We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good thai food in Southern Europe”
Review of Royal Thai

Royal Thai
Ranked #14 of 56 Restaurants in La Condamine
Price range: $15 - $47
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Awarded by the Thai Embassy in Paris the 2013 Thai Select award for best ambassador for our contribution to authentic Thai cuisine in France. Free WiFi available. Collection of New World wines not found elsewhere in Monaco Open 7 Days per week for Lunch and Dinner. Outdoor terrace for sunny days. We guarantee NO MSG in our food.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Most of Europe likes it own food and nothing from the outside. So much so that it must be hard for ethnic restuarants to get ingredients. But somehow this place makes pretty darn good thai food. It's pricey, like the entire area. But the decor is very nice, they have great outdoor seating in a charming little alley and the owner is a very nice Thai lady.
I frequent here every year.

Thank Dave_O_the_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 83 of 192 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

A nice Thai restaurant - the food is good, though perhaps not as spicy as some might like it - opt for two chillies not one if you like your food to have a real tang to it. The service is extremely friendly with good English spoken if your French is rusty like ours.

Thank PlummyDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian s, Administrator at Royal Thai, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

We find that we have to limit the spiciness for local tastes. However the chef will be only too delighted to add extra chillies or to recommend one of the Thai speciality spices if you would like your food to be hotter. Please just ask the waitress or Daranee the owner'swife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Know this restaurant since years and have never been disappointed. It is (the only?) Thai restaurant in Monaco. Atmosphere is nice, service gentle, warm and efficient. One of the few places open Sunday evening in La Condamine.
Food always in good or very good quality, yesterday evening it seemed even better than last time.
We alweays start with the "mixed starters" for two (see photo) very tasty and good. Had a fillet of beef in a deep fried dough with a savory sauce with vegetables. The other plate was chicken sweet-sour, good as always. Fried rice and a bottle of a good Rosé made altogether a bill of 90€. (November 2012) Good value for the money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank StephanBrux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We, as a party of 22 people recently spent an evening at this restaurant and agreed on the evening for them to do a selection of dishes for everyone. The food was poor at best - LOADS of rice and not much else - everyone was starving when they left - Be careful when you order here - i think they saw a large party and thought here is an opportunity to make a quick buck!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian s, Administrator at Royal Thai, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

We are sorry that you were unhappy with your meal. It is always helpful if you make any dissatisfaction known immediately to the owner, Daranee, or to the staff. The quantity of food when composing a special menu is a function of price. Our average client spends €38 per head and we rarely have a complaint about the quantity or quality of food offered. We have many tour groups of between 15 and 30 people using the restaurant and the same companies return several times each year. We hope this indicates a general satisfaction with the quality and amount of food supplied.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Good portion...presentation..very tasty...ask for chili sauces...at an affordable price. Highly recommend..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank traveler2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Thai also viewed

La Condamine, Monaco
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
 
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Fontvieille, Monaco
 

Been to Royal Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing