was a real let down. The service was unfriendly, like they are doing a favour to serve you. The waitress tipped champagne down my back spoiling my dress and hair. I had an apology "it was an accident." but no offer of a free drink or anything off the bill. We asked for the manager to be told he was busy. Eventually he deigned to speak to us and told me to send him the dry cleaning bill. Appalling service and attitude. €74 for 4 cocktails and no, we didn't leave a tip!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beoutstanding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    908
    1,166
    659
    236
    157
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
554 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Gong show.”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

If sitting in a crowded cafe, waiting to be served and eating just average food heightens your experience of people watching and the usual conversation that goes with it, then this will be of interest to some. We stayed at the Hotel de Paris and really lost interest in this side show. There are other sidewalk cafes in Monte Carlo with better service and atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Challenger01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Shame That The Best Spot in Monte Carlo Has such a Terrible Cafe!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

After being suggested by friends to visit i decided to give it a try..What a waste..This place is a disaster and its a shame so many people go and spend money there..Terrible Service( guests pouring champagne and wine by them selves) arrogant staff walking around(trust me you will be lucky if seated and your order taken) i ended getting up after 25 mins and leaving after waiting for somebody to ask me what i would like to Eat or Drink..This place is Tacky with Cappucinos and china wear stuck in 1900 and the Decor ughhh...Forgot to mention that nobody seats you and everybody just jumps the line for a table.i finally got one only to be told that it was on the borderline and nobody could serve me?????? what?? the table belonged to them btw..such a shame because this place could be amazing if managed well..due to its location..

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 74Stella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“When in Monte Carlo...”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

It's the place to just sit & watch the rich, beautiful & outrageous go by. The food & drinks are quite average, and although expensive, it wasn't St Marks Square, Venice prices!!!

At least I can say I've done, if only the once!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loobeloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Where not to eat in Monaco!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

On a hot day and looking for somewhere for lunch we thought we'd try Cafe de Paris. A huge disappointment. As someone with coeliac disease and with little French I ensure I carry a card written in perfect French detailing that I can't eat gluten. The waiter glanced at it and said " no problem". I checked with the waiter about my order and he confirmed it had no gluten. When the meal arrived, there was something that looked like it contained gluten. So after asking (thankfully before I ate it) it was confirmed it contained gluten! Not good enough! This sort of thing can have dire consequences including for people with serious allergies. My chicken was dry and tasteless but my partner's steak was cooked to his liking.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wesley_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de Paris Monte-Carlo also viewed

Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
 

Been to Cafe de Paris Monte-Carlo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing