We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really worth seeking out ... Excellent !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Saint Benoit - CLOSED

Le Saint Benoit
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Really worth seeking out ... Excellent !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I wasn't altogether sure what to make of it when my husband said we were off to dinner in a restaurant above a car-park ! I couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised. It is re-owned for it's fish dishes which in a word are EXCELLENT; there is a fabulous view from the terrace over the harbour. Staff are both efficient and friendly. Everything about the restaurant is tasteful and I don't hesitate to recommend this. It may not be the easiest place to locate although it is well sign posted but it is surely worth a visit. Booking recommended if you want a table by the terrace

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Farah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    79
    31
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadiaro, Spain
Level Contributor
299 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Make the effort and find the restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We located the restaurant by chance from the topside and as it was advertising itself as being a specialist in fish we decided to try. We were not disappointed and the food was very good. Lobster salad, king scampi, smoked salmon pasta and fresh turbot all first class. Lunchtime guests of about twenty but large restaurant for evening time and superb views over the harbor. Only down side was the temperature inside which should have been controlled with air conditioning.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pavakeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I ate here after our concierge recommended Le Saint Benoit, and we were not disappointed. Excellent for fish, and the selection is bought to your table so you can choose what you would like. The atmosphere was really nice, very comfortable, and the view over the terrace is amazing. When you make your reservation ask for a table with a nice view.

My husband and I choose the classic Fois Gras to start which melted in the mouth, followed by John Dory which is for 2 people. It was cooked to perfection. This was served with a selection of seasonal vegetables.

The staff were very attentive, but you did not feel like they were round you fussing all the time. Would defiantly recommend and dine here again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank esbright1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Worth Finding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We dined at Le Saint Benoit just a few days after the race had happened, so it was difficult to walk normal street patterns. Thus it took some time for us to find the elevator up to the restaurant. It was truly worth the trouble! First, we were seated at a table overlooking the harbor. The view was wonderful. The staff gave us excellent service, offering wine suggestions and information about the various dishes. Fresh seafood is the specialty and we were not dissappointed. First we chose our fish from a tray brought tableside. After ordering, our fish was brought to the table for our approval before final preparation. When our meal arrived, the presentation was tremendous, but the taste was even better! While Le Benoit is not inexpensive, it is a good value. Live a little! You're in Monaco!
Tip) Even though it is a short walk from the harbor, take a taxi!
Tip 2) Get reservations and ask for a table with a great view.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WVDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
destin, florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We went in late March 2013 and the food was excellent. The lobster salad and foie gras dishes were both standouts. Service was excellent but subtle with a very professional staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank r g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Saint Benoit also viewed

 
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
 
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing