We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Ski Break - Hotel Treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Galanthus & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Galanthus & Spa
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Soldeu
Certificate of Excellence
stoke
Level Contributor
85 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ski Break - Hotel Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Located approximately 15 minutes walk - "up hill" into the center of Soldeau which is located around the main route over the mountains. But far easier walk back :-)

Ideal for skiing as there is a shuttle bus to take you to the ski lifts in the morning and bring you back to the hotel in the afternoon after skiing - this takes only a few minutes - and runs every 10 minutes or so. But you need to book at reception for your time slot (at no cost) that said the driver is very flexible as long as your name is on the list for the day.

The staff were excellent and the food fine. The evening meal and breakfast are both buffet style. As with the stay at Galanthus the value for money was fantastic.
For this trip we drove from the UK and there is parking on site with an underground car park. Access to the car park is not for the faint hearted as it is a little tight - and I would advise extra caution for either rear wheel drive cars or larger vehicles. Plenty of parking on the road to the rear of the hotel.

After a long days skiing there is also a small bubble pool (not really suitable for swimming) - and also sauna / steam room and gym.

All in all excellent hotel and good value - will return.

Room Tip: Would advise upper floor to the rear of the hotel for a view down the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikie346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    94
    24
    9
    5
See reviews for
57
111
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We deliberately made the choice to trade distance from the ski lifts against price and quality when choosing this hotel. For us, that was a good decision. The shuttle bus in the morning and early evening was punctual and reliable and the facilities of the hotel, particularly the spa, were modern, clean and of high quality. If you must have all the bars within crawling distance, this may not be the optimum, but it suited us just fine.
The only reason I have not given the top marks is the breakfast. In fairness, it is a pretty average buffet. Food that should be hot is cold, even when straight from the kitchen. Bacon is part raw, part burned and the coffee is vile, though a proper cup is available at extra cost. That said, we dined in one evening and the food was much better and very good value.
Overall, the value, particularly with a ski pass discount was tremendous and I would definitely return.

Room Tip: As others have said, try to avoid the 4th floor because of noise from the dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innellan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We have skied in andorra for the last five years and originally stayed in Nordic in El tarter. However the last couple of times the food was really terrible. This hotel has really good food is better value, great spa, great shuttle bus to slopes, which takes two minutes. Would recommend for couples, friends skiing and families.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendonWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

On the second floor at the back of the hotel our room ( 212) was under ground it was quiet it's only if you wanted a view I wouldn't book the 2nd floor, it didn't matter to us as we were there for the skiing & a good nights sleep ready for the next day.
All the facilities were very good, staff excellent , food very good , the only down side, it was a least 10min walk to the gondola, but they have a good Free Hotel bus that you book the night before every day, you have to book your return time at the same time .
You can hire a heated lock up at the Gondola for Skis & boots to make your skiing @ 50 euros for up to 6 people for the week it is right next to where you hire your skis from.
The slops are really great for all lot of wide runs, snow park for boarders, and ski school was the right choice for us as it was our first time .
There are some good discount vouchers that you can print off before you go, for drinks in bars/pubs 2 for 1 etc.
In the supermarkets the one nearest to the gondola we found to be better value.
If when you go skiing you find long queues for the Gondola, take the lifts to the ground floor and walk to the 4 man chair lift and you will save all of the long wait, and if you are not skiing on the day you arrive it's worth taking a look around to get your bearings, lastly have a great ski.
Pat Jolly . From Portsmouth.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick Jolly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We spent a long weekend at the Galanthus hotel and really enjoyed our stay.
The staff was amazing! They booked us the ski pass in advance, and also assisted with renting some equipment (you charge the room, and receive a voucher to pick up the equipment next to the gondola). Breakfast was very good. Dinner included a wide range of dishes (nothing to write about, but OK). The room was nice and clean (second floor).
The only downside is that the hotel is remote from the gondola - so there is a very efficient transportation - in the morning and in the afternoon. We left our googles in the room and had to come back in the middle of the day - so it was a hassle...

Room Tip: Second floor is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gil485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Just arrived back from 1 week at the Galanthus and had a fantastic time. Brilliant hotel, modern and exceptionally clean, great choice of food and staff couldn't be more helpful. Only downside was the location of our room (407) which was beneath the restaurant and the movement of breakfast chairs was very noisy. Acted as an alarm clock though!!
Would highly recommend this hotel. Whilst located 10 mins from centre of Soldeu, the minibus meant that you could get to the lifts easily within 5 mins.
Thanks again!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GAYLE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Just arrived back from a great stay at the Galanthus. Great hotel! Lots of really positive things about it, but unfortunately one negative.

Positives
- Very friendly staff – whether reception, dining room staff or maids, they couldn’t do enough to help you. Lovely people!
- Really clean and well maintained throughout
- Fantastic spa / sauna / steam room – very relaxing at the end of the day

Slight niggles
- Couldn’t get wifi in our room. Had to walk to the end of the corridor to get signal
- No kettles in the room (though they may be getting some next year, according to reception)
- Air con in gym didn’t appear to work – temperature control button had been pulled off and on/off switch didn’t appear to work
- Treadmill in gym was out of order
- Cross trainer in gym making very strange sounds – service needed?

…..and the big negative…………noise from the chairs in the dining room! ARGH!!!

Our week off work was meant to comprise lots of exercise, lots of fresh air and lots of sleep. However with breakfasts starting at 7:30am and dinner not finishing until 10:30pm, there wasn’t the opportunity for either an early night or a lie in, which was a real pity as catching up on sleep was something we’d been looking forward to.

Room Tip: Avoid third and fourth floor under the dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cretanatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldeu
0.6 mi away
Sport Hotel Hermitage & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Piolets Park & Spa
0.5 mi away
Sport Hotel Village
Sport Hotel Village
#3 of 17 in Soldeu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Himalaia Soldeu
Himalaia Soldeu
#5 of 17 in Soldeu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Princesa Parc
Hotel Princesa Parc
#1 of 12 in Arinsal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sport Hotel
Sport Hotel
#9 of 17 in Soldeu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galanthus & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galanthus & Spa

Property: Hotel Galanthus & Spa
Address: n 2 Crta Gral. | Km.18, Soldeu AD100, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Soldeu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Soldeu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Soldeu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galanthus & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXCLUSIVE, modern and functional Hotel located in Soldeu's entry at just 500 meters long from the Ski Resort Grandvalira by its Soldeu's access and at 18 Km from Andorra's Shopping Center. FACILITIES AND SERVICES: The Hotel completes its facilities with panoramic restaurant with buffet service for breakfast and dinners, cafeteria, reading room, TV room, free Wifi System, garage (limited), free ski lockers, laundry service and an exclusive spa zone equipped with hydro-massage tubs, Turkish bath, Jacuzzi, douches of sensations, sauna, UV rays, gym and massages service. FREE transport to Soldeu access in stipulated timetable. Pets are not allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Galanthus & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somriu Selection Canillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing