We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with great food and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Galanthus & Spa
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Soldeu
Certificate of Excellence
Innellan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great hotel with great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We have skied in andorra for the last five years and originally stayed in Nordic in El tarter. However the last couple of times the food was really terrible. This hotel has really good food is better value, great spa, great shuttle bus to slopes, which takes two minutes. Would recommend for couples, friends skiing and families.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendonWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    112
    27
    13
    8
See reviews for
76
136
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

On the second floor at the back of the hotel our room ( 212) was under ground it was quiet it's only if you wanted a view I wouldn't book the 2nd floor, it didn't matter to us as we were there for the skiing & a good nights sleep ready for the next day.
All the facilities were very good, staff excellent , food very good , the only down side, it was a least 10min walk to the gondola, but they have a good Free Hotel bus that you book the night before every day, you have to book your return time at the same time .
You can hire a heated lock up at the Gondola for Skis & boots to make your skiing @ 50 euros for up to 6 people for the week it is right next to where you hire your skis from.
The slops are really great for all lot of wide runs, snow park for boarders, and ski school was the right choice for us as it was our first time .
There are some good discount vouchers that you can print off before you go, for drinks in bars/pubs 2 for 1 etc.
In the supermarkets the one nearest to the gondola we found to be better value.
If when you go skiing you find long queues for the Gondola, take the lifts to the ground floor and walk to the 4 man chair lift and you will save all of the long wait, and if you are not skiing on the day you arrive it's worth taking a look around to get your bearings, lastly have a great ski.
Pat Jolly . From Portsmouth.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick Jolly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We spent a long weekend at the Galanthus hotel and really enjoyed our stay.
The staff was amazing! They booked us the ski pass in advance, and also assisted with renting some equipment (you charge the room, and receive a voucher to pick up the equipment next to the gondola). Breakfast was very good. Dinner included a wide range of dishes (nothing to write about, but OK). The room was nice and clean (second floor).
The only downside is that the hotel is remote from the gondola - so there is a very efficient transportation - in the morning and in the afternoon. We left our googles in the room and had to come back in the middle of the day - so it was a hassle...

Room Tip: Second floor is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gil485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Just arrived back from 1 week at the Galanthus and had a fantastic time. Brilliant hotel, modern and exceptionally clean, great choice of food and staff couldn't be more helpful. Only downside was the location of our room (407) which was beneath the restaurant and the movement of breakfast chairs was very noisy. Acted as an alarm clock though!!
Would highly recommend this hotel. Whilst located 10 mins from centre of Soldeu, the minibus meant that you could get to the lifts easily within 5 mins.
Thanks again!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GAYLE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Just arrived back from a great stay at the Galanthus. Great hotel! Lots of really positive things about it, but unfortunately one negative.

Positives
- Very friendly staff – whether reception, dining room staff or maids, they couldn’t do enough to help you. Lovely people!
- Really clean and well maintained throughout
- Fantastic spa / sauna / steam room – very relaxing at the end of the day

Slight niggles
- Couldn’t get wifi in our room. Had to walk to the end of the corridor to get signal
- No kettles in the room (though they may be getting some next year, according to reception)
- Air con in gym didn’t appear to work – temperature control button had been pulled off and on/off switch didn’t appear to work
- Treadmill in gym was out of order
- Cross trainer in gym making very strange sounds – service needed?

…..and the big negative…………noise from the chairs in the dining room! ARGH!!!

Our week off work was meant to comprise lots of exercise, lots of fresh air and lots of sleep. However with breakfasts starting at 7:30am and dinner not finishing until 10:30pm, there wasn’t the opportunity for either an early night or a lie in, which was a real pity as catching up on sleep was something we’d been looking forward to.

Room Tip: Avoid third and fourth floor under the dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cretanatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We booked this hotel as part of a package deal. The over all deal was fantastic and the hotel met and exceeded our expectations. The only negative was that it is not 'ski in/ski out'. The hotel provide a free shuttle bus in the morning and evening to overcome this and is pre-booked at reception each morning. It is a minor inconvenience nothing more. The shuttle driver was great and even made a special extra trip as we missed our allotted time.
As far as the hotel is concerned, superb. The rooms are clean, modern and comfortable. All had good en suitre bathrooms and cleaned daily. The only negative is the rooms on the 4th floor are a little noisy as they are directly below reception and the dining area. Its not a big issue as we wanted to be up and out skiimg.
The hotel also has a great spa area and small fitness room. It got a little busy at times and sometimes overrun with young children.
We were staying half board and found it to be fantastic. Good breakfast and evening meals. It is not a la carte but fairly basic. We always enjoyed it for what ate and had no complaints.
Last but not least, the staff are lovely. It feels like everyone is family. The atmosphere is very friendly and everyone is more than happy to help.
The skiing was great, weather superb so a fantastic holiday all round.

Room Tip: Don't go on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich4066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We´ve been in Soldeu last year (Hotel Naudi), and indeed Galanthus is much better. It´s a clean, fairly new (open in 2007, if I´m not wrong); good food - extra points for the well served continental breakfast, minus the croissants - some days they seemed old and hard; very friendly staff (Irene, Pepi, Manu, Araceli, Cristina, Ivon were so warm and tried to do their best all the time); rooms with comfortable sizes; and a good spa, although the water in the main pool could be warmer.
The van service to Soldeu Telecabina goes every 10min and is spotless: I checked twice and it never took more than 3 minutes (really!). And Ivon, the driver, is a patient guy, so if you loose your time (remember to book in advance every day before), just wait for some room and he´ll take you anyway - in 9 days, we never had to wait for the next run...
Why not 5 stars? First, because of the mattress: they are not too bad, but they´re far from a good and firm mattress. The second reason is a mix of feelings: the hotel is located about 800m/1km far from Soldeu Village, what is good because you are far from the noisy pubs and bars, but if you want to go walking you have to be prepared for a snowy (in winter, of course...) and steepy climb, once the hotel is down Soldeu.
We´ll definitly come back (please improve the matresses!!), once the other best option is Hermitage Sport, tooo expensive.
Do avoid the 4th floor, once it´s just bellow the restaurant and the noise of the chairs will destroy your vacations - another point for the admistration to take care of for the next season.

Room Tip: 210 is a very good option, although it is located just beside the Games Room (almost nobody uses it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soldeu
0.3 mi away
Hotel Piolets Park & Spa
0.6 mi away
Sport Hotel Hermitage & Spa
0.5 mi away
Sport Hotel Village
Sport Hotel Village
#3 of 17 in Soldeu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Himalaia Soldeu
Himalaia Soldeu
#5 of 17 in Soldeu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parador Canaro
Hotel Parador Canaro
#1 of 3 in Incles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Segle XX
Hotel Segle XX
#1 of 2 in Ransol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galanthus & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galanthus & Spa

Property: Hotel Galanthus & Spa
Address: Crta Gral. n 2 | Km.18, Soldeu AD100, Andorra
Location: Andorra > Canillo Parish > Soldeu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Soldeu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Soldeu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Galanthus & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXCLUSIVE, modern and functional Hotel located in Soldeu's entry at just 500 meters long from the Ski Resort Grandvalira by its Soldeu's access and at 18 Km from Andorra's Shopping Center. FACILITIES AND SERVICES: The Hotel completes its facilities with panoramic restaurant with buffet service for breakfast and dinners, cafeteria, reading room, TV room, free Wifi System, garage (limited), free ski lockers, laundry service and an exclusive spa zone equipped with hydro-massage tubs, Turkish bath, Jacuzzi, douches of sensations, sauna, UV rays, gym and massages service. FREE transport to Soldeu access in stipulated timetable. Pets are not allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Galanthus & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somriu Selection Canillo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing