We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hey Formula One Rocks at Monaco Again.......” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de France

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel de France
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in La Condamine
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hey Formula One Rocks at Monaco Again.......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2010

Hotel de France, Wow great place in summer of South France. You just love the feelings. I had a great time both in Monaco and Monti Carlo. So go for the best places with Hotel De France. Really Great

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajbothra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    54
    22
    6
    6
See reviews for
14
39
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

small rooms, no view, great location, French breakfast...

Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MonicaBratucu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2009

if you looking for something cheap and centrally located in monaco,, this is the place..

Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank steenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel de France for two nights just prior to the Monaco Grand Prix in May 2009. It is located quite centrally with respect to the port so when the bus from the Nice airport dropped us off at Place d'Armes, we were only 2-3 city blocks from the hotel. Our room was nice and clean, if not fancy. There is no lift to the upper floors so you have to carry your baggage up. The shower and bathroom were modern but a little small. We got the breakfast for 9 euros each and it consisted of an assortment of breads and rolls with jellies and OJ and coffee. There were no cheeses or meats or eggs which seems to be typical in this part of France. The location is very central; at Place d'Armes there is the beginning of the walkway to Palais Princier and the Place du Palais where the changing of the guard occurs; the port and the docks are only a 5 minute walk downhill and rue Princesse Caroline with its many restaurants is 2 blocks away. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful and spoke very good English. This hotel is not fancy, but it is clean and comfortable and very convenient to the city. If/when I return to Monaco, this will be my first choice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jimritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2009

We visited Monte Carlo as a surprise 21st birthday trip for our son. We did the helicopter flights in and out of Nice Airport, and son and husband did a ferrari drive. We also went gambling in the Casino! Very memorable. Everywhere oozes wealth!

The Hotel de France was a great little hotel, very central, and nice and friendly. I had so much help from Rachel and the other reception staff before and during our stay. We had a 3 bedded room at the front of the hotel on the 2nd floor. Whilst not the largest of rooms, and the bathroom is cabin like and small, it is entirely satisfactory for a few days. Some of the rooms have balconies for the same price. These rooms are maybe for 4 people, but if the hotel occupancy is not full, then you can always make a request.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wheretheroadtakesme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2008

Hotel de France was actually a great deal! It is one of the two budget hotels in Monaco. I was traveling with a friend of mine, and we were on a budget. We had to stay in a triple which was wonderful, it had a balcony and everything. The view was not amazing, but definitely for what we were paying it was great! There is no A/C, just like in most budget hotels in Europe, but we found it very clean. And although Monaco is very small, the hotel was a very short walk to the main marina which is definitely a must-see! We could see the palace walls from our balcony, so walking up the hill is all you really have to do to get to the palace. And everyone was very nice, we had no complainants at the end of our trip. I would definitely return!

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — we had to ask for extra towels every night.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dolomoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2008

Hotel de France was excellent. Very close to transport (200m from train station) and 100m from local bus drop off point. In addition it was less than a 5 min walk to the palace and less than 1 min to a square where the local markets set up daily. Rachel at reception was exceptionally friendly and spoke perfect English. Our room was a twin which we were advised in advance was all they had available (108 euros a night). It was super clean and the ensuite was the same. Water pressure etc was fine. The room did not have A/C or a bar fridge but had a ceiling fan. It was also reasonably quiet. Young 20-30's stay here so when they return from drinking there is a bit of noise from the doors, but it is not bad. The breakfast was typical pastries, bread, jam. Overall a very good experience.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — No A/C.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PerthGirlinDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Condamine
0.4 mi away
Novotel Monte Carlo
Novotel Monte Carlo
#7 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
0.4 mi away
Columbus Monte-Carlo
Columbus Monte-Carlo
#9 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
Hotel Ambassador Monaco
#10 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Port Palace Hotel
Port Palace Hotel
#5 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miramar Hotel
Miramar Hotel
#3 of 4 in La Condamine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.5 mi away
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
Monte-Carlo Bay & Resort
#3 of 10 in Monte-Carlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: 6 Rue de La Turbie, La Condamine 98000, Monaco
Location: Monaco > La Condamine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in La Condamine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de France 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the shopping area of "La Condamine", and within walking distance from the Prince's Palace and the famous Monte-Carlo Casino, we welcomes you in a charming and confortable hotel. Your room, situated from the 1st to the 3rd floor, with access by staircase, no elevator, is provided with a bathroom with shower and toilet, cable TV, phone, hairdryer, air-conditioned and wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De France Monaco/La Condamine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing